Listen free for 30 days

Valencia and Valentine

Narrated by: Janet Metzger
Length: 8 hrs and 54 mins
4 out of 5 stars (2 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

For fans of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine, debut author Suzy Krause delivers a quirky, colorful story about love, loss, second chances, and what it means to truly live.

Valencia, a timid debt collector with crippling OCD, is afraid of many things, but the two that scare her most are flying and turning thirty-five. To confront those fears, Valencia’s therapist suggests that she fly somewhere - anywhere - before her upcoming birthday. And as Valencia begins a telephone romance with a man from New York, she suddenly has a destination in mind. There’s only one problem - he might not actually exist.

Mrs. Valentine is an eccentric old woman desperate for company, be it from neighbors, telemarketers, or even the funeral director (when you’re her age, you go to a lot of funerals). So she’s thrilled when the new cleaning girl provides a listening ear for her life’s story - a tale of storybook love and incredible adventures around the world with her husband before his mysterious and sudden disappearance.

The stories of Valencia and Mrs. Valentine may at first appear to have nothing in common…but then again, nothing in life is as straightforward as it seems.

©2019 by Suzy Krause. (P)2018 Brilliance Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved.

Critic reviews

“Perfect for fans of Maria Semple and Graeme Simsion, Valencia and Valentine is a charming novel with quirky characters the reader can’t help falling in love with. With a unique voice and a fun twist, it’s a story of love, human connection, and adversity that is handled with deftness and compassion by Krause. You’ll think about the characters and their stories long after you turn the final page; in fact, as soon as I finished, I was tempted to go back to the beginning and start it again!” (Susie Orman Schnall, award-winning author of The Subway Girls)

Valencia and Valentine is a charming, beautifully told tale of love and loss, disappointments and dreams. You will root for this cast of eccentric characters, ache for them, and celebrate their victories. A terrific debut, sure to delight fans of Gail Honeyman and Fredrik Backman. Irresistible!” (Lori Nelson Spielman, internationally best-selling author of Sweet Forgiveness and The Life List)

“A quirky, touching story about two women who, on the surface, are not connected: but life is strange, and nothing is what it appears to be. Perfectly poignant, and for oddballs everywhere.” (Georgia Clark, critically acclaimed author of The Regulars)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Haveenoughstuff
  • Haveenoughstuff
  • 04-09-19

Awful

Don’t waste your money. The worst book I’ve listened to in ages. I don’t even really know what the story was! It was like being in the mentally ill main character’s head : all garbled and incoherent. It should be described as a stream of consciousness fantasy. I finished it feeling YUCK, WHAT AN AWFUL STORY!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Meme
  • Meme
  • 08-12-19

Surprisingly touching, inspiring and thought provoking.

I loved this book. The story was so beautifully woven together. Some romance, mystery and the reality of life when someone struggles with mental illness issues.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Shari Klase
  • Shari Klase
  • 12-07-19

pretty good

This book was a little confusing the way it was presented but overall I found it entertaining. I liked how OCD was portrayed in the book in a sensitive way. It was just annoying the way it switched back and forth between stories and it didn't make any sense until the end. The ending was also kind of jumbled. Still it was a fun read and it kept my attention.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Autumn H.
  • Autumn H.
  • 16-06-19

Waste of time

This story made no sense. I kept waiting for something of importance to happen. It never happened.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for S. Davis
  • S. Davis
  • 06-06-19

Terrible book

I have no words to describe how awful this book is! Does not make any sense at all. Just gibberish.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful