Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

Offer ends May 1st, 2024 11:59PM GMT. Terms and conditions apply.
£7.99/month after 3 months. Renews automatically.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Unravelling Oliver cover art

Unravelling Oliver

By: Liz Nugent
Narrated by: Sam O'Mahony, Roy McMillan, Kevin Hely, Tracy Keating, Stephen Hogan, Kathy O'Brien, Steven Laverty, Michele Moran
Get this deal Try for £0.00

Pay £99p/month. After 3 months pay £7.99/month. Renews automatically. See terms for eligibility.

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

There's Something I Have to Tell You cover art
The Truth About Julia cover art
My Real Children cover art
The Vanishing of Margaret Small cover art
All Her Fault cover art
The Perfect Girlfriend cover art
Elantris (Dramatized Adaptation) cover art
Shadow of a Century cover art
The Shadow of What Was Lost cover art
New Spring cover art
Lord of All Things cover art
Forging Divinity cover art
Girls of Riyadh cover art
Dungeon Lord cover art
No Fourth River. A Novel Based on a True Story. A Profoundly Moving Read About a Woman's Fight for Survival. cover art
A Warrior's Path cover art

Summary

Penguin presents the unabridged downloadable audiobook edition of Unravelling Oliver by Liz Nugent.

Winner - IBA Crime Fiction Book of the Year.

Liz Nugent's gripping audiobook of psychological suspense, Unravelling Oliver, is a complex and elegant study of the making of a sociopath in the tradition of Barbara Vine and Patricia Highsmith.

Oliver Ryan is a handsome and charismatic success story. He lives in the suburbs with his wife, Alice, who illustrates his award-winning children's books and gives him her unstinting devotion. Their life together is one of enviable privilege and ease - enviable until, one evening after supper, Oliver attacks Alice and beats her into a coma. In the aftermath, as everyone tries to make sense of his astonishing act of savagery, Oliver tells his story. So do those whose paths he has crossed over five decades. What unfolds is a story of shame, envy, breathtaking deception and masterful manipulation.

Only Oliver knows the lengths to which he has had to go to get the life to which he felt entitled. But even he is in for a shock when the past catches up with him.

Liz Nugent has worked in Irish film, theatre and television for most of her adult life. She is an award-winning writer of radio and television drama and has written short stories for children and adults.

Unravelling Oliver is her first novel.

©2017 Liz Nugent (P)2017 Penguin Audio

Critic reviews

"Truly excellent, beautifully written...strongly recommended." (Sophie Hannah)
"Compelling, clever and dark, unlike any other psychological thriller you will have read before...you'll gobble it up in one go." ( Heat Magazine)
"Incredibly brilliant." (Marian Keyes)

What listeners say about Unravelling Oliver

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    744
  • 4 Stars
    311
  • 3 Stars
    116
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    13
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    805
  • 4 Stars
    218
  • 3 Stars
    53
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    662
  • 4 Stars
    273
  • 3 Stars
    119
  • 2 Stars
    19
  • 1 Stars
    15

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

An incredibly creepy look at sociopaths

This psychological thriller is unlike most others because there isn't a big reveal as such but it is based on the behaviour of the criminal mind.

In this case, we look at Oliver, who is a sociopath, and feels very little remorse for the terrible crimes he has committed but instead feels aggrieved at his lack of entitlement.

While half of the book is written from his perspective looking back at his past, the rest is written by people around him who believe they could sense his immoral behaviour. Hence it is a case of whether it is nature of nurture that has forced him to behave in such way, and if society truly did think that he was a monster. Interesting concept, but as expected, you'll hate the main character.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant Story!

Kept my interest from begining to end. I don't normally like multiple readers, as usually it's like listening to a bad radio 4 play but this was the perfect way to present this very original story. Cannot wait for her next book.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

brilliant

Loved this book, great humour in an otherwise dark story, I couldn't stop listening.
The narrator's were all great too although the ladies French accent was pretty ropey!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

Wit, intelligence, interesting and highly entertaining. Loved the characters and how the story flowed. Highly recommended. You won’t be disappointed.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

A complex plot which kept me gripped until the end

I enjoyed this book which was well written and well read by the many readers. It highlighted the importance of nurture over nature.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant from beginning to end!

Intriguing storyline and characters- loved the narration! It’s hard to say too much without giving anything away! Was sorry I listened so quickly - might listen again straight away!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

Raced through this. Narration was brilliant and the story was gripping. I love this authors books

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great story

Super book that keeps you interested despite the unlikeable main character. Good twists that keep you gripped till the end. Would recommend.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Well narrated story with carefully crafted characters

I enjoyed this story and could relate to the characters even Oliver who had such an appallingly childhood it left him scarred for life. Was sorry that Alice never recovered she deserved some happiness. Recommend

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good connection between the stories

I felt that there were good connections between the stories especially the element of Laura having a mental breakdown and the child returning at the end of the story. I found the story lacked debt around Oliver’s breakdown though which was a negative and why I’d describe the book as ok to good rather than brilliant.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!