Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £11.99

Buy Now for £11.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Under a Wartime Sky is an enthralling historical novel by Liz Trenow, based on real-life events at a top-secret wartime research station. Telling the story of the heroes behind the discovery of radar, it’s perfect for fans of Kate Furnivall and Rachel Hore.

Bawdsey Manor holds a secret.

1936: the threat of war hangs over Europe. Churchill gathers the brightest minds in Britain at a grand house in Suffolk. Bound to complete secrecy, they work together on an invention that could mean victory for the Allies. Among them is Vic, a gifted but shy physicist who, for the first time, feels like he belongs.

Local girl Kathleen wants to do more than serving tea and biscuits to ‘do her bit’. So when the Bawdsey team begin to recruit women to operate their top secret system, she dedicates herself to this life-or-death work. Kath and Vic form an unlikely friendship as the skies over Britain fill with German bombers. Little does Kath know just whose life she will change forever, one fateful night....

Based on the real history of Bawdsey Manor, Under a Wartime Sky is a novel about courage, belonging and hope.

©2020 Liz Trenow (P)2020 Macmillan Publishers International Ltd

What listeners say about Under a Wartime Sky

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Mediocre storyline

Didn't struggle to finish it but it just hit the bar as acceptable A bit to lame for my taste l will forget l read this tomorrow it lacked depth Some of the war information was good as was the awareness of the prejudice the obviously brilliant male character So saddened to read some of the treatment he had to endure and the interesting to bring in the guy brother must have been awful and it was only 1939 to 1945

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I loved it

As a Bawdsey girl it was so nice to listen to this story, my nana worked in the kitchen at the manor up until the RAF took over and I remember her telling me about it when I was a child, I have always loved the ferry and am proud that the manor helped with the war. Thank you for writing this book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Recommended read.

Hooked from beginning to end , couldn't put it down another brilliant Liz Trenow story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

wartime story

I really enjoyed this book, the characters were interesting and as the story unfolds it feels like you are actually there with them.
some sad bits but a happy ending.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wartime Sky

I absolutely loved this book. I’ve lived in Felixstowe since my marriage in 1975. We used to take our two boys over the ferry to see Bawdsy Manor and walk round the point and see the radar towers. We loved it and still do. Thank you for this amazing book. I love all your books. Please write many more.