Try an audiobook on us

Tuesday's Gone

A Frieda Klein Novel, Book 2
Narrated by: Beth Chalmers
Length: 12 hrs and 41 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (379 ratings)
Regular price: £24.00
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Nicci French, the best-selling author of What to do When Someone Dies and Losing You, returns with the second book in the gripping new series that began with top-ten best seller Blue Monday. Fans of Peter James’ Roy Grace series and Peter Robinson’s DCI Banks series will love the central character, psychotherapist Frieda Klein, who is consulted on a grisly and seemingly unsolvable crime.

For Frieda the days get longer, the cases darker…. She thought she was done with the police. But once more DCI Karlsson is knocking at her door. A man’s decomposed body has been found in the flat of Michelle Doyce, a woman trapped in a world of strange mental disorder. The police don’t know who it is, how he got there, or what happened - and Michelle can’t tell them. But Karlsson hopes Frieda can get access to the truths buried beneath her confusion. Painstakingly, Frieda uncovers a possible identity for the corpse: Robert Poole, a jack of all trades and master conman. But the deeper Frieda and Karlsson dig into Poole’s past, the more of his victims they encounter - and the more motives they find for murder.

Meanwhile, violent ghosts from Frieda’s own past are returning to threaten her. Unable to discover quite who is telling the truth and who is lying, they know they are getting closer to a killer. But whoever murdered Poole is determined to stay free - and anyone that gets too close will meet the same fate.

A gritty heroine, a gruesome crime, and a terrifying hunt for a psychotic killer, Tuesday’s Gone is not to be missed by fans of psychological thrillers.

Nicci French is the pseudonym for Nicci Gerrard and Sean French. The couple live in Suffolk and have written 12 other best-selling novels, including Beneath the Skin and Blue Monday, the first thrilling instalment in the Frieda Klein series.

©2012 Nicci French (P)2012 Penguin Books Ltd

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    218
  • 4 Stars
    95
  • 3 Stars
    47
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    8

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    192
  • 4 Stars
    72
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    180
  • 4 Stars
    71
  • 3 Stars
    39
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jill
  • Roermond, Netherlands
  • 15-08-12

Grisly but enjoyable

A well-read book that is up to the standard that you expect from this duo. I presume the series format of the books has been chosen to allow them to develop characters more deeply than is possible in a one-off. I made the mistake of listening to this without having first read 'Blue Monday' (searched for it as an audio book, but it doesn't seem to be available - a bit odd!). With some series this doesn't matter too much, but you really do need to read these in correct order, or far too much is given away to make the earlier book enjoyable if you read it later. That aside, I enjoyed the story and the reading, and look forward to Wednesday!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars

Painful and boring

The worst book I've downloaded, slow and far fetched... Have you ever heard of a mental Heath specialist who gets a call and goes immediately to help a stranger evn though he didn't want to? No, me either.... I'm giving up, just can't finish it. This is a first... I adore my books and usually choose wisely

6 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Eileen
  • Bedford, United Kingdom
  • 29-04-18

re read

just listened to again after first buying it and enjoyed it as much as the first time

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Patricia
  • MORPETH, United Kingdom
  • 13-08-12

When's Wednesday coming?

Loved it - great twist - followed on well from first book without too much going over stuff.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Frieda Klein on top form again

Enthralling story and wonderful narration from @chalmersbeth. This is my second Frieda Klein book with audible and I'll be back for more.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loving the Frieda Klein books!

This story followed on brilliantly from the last book and I’m eager to read another story about her. Interesting twists and turns with a strong main character

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Intoxicatingly

I’m now quite obsessed with the Frieda Klein series, can’t wait to start the next book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great read with the hoped for twists & turns<br />

The second of the series I've listened to and it did not disappoint.

Great characters, who are brought to life by the naration.

It helps that I'm familiar with the settings, but certainly is not necessary. Just adds to the atmosphere.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping and a delight

I have been using audible for a long while now and never felt compelled to write a review before but I have to say this is one of the best books / series I have come across. I bought the 1st in this Frida Klein series as I have enjoyed Nicci French before and then promptly bought the 2nd immediately and now have bought the 3rd straight away. The story, albeit with the occasional narrative ‘stretch’, is gripping, the characters are well thought through and sustain your interest and what a good choice they made in Beth Chalmers as the reader! She really is excellent and I will seek her out for other audio books she may have done! I highly recommend it!!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

a good reaf

a bit predictable but never the less a good read and it did have a bit of a twist at the end.

on to the next book in the series

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Eva
  • 01-12-12

so well perfomed, makes up for a complicated story

What did you love best about Tuesday's Gone?

I just love the way Nicci French describes the characters

What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

The relationship between the inspector and Frieda Klein

Have you listened to any of Beth Chalmers’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

I read Blue Monday and found her performance as brilliant as in Tuesday's gone.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

I just couldn't stop listening

Any additional comments?

Such a meticulous description of live in London

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Anet
  • 08-10-12

Riveting

If you could sum up Tuesday's Gone in three words, what would they be?

Riveting, engaging, empathic

What does Beth Chalmers bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

She captures each character's personality perfectly. I could listen to her for hours! Her accents are also very convincing.

If you were to make a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

But he's still out there

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anne
  • 23-08-12

* More Brilliance! *

Make sure you listen to Blue Monday before listening to this. That had me looking for more and I found Tuesday's Gone.

I felt that some of this one was a little unrealistic in that Frieda Klein does a little too much of the police work. But that's the only negative to this story. Again, you're drawn into the story until the end. It has it's twists like Blue Monday. Characters with their distinct personalities.

Beth Chalmers is an excellent narrator. She gives great expression, and the characters are differentiated very well. Nice smooth listening.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful