Listen free for 30 days

Tuesday's Gone

A Frieda Klein Novel, Book 2
Narrated by: Beth Chalmers
Series: A Frieda Klein Mystery, Book 2
Length: 12 hrs and 41 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (524 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Nicci French, the best-selling author of What to do When Someone Dies and Losing You, returns with the second book in the gripping new series that began with top-ten best seller Blue Monday. Fans of Peter James’ Roy Grace series and Peter Robinson’s DCI Banks series will love the central character, psychotherapist Frieda Klein, who is consulted on a grisly and seemingly unsolvable crime.

For Frieda the days get longer, the cases darker…. She thought she was done with the police. But once more DCI Karlsson is knocking at her door. A man’s decomposed body has been found in the flat of Michelle Doyce, a woman trapped in a world of strange mental disorder. The police don’t know who it is, how he got there, or what happened - and Michelle can’t tell them. But Karlsson hopes Frieda can get access to the truths buried beneath her confusion. Painstakingly, Frieda uncovers a possible identity for the corpse: Robert Poole, a jack of all trades and master conman. But the deeper Frieda and Karlsson dig into Poole’s past, the more of his victims they encounter - and the more motives they find for murder.

Meanwhile, violent ghosts from Frieda’s own past are returning to threaten her. Unable to discover quite who is telling the truth and who is lying, they know they are getting closer to a killer. But whoever murdered Poole is determined to stay free - and anyone that gets too close will meet the same fate.

A gritty heroine, a gruesome crime, and a terrifying hunt for a psychotic killer, Tuesday’s Gone is not to be missed by fans of psychological thrillers.

Nicci French is the pseudonym for Nicci Gerrard and Sean French. The couple live in Suffolk and have written 12 other best-selling novels, including Beneath the Skin and Blue Monday, the first thrilling instalment in the Frieda Klein series.

©2012 Nicci French (P)2012 Penguin Books Ltd

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    317
  • 4 Stars
    129
  • 3 Stars
    56
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    8

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    284
  • 4 Stars
    104
  • 3 Stars
    31
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    267
  • 4 Stars
    102
  • 3 Stars
    50
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Grisly but enjoyable

A well-read book that is up to the standard that you expect from this duo. I presume the series format of the books has been chosen to allow them to develop characters more deeply than is possible in a one-off. I made the mistake of listening to this without having first read 'Blue Monday' (searched for it as an audio book, but it doesn't seem to be available - a bit odd!). With some series this doesn't matter too much, but you really do need to read these in correct order, or far too much is given away to make the earlier book enjoyable if you read it later. That aside, I enjoyed the story and the reading, and look forward to Wednesday!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Super

How I love Dr Frieda Klein. In fact she is my idol. Her knowledge is limitless, her energy boundless and best of all, she doesn't suffer fools. How I wish I had her bravery and forthright eloquence, her brain and her beauty. DCI Karlsson is such a perfect partner for her deductive powers and I pray to all my gods that we may yet see a glimmer of romance between the two of them. Olivia and Chloe, as the family who try to keep Frieda in touch with the real world, are fabulous. Beth Chalmers has such a task, narrating so many female characters and for me, her performance as Chloe is particularly striking. She sounds like she's wandered off the set of 'Made in Chelsea'! Perfection! In fact every single voice is exquisite and Ms Chalmers really does Frieda, and the rest of the cast, proud with her narration. This particular story is exceptionally quirky and very tangled, and just when you think you've worked it out, Nicci French manage to throw you a curve ball. This is such a quality series, the writing, the characters, the dialogue and the narration; I cannot believe we haven't yet seen Frieda on the small screen. A highly recommended book and a highly upon high recommended series. In a world where Kim Kardashian is an icon, be Frieda Klein!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

re read

just listened to again after first buying it and enjoyed it as much as the first time

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars

Painful and boring

The worst book I've downloaded, slow and far fetched... Have you ever heard of a mental Heath specialist who gets a call and goes immediately to help a stranger evn though he didn't want to? No, me either.... I'm giving up, just can't finish it. This is a first... I adore my books and usually choose wisely

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

When's Wednesday coming?

Loved it - great twist - followed on well from first book without too much going over stuff.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another excellent book.

Very good follow on from previous book. Plenty of twists and turns keeps you guessing. Can not wait to start the next one.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story, great narration

A brilliant story with suspense and action. But also full of thoughtfulness, looking behind the faces that the characters show the world to who they really are and why they do what they do. Great narration from Beth Chalmers who conveys mood and character with her voice

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

took ages to get in to this one but SO WORTH IT!!!

It takes a while to get in to the characters, I've read book 1 which grabbed me straight away. this time, i had to persevere and I'm so glad i did, once i was in- i was completely emmersed! such a complex weave of personalities, psychology and behaviour :-)

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good series

I seem to be reading these out of order after downloading a special offer of book 7. Nevertheless I enjoyed this well structured complex thriller. I just have one gripe, I feel incredibly frustrated with Freida who refuses to answer back or answer questions. She’s a strong woman character but is not really fleshed out. I will be reading more in the series though!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Such a Brilliant book

I really love the relationships of some of the characters in these books. I actually enjoyed this book better than the 1st, if that's possible. Narrative was really good too. I also liked hearing the tales of London to, being a North London girl. And love Highgate & Waterlow Park. Straight on to the next book.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Eva
  • Eva
  • 01-12-12

so well perfomed, makes up for a complicated story

What did you love best about Tuesday's Gone?

I just love the way Nicci French describes the characters

What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

The relationship between the inspector and Frieda Klein

Have you listened to any of Beth Chalmers’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

I read Blue Monday and found her performance as brilliant as in Tuesday's gone.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

I just couldn't stop listening

Any additional comments?

Such a meticulous description of live in London

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anet
  • Anet
  • 08-10-12

Riveting

If you could sum up Tuesday's Gone in three words, what would they be?

Riveting, engaging, empathic

What does Beth Chalmers bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

She captures each character's personality perfectly. I could listen to her for hours! Her accents are also very convincing.

If you were to make a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

But he's still out there

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anne
  • Anne
  • 23-08-12

* More Brilliance! *

Make sure you listen to Blue Monday before listening to this. That had me looking for more and I found Tuesday's Gone.

I felt that some of this one was a little unrealistic in that Frieda Klein does a little too much of the police work. But that's the only negative to this story. Again, you're drawn into the story until the end. It has it's twists like Blue Monday. Characters with their distinct personalities.

Beth Chalmers is an excellent narrator. She gives great expression, and the characters are differentiated very well. Nice smooth listening.

1 person found this helpful