Listen free for 30 days

This Time Will Be Different

Narrated by: Joy Osmanski
Length: 9 hrs and 24 mins
Categories: Young Adults, Ages 13 & Up
4 out of 5 stars (2 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon, critically acclaimed author Misa Sugiura delivers a richly crafted contemporary YA novel about family, community, and the importance of writing your own history.

The author of the Asian Pacific American Award-winning It’s Not Like It’s a Secret is back with another smartly drawn coming-of-age novel that weaves riveting family drama, surprising humor, and delightful romance into a story that will draw you in from the very first moment.

Katsuyamas never quit - but 17-year-old CJ doesn’t even know where to start. She’s never lived up to her mom’s type A ambition, and she’s perfectly happy just helping her aunt Hannah at their family’s flower shop.

She doesn’t buy into Hannah’s romantic ideas about flowers and their hidden meanings, but when it comes to arranging the perfect bouquet, CJ discovers a knack she never knew she had. A skill of which she might even be proud. 

Then her mom decides to sell the shop - to the family who swindled CJ’s grandparents when thousands of Japanese Americans were sent to internment camps during WWII. Soon, a rift threatens to splinter CJ’s family, friends, and their entire Northern California community; and for the first time, CJ has found something she wants to fight for.

©2019 Misa Sugiura (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for M. J. Tempel
  • M. J. Tempel
  • 29-06-19

A great binge listen!

Saw that Sugiura's first book, It's Not Like It's a Secret, won an ALA Stonewall award so I read it, loved it, and started following her on Instagram. I was excited to see this book was in the works. It started out a little slow but it quickly moved to a page turner that I couldn't stop listening to. Sugiura weaves YA topics of friendship, relationships, and parent issues in with the deeper subjects of racism, privilege, abortion, teen pregnancy, LGBTQ+, and being a cis, white ally. Then she takes that story and mixes in the history of Japanese internment camps. I kept thinking, "I'm gonna find something wrong with how she's doing this... there are way too many things happening here!" but I never did. The story was so well done that I enjoyed it more and more as it went on. It was pretty genius how Sugiura creates a story that young adults will enjoy while at the same time learning something and thinking critically about what it means to be an activist.

Also, I'm half Korean and I really appreciated the perspective of a half-Asian protagonist. I can't remember ever reading a book with one before.

Finally, I usually prefer books that are read by the author but this one was fine. The narrator does a good job of creating voices that aren't too overdone but help distinguish between the characters. I highly recommend this book if you are going on a road trip or have to pack and clean your house up(what I was doing while listening).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful