Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A chilling thriller that's perfect for fans of Get Out and The Haunting of Hill House.

A dinner party is held in the penthouse of a multimillion-pound development. All the guests are strangers - even to their host, the billionaire owner of the building. 

None of them know why they were selected to receive his invitation. Besides a postcode, they share only one thing in common - they've all experienced an unsettling occurrence within the building's walls. 

By the end of the night, their host is dead, and none of the guests will say what happened. 

His death remains one of the biggest unsolved mysteries - until now.

©2020 Jonathan Sims (P)2020 Orion Publishing Group

What listeners say about Thirteen Storeys

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    63
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    59
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    55
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Jonathan Sims, master of fear

Excellently written, Jonathan Sims has distilled his mastery of fear and dread into thirteen short stories that, like The Magnus Archives, flow effortlessly into a cohesive whole, culminating in a ritual of pure dream logic. I adore his writing style, the performance of each narrator and the ease in which Jonathan weaves a multitude of characters into his tangled web of fears.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Atmospheric urban horror

My first experience of Sims and was impressed by how well he wove the thirteen narratives together. It worked well as a full cast audio experience

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

fun and good voice acting

overall an enjoyable read but in the last chapter I was struggling to remember the back story of all the other characters. difficult on an audio book where you can't flick back.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A Great Listen

Great plot! really well done with a diverse and interesting cast of characters a great listen all round!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An excellent and disturbing horror

Best known for the Magnus Archives podcast, Sims manages to pull together a gripping collection of tales that weave together into a greater narrative. Like a Robert Altman of terror, there are interlinked and suggested connections throughout. As with The Magnus Archives, there's a a host of symbolism and irony within the manifestations of each narrators 'haunting'. The ultimate story is one of accountability. It certainly is very prescient in our current climate. The performance throughout is very high, Sims himself being a high point. the intelligent use of multiple narrators helps to round the concept out even further, and is used to great success. There is some stilted delivery here and there by one or two actors, but my enjoyment was never compromised. Highly recommended! I look forward to reading more of his work.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Anthology more so than the novel I was expecting

As a huge fan of the Magnus Archives (Jonathan Sims horror short story podcast in which the stories are all loosely connected by one over-arching plotline) I was thrilled to see he had a novel out. The curiosity at seeing Jonathan go for a novel-length piece and the stunning cover, not to mention the awesome blurb, had me plumping for this one without question. Sadly, my assumption that I'd get to see Jonathan taken on a novel-length work was both correct and incorrect. Correct because, it's certainly the length of a novel, but incorrect because it just isn't a novel. It's the exact same format as the Magnus Archives (short stories linked by one overall plot). Each chapter is its own short story and, although they do interlink with each other throughout the course of each character's respective days, I just never felt into it because it was, essentially, just a short story collection. A good short story collection, but just a collection all the same. Because the fact that this is essentially a collection was not eluded to in the blurb, I kind of feel like I've been sold something I wasn't promised. The stories on offer are good and the overall plotline is strong. Jonathan is a master of short horror fiction and brings some unique (unless you've listened to the Magnus archives) twists to the horror genre with each tale. If this book knocked your socks off and you want more, I would highly recommend the Magnus Archives podcast. It's free, each episode is in between twenty and forty-five minutes and has wonderful voice acting. Jonathan himself plays the main narrator (the archivist). I felt a tad underwhelmed by the ending but this might be to do with the fact that, by this point, I was just a tad frustrated at the short story aspect of the piece or because we essentially know the fate of the host from the very beginning. It just left me with no sense of 'ooh, what happens next.' All that being said, I wasn't totally unhappy with the ending, just not overawed by it. I had a couple of issues as far as the narration went with Thirteen Storeys, but they could mostly be overlooked. You're bound to get the odd narrator whose voice you don't gel with when there are so many performing on one piece. I can't however, overlook the issues I had with Jesus/Jesuis (I honestly don't know what his name is because the narrator pronounced it two different ways, despite the character stressing how he hates people pronouncing his name wrong). That little aspect is embarrassing, but the frequent pauses mid-sentence often had me thinking there was strange punctuation, but seeing as how the rest of the characters had no such issues I feel it was just the narrator struggling with the tempo of the English language. This is something I wouldn't mind if the character wasn't such a well-spoken man whilst using the English language with a wide vocabulary and high intellect to go with it ... despite the character also saying they struggled with the English language. The whole character was a little bit of a mess from the writing to the narration. But, other than that, I felt the narration was pretty good throughout.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it all

This is a beautifully paced and compelling story. Anyone who likes Magnus Archive podcast will enjoy this book. Jonathan Sims is a wonderful and thoughtful writer ❤

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

It slams

It felt how I wish books should always feel; human and anarchic. It just slams.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Thrilling

This book had me on the edge of my seat. Its grotesque and scary (literally) and amazing. I loved the various voices and the story itself is just great. I loved it.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A bit of a strange one

Not my favourite .... but it is written well and does have a good story... IF you like a little supernatural and little weird kind of book. Not a general book for everyone that's for sure. Performance absolutely makes it for me.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jessie
  • Jessie
  • 22-01-21

Compelling and thoughtful!

Compelling story - a real page turner! I couldn't wait until I could get back to hearing more. Thoughtfully portrayed characters - for example, there is a trans character who's transness is never specifically called out, nor is it a story element; it is simply alluded to through a few passing details, and the character gets to have a story beyond that identity. As a trans person, I was delighted and appreciative.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 14-01-21

A wonderful break-out novel for Jonathan Sims

If capitalist gothic was a genre, this would be the centerpiece work. It is masterfully read and paced, I couldn't wait to get back to listening after each pause. The different voices for the different characters definitely helped to keep the story interesting and keep the threads clear as the story progressed. Spooky and still very touching. I am definitely going out to purchase a physical copy to keep this one in my library. I can't wait to see your next book Mr. Sims!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for AnneO'Connor
  • AnneO'Connor
  • 10-01-21

a wonderfully made book and audio recording. i loved the whole thing and can’t wait for my second listen sometime in the future

it’s hard to write a book from multiple different perspectives but this book pulls it off better than any i’ve read in the past. a great mystery that i highly suggest to anyone.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alexis Ellett
  • Alexis Ellett
  • 30-12-20

capitalist nightmare becomes literal

a great melting together of different forms of horror both familiar and new. The intertwining of the various storylines is wonderfully done and the use of individual voice acting for each character vignette makes characterization and following the separate tales easy.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for C. Andrew
  • C. Andrew
  • 24-12-20

Fantastic!

Immensely well written and well performed! I'm very happy I spent the extra money to purchase the audio as well as the written work. The style of the recordings makes them incredibly engaging and really enhances the horror and storytelling. Jonathan Simms is an incredible writer and I encourage everyone who is interested in horror writing to check out his other works, especially the Magnus Archives.