Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £19.99

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Perfect for fans of The Last Magician and Descendant of the Crane, this heart-stopping New York Times best-selling debut is an imaginative Romeo and Juliet retelling set in 1920s Shanghai, with rival gangs and a monster in the depths of the Huangpu River.

In glittering Shanghai, a monster awakens....

A blood feud between two gangs runs the streets red, leaving the city in the grip of chaos. At its heart is 18-year-old Juliette Cai, a former flapper who has returned to assume her role as the proud heir of the Scarlet Gang - a network of criminals far above the law. Their only rivals in power are the White Flowers, who have fought the Scarlets for generations. And behind every move is their heir, Roma Montagov, Juliette's first love...and first betrayal.

But when gangsters on both sides show signs of instability culminating in clawing their own throats out, the people start to whisper. Of a contagion, a madness. Of a monster in the shadows. As the deaths stack up, Juliette and Roma must set their guns - and grudges - aside and work together, for if they can't stop this mayhem, then there will be no city left for either to rule.

©2020 Chloe Gong (P)2020 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Critic reviews

"Heady, smart and vicious." (Tessa Gratton, author of The Queens of Innis Lear)

"Deliciously dark." (Natasha Ngan, New York Times best-selling author of Girls of Paper and Fire)

"Dark and beautiful." (Emiko Jean, author of Empress of All Seasons

What listeners say about These Violent Delights

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    49
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    45
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    6
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Cannot wait for the next one

A retelling that understands perfectly well the story it’s taking it’s cues from and so it allows itself the liberty of diverging when necessary and bringing forth a new story, that highlights aspects of the original story that are left in the shadows and still is it’s own thing.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant Adaptation

Oh my goodness... I absolutely loved this book!

This is a fantastic twist on a well known tragic love story (Romeo and Juilette) we have two gangster families sworn enemies and always at gunpoint with one another, but within the chaos our main characters Juilette and Roma are doing their best to stop devastation take over shanghai and keep their hearts separate from the task at hand.

Dark and beautiful this book has everything from mystery and heartache, set in roaring 20s I truly felt like I was transported back in time and was experiencing everything beside these two brilliant characters.

THAT ENDING WAS... HOW DARE THAT ENDING HAPPEN.. 😂

Would I suggest reading this book... Hell Yes!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

The narrator didn't meet half of my expectations.

Interesting premise with a predictable plot. If the narrator read everything without whispering, I'd have liked the book better.
The different voices were hard to understand very often. Many climactic moments weren't narrated as such. I'm very sad for this review but truthfully, my experience with this book was poor because of the narration.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Very slow

It is so slow to start that I really couldn't stand 2 thirds of the book but, the last third had me gripped rhe whole way through

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

ABSOLUTELY INSANELY GOOD

This book makes you hold your breath in anticipation from the get go. Everything about it is so goddamn well done that I implore everyone to read/listen to this book immediately. I loved it so much, I cannot wait for the sequel.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

so good

the book is so good and nicely narrated. Would recommend for fiction lovers. really good

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Well narrated debut novel

Was looking for something a little different, very engaging and enjoyable read. Happy to recommend.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I Need More!

Oh my...I am so in love with this book and these characters, but I need more! I am now so excited and so hungry for the sequel.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Simon Gjertz
  • Simon Gjertz
  • 16-11-21

The setting is my favourite part!

Setting the story in this time was so interesting! I love this a bit more modern version of Romeo and Juliet!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Julia
  • Julia
  • 25-06-21

Pleasant story

I enjoyed this book. It injects something interesting to Romeo and Juliet without reverting to silliness. The reveals are paced well, as it toys with expectation. I do wish there was a little more variation between character accents by the narrator. Overall a pleasant listen.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Odeta
  • Odeta
  • 19-03-22

Very underwhelming

TLDR: inaccurate portrayals of character voices (emotions on text not matching with the emotion in the voice) and a predictable yet not very enjoyable plot (also almost no romance in a book that's supposed to be a retelling of R and J ??!!)

Long version: This applies to both the voice acting and the plot of the book. I liked the characters, liked the supporting cast but the plot didn't make much sense at one point (more below cuz spoiler). The voice acting is not bad, Cindy Kay reads well, however it made no sense that the voices for the characters 'whispered' at times when they should have been screaming

!!spoilers!!
Who the heck is Paul? Why was he even in love with Juliet?? He didn't really know her. We had like two interactions with him both exactly 2min long and then it was revealed that he was madly in love with her?? So in love he chose to save her but 10mim later tried to kill her SLOWLY. Like. Am I supposed to buy this? ALSO he is the main bad guy behind everything. Because I guess it was more convenient that way? No need to make up a new character...

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 08-02-22

Bad narrator

Whispering is NOT changing voices, sometimes I couldn’t hear a thing…

The story overall is engaging