Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Perfect for fans of The Last Magician and Descendant of the Crane, this heart-stopping New York Times best-selling debut is an imaginative Romeo and Juliet retelling set in 1920s Shanghai, with rival gangs and a monster in the depths of the Huangpu River.

In glittering Shanghai, a monster awakens....

A blood feud between two gangs runs the streets red, leaving the city in the grip of chaos. At its heart is 18-year-old Juliette Cai, a former flapper who has returned to assume her role as the proud heir of the Scarlet Gang - a network of criminals far above the law. Their only rivals in power are the White Flowers, who have fought the Scarlets for generations. And behind every move is their heir, Roma Montagov, Juliette's first love...and first betrayal.

But when gangsters on both sides show signs of instability culminating in clawing their own throats out, the people start to whisper. Of a contagion, a madness. Of a monster in the shadows. As the deaths stack up, Juliette and Roma must set their guns - and grudges - aside and work together, for if they can't stop this mayhem, then there will be no city left for either to rule.

©2020 Chloe Gong (P)2020 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Critic reviews

"Heady, smart and vicious." (Tessa Gratton, author of The Queens of Innis Lear)

"Deliciously dark." (Natasha Ngan, New York Times best-selling author of Girls of Paper and Fire)

"Dark and beautiful." (Emiko Jean, author of Empress of All Seasons

What listeners say about These Violent Delights

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

so good

the book is so good and nicely narrated. Would recommend for fiction lovers. really good

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Well narrated debut novel

Was looking for something a little different, very engaging and enjoyable read. Happy to recommend.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

The narrator didn't meet half of my expectations.

Interesting premise with a predictable plot. If the narrator read everything without whispering, I'd have liked the book better.
The different voices were hard to understand very often. Many climactic moments weren't narrated as such. I'm very sad for this review but truthfully, my experience with this book was poor because of the narration.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I Need More!

Oh my...I am so in love with this book and these characters, but I need more! I am now so excited and so hungry for the sequel.