Listen free for 30 days

Their Last Breath

Length: 9 hrs and 51 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (68 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Detective Carter knows all about torture - but he’s never known a case as dark as this one.

The Six...

An abandoned building goes up in flames. Six women are chained inside and left to die - the truth is left to burn with them. Only one piece of evidence remains, but will it be enough to find their killer?

The Detective...

Retired detective Warren Carter has been suffocated by grief for his wife and is looking for a new start. But when he gets a call that cuts to the heart of the force, investigating a corrupt police officer, he has to accept. This time, though, he’s going to have to face his demons and work out who to trust when the truth is guarded by his own colleagues.

The Bad Cop...

It was supposed to be the perfect crime: they knew the system well enough to beat it and get away with murder. But they didn’t know Detective Carter, and how far a man will go when he has nothing left to lose...

Their Last Breath is the gripping new thriller perfect for fans of Line of Duty, from the bestselling author of Duplicity and Into The Darkness.

©2019 Sibel Hodge (P)2019 Brilliance Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved.

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    41
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    30
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One for the Crime and Thriller Top Drawer!

I love it when I try a new author and they deliver a cracking read. That's just what happened here!

Warren Carter is not a new character having appeared in previous Hodge novels, 'Duplicity' and 'Into the Darkness' which saw him enter retirement. Hitting the fast-forward button, tricky investigations and grisly murders drag the now lacklustre Carter out of his stupour of grief and an aimless retirement and thrust him front and centre into a fast-moving and challenging investigation. As things develop he meets old colleagues and Hodge introduces us into an engaging set of characters and a quite original mystery.

This is very well executed police procedural story-telling and it includes a challenging ending that wraps it all up very nicely. Hodge balances the mystery and its slow reveal very well with the need for progression and action. The character chemistry is also well-balanced and Carter and the other detectives are given considerable depth.

The three narrators do a very decent job of carrying the story. Each takes on one of the major characters and this works well to distinguish them and their POVs but this format also has the weakness that two of them must voice all of the characters from time to time meaning that each appears as two distinctive voices, one for each narrator. This isn’t a big issue but it can sometimes mean a double take to recognise who is talking.

That aside, and for me at least that is a relatively minor thing this is a thoroughly entertaining read and means that my list of authors to follow has just grown by one.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Simply outstanding

Human trafficking, police corruption, murder and intrigue, this one has it all, including the ability to bring me to tears no less than seven times and a most delightful ending, it has one of those too.

Former DS Carter from 'Duplicity' and 'Into the Darkness' is persuaded out of his gloomy retirement to investigate suspected corruption after a burnt warrant card is discovered in a room with a poor dead girl, which is the start of this woeful tale.

Ms Hodge paints marvellous pictures with her words, not always pleasant but always intriguing.

The narration from all three performers is excellent, I wholeheartedly recommend this book.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

Highly recommended, hit the spot for a great audio crime listen. I listen to audio books virtually every day while I work, this was the best for a while. Looking forward to trying others by this author.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Timely, compelling - but ARRRRGH, "SOCO"!!

This was a very enjoyable story, albeit a bleak reminder of some recent tragic events.

I'd have rated this a 5 star review were it not for the female narrator not knowing how to pronounce "SOCO". Does nobody proof listen?! "SOCK-OH," not "SOE-CO." Drove me to distraction.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

interesting

good story on a few different topics makes you think about what is happening narrators was good to

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

couldn't stop listening

I really got into this. kept me engaged throughout the story. compelling and emotive.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A brilliant story, almost 5 stars but...

This is a fantastic story and should be a 5 star review.

The problem is that one of the female narrators is awful. It’s not just that she simpers in a monotone through a gritty and gripping story but that in her attempts at received pronunciation she mispronounces everyday words. For example; SOCO is pronounced to rhyme with rock (o), not so-co. I don’t understand why this was edited when it was recorded. It is very grating, if it hadn’t been such a good story I would have stopped listening.

One that I definitely wished I’d read for myself, rather than listening to it.

I will definitely listen to more stories by this author but I will be avoiding that narrator in future.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Could have been a good story

Storyline was original, but ruined by awful accents from the male narrator. Would be a good book to read.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Let down by one of the narrators

Other reviewers have highlighted just how awful the narrator voicing Becky Harris and Gillian is so I will not go into that further.
The story is good, but it takes the detectives a long time to figure out what is happening when all the clues are at the first scene. You would think that they might have taken an educated guess given the equipment - just saying.
Sibel Hodge generally writes well, but should consider writing some parts in the third person. The first person character is telling the story to someone, so by definition has to survive, or by some other means relay their story. Bad writing to do otherwise - again, just saying.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sheila E Ford
  • Sheila E Ford
  • 31-01-20

Kept me at the edge of my seat.

I almost returned this book because it started very slow, but I had this feeling to continue. Boy, was I glad that I did. The author brilliantly constructed a unique story of a tale of real life drama that could take place sometimes where its least expected. The narration was also excellent. I look forward to finding more books from this author.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for brandi
  • brandi
  • 31-10-19

Their breath bores me

I’m not even one to write reviews, but save your credit. Good story line but I feel like it just droned on and on to the point where I would stop listening with no intent on even rewinding to see what I missed.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kteacher
  • Kteacher
  • 01-10-19

Fantastic book!

Outstanding story, excellent narration. Gripping and impossible to stop listening to! Sibel Hodge can really write a marvelous story.