Listen free for 30 days

The Woman Upstairs

Narrated by: Katy Sobey
Length: 10 hrs and 24 mins
4 out of 5 stars (26 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

You’d be lost without her.... 

She’s the shoulder you cry on when the father of your children disappears.
She’s the person you turn to when he comes back, begging for forgiveness.
She’s by your side when you discover his guilty secrets.
She helps rock your babies to sleep when they cry.
She’s your friend when you have no one else.
She’s the woman upstairs, whose feet you hear treading above as you drift off at night, thankful you aren’t alone.   

But what if you’re about to lose everything because of her? One of the most twisted, shocking, heart-stopping psychological thrillers ever! Fans of K.L. Slater, The Wife Between Us, and The Girl on the Train, prepare to be kept up way past your bedtime. 

©2019 Ruth Heald (P)2019 Bookouture

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great read

Loved it, couldn't put it down and was trying to work it out all through, going to look for next book by her.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

I loved this book. It's the first book I've listened to by this author. I saw an unfavourable review about the central character but I can't find fault in the book at all. I definitely recommend it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars

Really......?

I can't relate to this book....
Too implausible. Too many holes in the p!ot. Tried to like it....But in the end, it's too overstretched.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Could have been better

This had promise and could have been good, but after a while, the main character got annoying and it was irritating how much of a pushover she was, she needed some 'get up and go' or a bit of oomph! in fact the whole story could have done with some

Started off OK but then became frustrating, there were lots of reasons why:
Katie was not suspicious at all that a strange lady who worked as a professional Doula (Paula) was willing to work for free for her (as if that happens in real life)
Katie and Ian were not at all concerned when Paula turned nasty and refused to move out of the bedroom in their house, they still let her be around their babies.
Katie didnt seem that bothered when she found out Ian had a wife.
Katie noticed one of her babies was well underweight and even her family and friends told her so, but she didn't seem to bat an eyelid.
Katie seemed content to let Ian's wife look after the babies even though Ian told Katie that his wife was unstable.
Katie couldn't remember anything from her childhood, even though it seemed it had been eventful. yet her Mum managed to wipe out her whole memory by telling her tales of a nicer childhood..what?!
There were lots of annoying totally unbelievable parts of the story like above that left me thinking 'what the ...'
I don't want to spoil the end for anyone, but I know if someone had taken my babies I wouldnt just stand there asking for them back! I would TAKE them back, however necessary. Katie and Ian could quite have easily overpowered Paula to get their babies, but just seemed to stand there saying 'please give them back'??! and the threat that she had a candle and could set fire to the mattress that the babies were laying on?? the mattress was in a damp basement which had water coming down the walls, the mattress had been there for years and was damp and mouldy. It would have taken a long time to set fire to it with one candle and if she tried they could have overpowered her then! Also when Katie's mum turned up, rather than shout for her to phone the police urgently and not come down to the basement, they let her venture down into the basement.

Good idea in theory, but badly executed. to be honest I would rather listen to Sonia Jackson play her trumpet on Eastenders!


2 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Easy listening for a plane journey!

It was ok to start but I have to say I do agree with some of the other reviewers that it was a bit long winded and I was willing it to end! Ok to listen on the plane for a ‘dozing’ story!!!!!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for annelizabeth jane ritz
  • annelizabeth jane ritz
  • 11-10-19

Unbelievable...

I had some problems with this book. I'm not sure I've ever disliked a main character this much before. It's hard to believe anyone could be that stupid. She's never even been to her boyfriend's place but gets pregnant and he automatically moves her into a mansion and he's almost never around. She doesn't think to ask questions. Then a complete stranger comes in off the streets and she lets her do a pelvic exam without asking her for credentials?! Who does that?! Then moved this total stranger into her home to take care of her kids while pushing her mother and sister out of her life. There were so many warning signs that it really got annoying how dumb she was. I felt like the author was taking a giant leap with this one and hope I can expect something better from her on the next one.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andrew Dunne
  • Andrew Dunne
  • 06-10-19

Started off good...

So many issues with this book. It is unbelievable how gullible the main character is. So many times times I wanted to scream “are you kidding me??” I loves this author’s first book-one if my favorite audible selections, but this one is just not great.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jersey
  • Jersey
  • 14-09-19

Good Story and great Narration but...

after awhile the naivety of this woman was just ridiculous. I kept thinking what is wrong with her? Stop believing everything anyone says and take control of yourself. Just another story about a weak woman.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lisa McWilliams
  • Lisa McWilliams
  • 02-11-19

Love it!

THIS is my kind of book!!!! Absolutely love this book and didn’t want to turn it off !(love you too narrator!!)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful