Listen free for 30 days

The Woman Next Door

A Psychological Thriller With a Stunning Twist
Narrated by: Katie Villa
Length: 8 hrs and 31 mins
4 out of 5 stars (336 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

I suppose everyone has their reasons for living here. Who knows what lies behind the pretty curtains and the well-groomed lawns of Mulberry Avenue?

Lucy has a kind and adoring husband, a job she loves as a teacher, and a house on Mulberry Avenue with floaty curtains and the softest bed linen. After her troubled childhood, she knows life will never be perfect, but it’s pretty close.

She’s also got Amber, right next door. They never run out of things to talk about. Even if Amber’s life - with her high-profile job and handsome, wealthy boyfriend - is more glamorous than Lucy’s, they share a down-to-earth sense of humor.

But then Amber starts to hint that her life isn’t all it seems, and when she comes to Lucy, terrified, saying that she’s getting threatening messages, Lucy promises to protect her.

The closer Lucy gets to anyone, the harder it’ll be to keep her past to herself. But Amber doesn’t have anyone else, and Lucy welcomes her into her home.

Lucy knows all too well that people aren’t always what they seem. Sometimes they have secrets. And they’d do anything to keep them. Yet when Amber settles in a little too quickly, Lucy’s still sure: she can trust her friend...can’t she?

Gripping and pause-resisting, All Her Secrets tells a story about the dark side of friendship and has a final twist that will shock every listener. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Friend Request, and Clare Mackintosh.

Reviewers love Sue Watson:

"Tense, atmospheric psychological thriller with more twists and turns than a rollercoaster. Impeccably written and a big fat 5***** from me. Awesome!" (Number one best-selling author Angela Marsons)

"Gripping tension that builds and builds... I kept thinking I knew where she was going only to be knocked sideways... An absolute page turner of a read that sent my heart racing. Bravo to the new queen of psychological thrillers." (By the Letter Book Reviews, 5 stars)

"Most definitely a book that captures your imagination... A book that I literally did not put down." (Best Crime Books and More, 5 stars)
 

©2019 Sue Watson (P)2019 Bookouture
What members say
Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    182
  • 4 Stars
    88
  • 3 Stars
    40
  • 2 Stars
    20
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    189
  • 4 Stars
    63
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    153
  • 4 Stars
    72
  • 3 Stars
    40
  • 2 Stars
    18
  • 1 Stars
    10

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Well Written Though Proposterous Domestic Drama

Kitchen sink dramas are not really my choice of genre - but I thought I would give this one a go as it got such good reviews and promised a "Psychological Thriller with a Stunning Twist".
I think it was very well written and read and in fairness nothing gritty, gory or terribly upsetting - however as the story developed it became more and more preposterous and the characters behaviour increasingly unbelievable - all in a frankly dull and domestic way rather than an exciting thrilling way. All the characters seemed to had terrible childhoods/mothers and even the glamourous tv presenter had a dreary existence and an even less exciting social life than mine.
The whole thing could have been used in one of the storylines in a Soap - though it was well plotted and written, it was just too implausible with sad, lack lustre, damaged characters living mundane lives on an estate that the whole thing was just a bit too drab for my tastes as I like a bit of glamour and escapism in my thrillers and am not into Soaps … but if you were, perhaps you might really love this book.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Stalker

This book is excellent. Couldn't stop listening to it. Lots of twists and turns to keep you guessing with a surprise at the end. Thoroughly enjoyed all the way through

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Kept me listening!

Thoroughly enjoyed this book, some of it predictable, but must admit kept me guessing and it took me by surprise in the last few chapters when I thought I knew what would happen.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • JC
  • 05-10-19

Loved it

Great book from a good author read by an amazingly charming narrator with a lovely twist in the tale.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

great story, real twist in the tale

brilliant narrator, definitely recommend this book to anyone who likes psychological thrillers, like the ending

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

Best book ive read for long time. Usually guess the ending but this was brilliant.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant!

I could not stop reading this book. The twists and turns were keeping me hooked and I just had to know what happened next. The twist(s) at the end had my emotions on edge and the final one left me speechless. A great story!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Kept me thinking about it even when I wasn’t listening to it . A real twist in the tale I didn’t see coming.

This book kept my mind ticking long after I listened to it, I couldn’t wait to find out more. I didn’t see the twist in the tale in the end.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Less psychological, more predictable

Certainly not a physiological thriller as you can predict the outcome of the story from about chapter 5. Easy listen, not challenging, performance was well done. Overall nothing special.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Shallow Women

Not a bad psychological thriller which did keep me hooked, with a few twists and turns. Very well read by Katie Villa, except that the voice she gave to Amber, the weather girl, was so grating and irritating that I wondered if I really wanted to spend so many hours in her and the equally annoying Lucy's company. Supposedly a 'weather girl' she would never get a job on TV with that voice!
But a good listen all the same.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 20-07-19

Not my type of book

The catty and petty woman drama really was not my favorite. The ‘twist’ was rather predictable, and if you don’t predict it, it won’t surprise you. I am sure this will suit someone, not for me though. Narrator was good though!

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon customer
  • Amazon customer
  • 18-07-19

Save a credit

Maybe I listen to too many psychological thrillers, but I had this book figured out within the first 30 minutes but kept listening, waiting for a surprising twist, which never came.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lisa
  • lisa
  • 13-06-19

stick with it

I feel like this story could have easily been told in half the time. The writing was good, characters believable. Just seems to drag in alot of places, the end is the best part of the book.

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lisa Willett
  • Lisa Willett
  • 31-05-19

VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!!

Omg this story dragged on and on and on. It was so slow that I fast forward through so many chapters. There was so much repeated and it was annoying. I had the story figured out halfway through the book and the narration was a little irksome. I wouldn't recommend this book to a friend. I listen to about 15 books a month, in my car, while I clean, do work, etc and this one took so much to keep me listening to it. I wanted to quit so many times. Waste of a credit!!!

15 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for n. estrada
  • n. estrada
  • 25-08-19

You can skip about half of it

You can safety fast forward through at least half of the book. It is slow and drawn-out. I found myself spacing out through most of it before I decided to just sip to the end. I would not use a credit or spend money on this.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 16-06-19

Meh

The story goes along, plot is very predictable so the title of it being a “psychological thriller” is laughable. The book leads up to a major event and it just skips past all details and is really vague, it was anti climactic to say the least.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sheryl Griffin
  • Sheryl Griffin
  • 23-06-19

Great story!

A surprise ending! I had no idea! Well done! Characters are all very well fleshed out and drew me in immediately.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Almarie
  • Almarie
  • 04-07-19

Predictable and annoying

The characters are overdone and unrealistic. Listening to them be such idiots and terrible people was hard.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 26-06-19

Repetitive and boring

I couldn’t wait for this predictable, slow moving, boring book to end! The main character was infuriating with her naivety and overly trusting nature.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for legalliz
  • legalliz
  • 25-06-19

STUPID STORY LINE

A total waste of time but the performance was so good it lulled me on

2 people found this helpful