Listen free for 30 days

The Woman Next Door

A Psychological Thriller With a Stunning Twist
Narrated by: Katie Villa
Length: 8 hrs and 31 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (94 ratings)

Regular price: £18.29

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

I suppose everyone has their reasons for living here. Who knows what lies behind the pretty curtains and the well-groomed lawns of Mulberry Avenue?

Lucy has a kind and adoring husband, a job she loves as a teacher, and a house on Mulberry Avenue with floaty curtains and the softest bed linen. After her troubled childhood, she knows life will never be perfect, but it’s pretty close.

She’s also got Amber, right next door. They never run out of things to talk about. Even if Amber’s life - with her high-profile job and handsome, wealthy boyfriend - is more glamorous than Lucy’s, they share a down-to-earth sense of humor.

But then Amber starts to hint that her life isn’t all it seems, and when she comes to Lucy, terrified, saying that she’s getting threatening messages, Lucy promises to protect her.

The closer Lucy gets to anyone, the harder it’ll be to keep her past to herself. But Amber doesn’t have anyone else, and Lucy welcomes her into her home.

Lucy knows all too well that people aren’t always what they seem. Sometimes they have secrets. And they’d do anything to keep them. Yet when Amber settles in a little too quickly, Lucy’s still sure: she can trust her friend...can’t she?

Gripping and pause-resisting, All Her Secrets tells a story about the dark side of friendship and has a final twist that will shock every listener. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Friend Request, and Clare Mackintosh.

Reviewers love Sue Watson:

"Tense, atmospheric psychological thriller with more twists and turns than a rollercoaster. Impeccably written and a big fat 5***** from me. Awesome!" (Number one best-selling author Angela Marsons)

"Gripping tension that builds and builds... I kept thinking I knew where she was going only to be knocked sideways... An absolute page turner of a read that sent my heart racing. Bravo to the new queen of psychological thrillers." (By the Letter Book Reviews, 5 stars)

"Most definitely a book that captures your imagination... A book that I literally did not put down." (Best Crime Books and More, 5 stars)
 

©2019 Sue Watson (P)2019 Bookouture

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    57
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    53
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    46
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Less psychological, more predictable

Certainly not a physiological thriller as you can predict the outcome of the story from about chapter 5. Easy listen, not challenging, performance was well done. Overall nothing special.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Stalker

This book is excellent. Couldn't stop listening to it. Lots of twists and turns to keep you guessing with a surprise at the end. Thoroughly enjoyed all the way through

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Absolute rubbish

Ridiculous characters and story. One of the worst books I’ve listened to.Should have stopped listening to it but was hoping for some redemption which never came.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

Loved this book, best one I have listened to in a long time. Very good narrator too.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Keeps you wanting more!

It is one of those books which keeps you entertained, wanting to get back to it as soon as you can.

I do wonder whether the author has any real knowledge of the life of a primary teacher, though. I can tell you, as a primary headteacher with 20 years experience, teachers almost never get home at 4pm and almost always have marking to do at home (or stay late at school to do this). I do wish primary teachers were portrayed accurately in fiction!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Pretty predictable

A pretty predictable listen. Fine for a beach read but I’d worked out the twists

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Shallow Women

Not a bad psychological thriller which did keep me hooked, with a few twists and turns. Very well read by Katie Villa, except that the voice she gave to Amber, the weather girl, was so grating and irritating that I wondered if I really wanted to spend so many hours in her and the equally annoying Lucy's company. Supposedly a 'weather girl' she would never get a job on TV with that voice!
But a good listen all the same.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Charlotte
  • Dalgety bay, United Kingdom
  • 10-06-19

Hard to feel sympathy

unlikable characters who are all so shallow. i wanted to root for someone but i just couldnt. an excellent writer but a few too many empty shelves in the story.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Very predictable

A very formulaic plot with obvious ‘clues’. I kept listening in the hope that I wouldn’t be correct in my assumptions but sadly, I was. It’s well read but unfortunately not inventive in either language or plot and the stunning twist was pretty obvious.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

really predictable

painfully long-winded and predictable. wouldn't bother with. not crazy on the narration either. there's one slight twist at the end but that's it

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sheryl Griffin
  • 23-06-19

Great story!

A surprise ending! I had no idea! Well done! Characters are all very well fleshed out and drew me in immediately.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • lisa
  • 13-06-19

stick with it

I feel like this story could have easily been told in half the time. The writing was good, characters believable. Just seems to drag in alot of places, the end is the best part of the book.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Lisa Willett
  • 31-05-19

VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!!

Omg this story dragged on and on and on. It was so slow that I fast forward through so many chapters. There was so much repeated and it was annoying. I had the story figured out halfway through the book and the narration was a little irksome. I wouldn't recommend this book to a friend. I listen to about 15 books a month, in my car, while I clean, do work, etc and this one took so much to keep me listening to it. I wanted to quit so many times. Waste of a credit!!!

9 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 16-06-19

Meh

The story goes along, plot is very predictable so the title of it being a “psychological thriller” is laughable. The book leads up to a major event and it just skips past all details and is really vague, it was anti climactic to say the least.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • keke
  • 06-06-19

Wow

Excellent thriller. Just enough twists and turns that kept me glued to this book;finishing in less than 2 days.
The narrator was great, the story was entertaining and the end was unexpected. Definitely recommend!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 04-07-19

Predictable and annoying

The characters are overdone and unrealistic. Listening to them be such idiots and terrible people was hard.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Wendi
  • 16-07-19

Hardly a 'Twist,' but Valiant Effort

I recently read 'Our Little Lies' by Sue Watson and when I was done, I decided to search for another title by the same author. Her books from the past looked fairly 'chic-lit,' but I found 'The Woman Next Door' and I was intrigued.

The story is fairly simple. A barren woman and her husband take in their neighbour who's being stalked by an unknown predator. The neighbour is sort of a low-key celebrity, having done some acting as well as working as a 'weather girl' on local TV. The actress starts to get all too comfortable at her friend's home. Then, things start to unravel.

The story was very predictable and sort of disjointed, told by both the viewpoint of the good neighbour and the freeloader. However, it's obvious that Watson is breaking her usual mold in this book and coming in to her own as a suspenseful author. The much improved 'Our Little Lies' makes me look forward to whatever is to come from her.

Fairly enjoyable. 3 stars overall

-Wendi

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • eh chaponis
  • 15-07-19

The Woman Next Door

An amazing read! Great characters, but the ending is totally perfect! I never saw this coming!!! Don’t miss this one!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • annelizabeth jane ritz
  • 10-07-19

Shocking twist at the end.

There was a shocking twist at the end. I was expecting a twist and had 2 different scenarios in my mind but when it played out I was surprised. The plot was good and so was the narrator.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Martin Norris
  • 08-07-19

Pretty good

All in all pretty good. i did guess the end. I'll look for others by Sue Watson.