Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

$0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Witch's Tree cover art

The Witch's Tree

By: Elena Collins
Narrated by: Antonia Beamish
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

Daughter of the Mists cover art
The Lady of the Loch cover art
God's Acre cover art
Hidden in the Mists cover art
Secrets of the Mist cover art
Hiding from the Light cover art
Echoes of the Runes cover art
The Witch's Knight cover art
The Manor House cover art
The Scarlet Dress cover art
Fading cover art
The Wind Chime cover art
A Time to Change cover art
Exit Unicorns cover art
The Forgotten Palace cover art
The Year of Ancient Ghosts cover art

Summary

A tale as old as time. A spirit that has never rested.

Present day.

As a love affair comes to an end, and with it her dreams for her future, artist Selena needs a retreat. The picture-postcard Sloe Cottage in the Somerset village of Ashcombe promises to be the perfect place to forget her problems, and Selena settles into her new home as spring arrives. But it isn’t long before Selena hears the past whispering to her. Sloe Cottage is keeping secrets which refuse to stay hidden.

1682

Grace Cotter longs for nothing more than a husband and family of her own. Content enough with her work on the farm, looking after her father, and learning the secrets of her grandmother Bett’s healing hands, nevertheless Grace still hopes for love. But these are dangerous times for dreamers, and rumours and gossip can be deadly. One mis-move and Grace’s fate looks set....

Separated by three hundred years, two women are drawn together by a home bathed in blood and magic. Grace Cotter’s spirit needs to rest, and only Selena can help her now.

USA Today bestselling author Judy Leigh, writing as Elena Collins, brings you this unforgettable, heart-breaking, gripping timeslip novel set in a world when women were hung as witches, and fates could be sealed by a wrong word. Perfect for fans of Barbara Erskine, Diana Gabaldon and Louise Douglas.

©2022 Elena Collins (P)2022 Boldwood Books

Critic reviews

"A wonderful book by a fabulous author, very highly recommended." (Louise Douglas)

Featured article: Witches in fiction: 12 historical fiction books to listen to this Halloween


Throughout history, women have been branded as witches by people scared of their power, confidence and independence. In days past, accusations of being a witch – thrown at women for everything from being talented at working with herbs to being in the vicinity of a death – could result in banishment or even death. These 12 audiobooks, perfect for the longer nights, colder weather and the Halloween season, tell the stories of women through history, from goddesses to regular women, through a mix of horror, fantasy and historical fiction.

What listeners say about The Witch's Tree

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    74
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    72
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    66
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Some lovely elements

Some lovely elements to this story but I found it did seem a little stretched in the middle and was being to drag a little. The historical side told from Graces perspective was very touching, I’m not sure if it was the narration but I found Serena a little unrelatable and the modem day dialogue a little ‘twee’ and unrealistic at times. Overall a nice little story but perhaps better by reading than audio.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Letting go, finally

What a wonderful story of letting sadness and a trapped soul, free.
A well structured story, with a true craft of story-telling, brought clearer in the mind by a perfectly matched narrator.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

just beautiful.

Haunting, sad and so beautifully written. It's the perfect October read. Loved every minute of it.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So good but glad I don't live in the 17th century.

Elena Collins is a terrific writer. I listened to this when I didn't really have the time but I was hooked and couldn't stop! The author's descriptions of the Somerset countryside made me feel like I was there. I loved the references to all things herbal, medicinal and foraging, Selena's love of art and the information she imparted about various artists and Nick's habit of spouting poetry and literature. A totally immersive novel with an excellent narration.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved this story

Not heard of this author but this story was brilliant,I loved that it told two stories in one would 100% recommend A****

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Easy listen

Lovely story spanning hundreds of years. Easy listen with historical facts and fiction which made interesting listening. Narrator very good. Enjoyed it overall.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful sad story!

I absolutely loved this book,
Such a moving tale of the injustices that women have had to endure over the years. I cannot wait for the next book by this author!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved this story

I always love a spooky story and this book has just the right amount of spookiness in it, not too much. Although the love side of it was a bit predictable I really enjoyed it.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Heartbreaking

I loved the earlier story of Grace's life, set in the 17th century most.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved It

I loved this book from start to finish,but glad I don't live in the 17th century...my kind of book.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful