Try an audiobook on us

The Winter Foundlings

Narrated by: Charlotte Strevens
Length: 9 hrs and 55 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (43 ratings)
Regular price: £19.99
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Getting inside the mind of a killer isn't for the faint of heart....

Alice Quentin faces her most terrifying challenge yet in this chilling novel, perfect for fans of Nicci French.

The girl was lying on the steps of the Foundling Museum, dressed all in white.

Four girls have disappeared in North London. Three are already dead. Britain's most prolific child killer, Louis Kinsella, has been locked up in Northwood high-security hospital for over a decade. Now more innocents are being slaughtered, and they all have a connection to his earlier crimes.

Psychologist Alice Quentin is doing research at Northwood. She was hoping for a break from her hectic London life, but she'll do anything to help save a child - even if it means forming a relationship with a charismatic, ruthless murderer. But Kinsella is slow to give away his secrets, and time is running out for the latest kidnap victim, who is simply trying to survive....

©2014 Kate Rhodes (P)2014 Oakhill Publishing

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars

Not so much

The book is well written and entertaining with a good story line. However at times I was lidterning to silence of the lambs! Please don't let me put you off but not a book I would listen to again and will return.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Lynne F
  • 15-08-16

Becoming predictable.

I really enjoyed the first book in the series, I quite liked the second book - but by the third book I could predict what would happen because it seems that Kate has only one main story line for her lead character. I won't lay out the details here because I would hate to spoil the book for someone who hasn't read the others, but the author may consider that it doesn't always need to be the same person who makes the same mistakes in their personal lives and who makes foolhardy decisions that end up with the same person fighting for their lives in every story! There are other ways to weave suspense and action into a book.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Cougar
  • 14-08-16

silence of the lambs

which came first, the silence of the lambs or winter foundling? They are mirror images

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Scott
  • 29-12-18

Good

Interesting story. I am on the fence about the ending. It was good, but left me wanting. I can't decide if that was because it ended too abruptly or I needed to hear more about Ella and the families and/or the deeper historicsl storyline from the perspective of the secondhand killer.

The narrator is easy to listen to. I will likely look up other books she's narrated, however, her voice seemed more mature than this story's character suggested. This conflict was distracting for me, and may not be for others.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ajrivera
  • 04-03-17

more from this author

loved the series, couldn't stop listening. Will there be an other book in the series

*Offer available from 22nd May 2019 10:00 GMT until 28th May 2019 at 11:59PM GMT. This offer is not available to existing Audible members. Offer applies only to an Audible monthly membership sold by audible.co.uk (http://audible.co.uk/). For the first 4 months of your Audible membership, you will be charged the discounted price of £3.99/month. After the first 4 months, your Audible membership will continue at the then current full price (currently £7.99/month.) until cancelled. Cancel anytime by visiting the Account Details page. Offer limited to one per customer and account, may not be combined with other offers, is non-transferable and may not be resold. Audible reserves the right to modify or cancel the offer at any time. If you violate any of these terms, the offer will be invalid.