Listen free for 30 days

The Windfall

Narrated by: Homer Todiwala
Length: 8 hrs and 54 mins
Categories: Fiction, Humour
4 out of 5 stars (9 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A heartfelt comedy of manners for fans of Seating Arrangements and Crazy Rich Asians, Diksha Basu's debut novel unfolds the story of a family discovering what it means to be nouveau riche in modern India.

Hilarious and wise, The Windfall illuminates with warmth and charm the precariousness of social status, the fragility of pride and, above all, the human drive to build and share a home. Even the rich, it turns out, need to belong somewhere.

©2017 Bloomsbury (P)2017 Audible, Ltd

More from the same

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Not worth reading

I did not feel like this book had any story. Just Boring all the way through. Nothing to catch imagination.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

OK, got better

I enjoyed it more as I got to know the characters but a lot of them (esp the male characters) weren't very likable. I had a feeling they were going on a journey and that I would like them more by the end of the story, but then it ended very quickly. It was OK, but there could have been a lot more depth to the story and understanding of the people. My favourite bit was one of the sub plots featuring a friend of the main characters.