Listen free for 30 days

The Vanishing Box

The Brighton Mysteries, Book 4
Narrated by: Luke Thompson
Series: The Brighton Mysteries, Book 4
Length: 8 hrs and 11 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (175 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The fourth Brighton Mysteries story from the author of the best-selling Dr Ruth Galloway series - a must-read for fans of Bryant and May. 

What do a murdered Brighton flower seller, the death of Cleopatra, and a nude tableau show have in common? Listen to the most dangerous case yet for Stephens and Mephisto and find out. 

Christmas 1953. Max Mephisto, and his daughter, Ruby, are headlining Brighton Hippodrome, an achievement only slightly marred by the less-than-savoury support act: a tableau show of naked 'living statues'. This might appear to have nothing in common with DI Edgar Stephens's investigation into the death of a quiet flower seller, but if there's one thing the old comrades have learned it's that, in Brighton, the line between art and life - and death - is all too easily blurred....

©2017 Elly Griffiths (P)2017 Quercus Editions Limited

Critic reviews

"Mixes cosiness and sharpness in a way that recalls the best of Agatha Christie." ( Sunday Express on Smoke and Mirrors)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    116
  • 4 Stars
    42
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    122
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    102
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful period detail

I love this series of books, and this one did not disappoint. Good story with great period details. Love the theatrical background, landladies and boarding houses. The characters are interesting and likeable. It is set in the winter and Elly even manages to make you feel cold. You can read this on it’s own but I recommend you read the series in order.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good ‘old fashioned’ murder mystery

I love the murder mysteries by this author. Hope there is more Stephens and Mephisto.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The vanishing box

Great story , very atmospheric reading and a fair plot . A great listen for a long car journey , thank you

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Engaging characters in an imaginative story

Over the last two weeks I've read/listened to all four books in this series and am eager to hear what happens in the lives of the main characters as they have really come to life in the last two books. Like the author's Ruth Galloway series the narratives are are greatly enriched by the revelations about the character's lives almost making the detective element of secondary importance. The narrative strongly evokes what life was like in the 1950s in a sea-side town and the uncertainty and rootlessness of the peripatetic existence of theatrical performers. The imaginative story kept me listening and was made all the better for avoiding many of the clichés of more modern detective fiction.

The narrator added to the pleasure and had a remarkable range of different voices that really made the characters feel like real people.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

not as good as Ruth and Harry

these are not as good as the Ruth Galloway series but still like them very much

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent series

I have now heard all four in this series and really enjoyed them. Luke Thompson is an excellent narrator, very competent but not overpowering. Loved all the Brighton references and the evocative 1950's atmosphere. Feel sorry that I greedily rushed through them all as I've now exhausted them far too soon!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Another excellent adventure

The stories get more mature with each book. I didn't guess the perpetrator at all.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Slow and disappointing

Dull story so slow I gave up in the end pity sounded promising for me it just never got going

2 people found this helpful