Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £19.99

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The fourth Brighton Mysteries story from the author of the best-selling Dr Ruth Galloway series - a must-read for fans of Bryant and May. 

What do a murdered Brighton flower seller, the death of Cleopatra, and a nude tableau show have in common? Listen to the most dangerous case yet for Stephens and Mephisto and find out. 

Christmas 1953. Max Mephisto, and his daughter, Ruby, are headlining Brighton Hippodrome, an achievement only slightly marred by the less-than-savoury support act: a tableau show of naked 'living statues'. This might appear to have nothing in common with DI Edgar Stephens's investigation into the death of a quiet flower seller, but if there's one thing the old comrades have learned it's that, in Brighton, the line between art and life - and death - is all too easily blurred....

©2017 Elly Griffiths (P)2017 Quercus Editions Limited

Critic reviews

"Mixes cosiness and sharpness in a way that recalls the best of Agatha Christie." ( Sunday Express on Smoke and Mirrors)

What listeners say about The Vanishing Box

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    266
  • 4 Stars
    89
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    270
  • 4 Stars
    61
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    236
  • 4 Stars
    81
  • 3 Stars
    23
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful period detail

I love this series of books, and this one did not disappoint. Good story with great period details. Love the theatrical background, landladies and boarding houses. The characters are interesting and likeable. It is set in the winter and Elly even manages to make you feel cold. You can read this on it’s own but I recommend you read the series in order.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Thrilling, cinematic and poignant!

One of the best in this series.
It's Christmas in Brighton but the atmosphere is oppressively gloomy, filmic descriptions of the faded seaside glamour envelopes & submerges you into 1950's Britain. Still recovering from war, tired of "making do & mend" this is the era of the matriarchal seaside landlady & her hotchpotch of tenants, ranging from glamorous showgirls to ancient lonely veterans. A new racier post war attitude is emerging & decent citizens think it threatens to morally bankrupt society. Amongst all this a naked girl is found murdered. Exciting stuff!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good ‘old fashioned’ murder mystery

I love the murder mysteries by this author. Hope there is more Stephens and Mephisto.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A very enjoyable book

I very much enjoyed this book from beginning to end. The author very cleverly brought the characters to life, you could visualize the theatre life, and smell the grease paint.The storyline and plot was very cleverly written bringing 1953, Brighton Hippodrome theatre, murder and police together. Along with unexpected twists and revelations, I didn't see coming. The narrator does a brilliant job of performing and keeping your interest in the book.



  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

brilliant

loved the story, must read the next one in the Brighton series well done againn

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

How different

These audio books are so entertaining, the narration so good, the stories have all the required twists and turns and reflect the timeframe so well. Elly Griffiths is a master story teller and if you have not listened to the Ruth Galloway books I thoroughly recommend them.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

enjoyable cosy crime

The narrator was brilliant, switching from one voice to another and from male to female seamlessly. Without this excellent narration, the story could have become a bit muddled in places but the many characters were clearly identifiable.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love this series !

I'm a great fan of Elly Griffiths. I have listened to the whole of her Dr Ruth Galloway set and enjoyed them immensely. So I decided to try the Brighton Mysteries and I haven't been disappointed, the series just gets better and better. The Vanishing Box is exciting and really draws you in to the period of time it is set in. Now I'm ready for Book 5!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The vanishing box

Great story , very atmospheric reading and a fair plot . A great listen for a long car journey , thank you

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Engaging characters in an imaginative story

Over the last two weeks I've read/listened to all four books in this series and am eager to hear what happens in the lives of the main characters as they have really come to life in the last two books. Like the author's Ruth Galloway series the narratives are are greatly enriched by the revelations about the character's lives almost making the detective element of secondary importance. The narrative strongly evokes what life was like in the 1950s in a sea-side town and the uncertainty and rootlessness of the peripatetic existence of theatrical performers. The imaginative story kept me listening and was made all the better for avoiding many of the clichés of more modern detective fiction.

The narrator added to the pleasure and had a remarkable range of different voices that really made the characters feel like real people.