Listen free for 30 days

The Unquiet Heart

Narrated by: Carolyn Bonnyman
Series: The Sarah Gilchrist Series, Book 2
Length: 9 hrs and 47 mins
4 out of 5 stars (2 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Kaite Welsh's thrilling medical mystery, The Unquiet Heart, is the second in the Gothic Sarah Gilchrist series, following a medical student turned detective in Victorian Edinburgh. For fans of Natasha Pulley's The Watchmaker of Filigree Street or Laura Purcell's The Silent Companions.

Sarah Gilchrist has no intention of marrying her dull fiancé, Miles, the man her family hope will restore her reputation and put an end to her dreams of becoming a doctor, but when he is arrested for a murder she is sure he didn't commit she finds herself his reluctant ally. Beneath the genteel façade of upper class Edinburgh lurks blackmail, adultery, poison and madness, and Sarah must return to Edinburgh's slums, back alleys and asylums as she discovers the dark past about a family where no one is what they seem, even Miles himself. It also brings her back into the orbit of her mercurial professor, Gregory Merchiston - he sees Sarah as his protegee, but can he stave off his demons long enough to teach her the skills that will save her life?

©2018 Kaite Welsh (P)2018 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Critic reviews

"This powerful novel combines a disturbing look at late Victorian attitudes towards women and morality with a satisfying murder mystery." (Sunday Express)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Actually a bit better than the first

I enjoyed this one more than the first. You obviously, as so often in literature, ignore the fact that the main male character is a violent addict with a tender heart 🙄 ( No spoiler if you’ve read the first in the series ) who’s just waiting for a nice girl to come along and save him but the rest of the story cracks along nicely.