Listen free for 30 days

The Twisted Tree

Narrated by: Kate Okello
Length: 6 hrs and 41 mins
Categories: Sci-Fi & Fantasy, Horror
3.5 out of 5 stars (14 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Set in the remote snows of contemporary Norway, The Twisted Tree is a ghost story that twists and turns - and never takes you quite where you'd expect.

Martha can tell things about a person just by touching their clothes, as if their emotions and memories have been absorbed into the material. It started the day she fell from the tree at her grandma's cabin and became blind in one eye.

Determined to understand her strange ability, Martha sets off to visit her grandmother, Mormor - only to discover Mormor is dead, a peculiar boy is in her cabin and a terrifying creature is on the loose.

Then the spinning wheel starts creaking, books move around and terror creeps in.... 

Part ghost story, part Nordic thriller - this is a twisty, tense and spooky debut, perfect for fans of Corlaine and Michelle Paver's Dark Matter.

©2019 Rachel Burge (P)2019 Bonnier Publishing

More from the same

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Read for a book club - hooked from the first minute!

The book itself has a feel of a Cecelia Ahern novel, read eloquently and easy to listen to. Straight to the story, with not too many frills, it’s story line, dipping into Norse mythology, enthrals and excites!
Great book, hooked from the second I started listening!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Ideal for teenage girls

Twilight meets nordic noir. Enough Norwegian paganism to keep teens entertained but no real emotional depth to frighten them. The narrator however cannot do a convincing Norwegian accent so all the Norwegians sound like they come from Kilkenny..