Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Following the runaway success of Jonathan French's critically acclaimed fantasy adventure The Grey Bastards comes book two in the Lot Lands series - The True Bastards

Lead from the saddle. Dare to survive. 

Fetching was once the only female rider in the Lot Lands. Now she is the leader of her own hoof, a band of loyal half-orcs sworn to her command. But in the year since she took power, the True Bastards have struggled to survive. Tested to the breaking point by the burdens of leadership, Fetching battles desperately to stave off famine, desertion and the scorn of the other half-orc chieftains, even as orcs and humans alike threaten the Lots' very existence. Then an old enemy finds a way to strike at her from beyond the grave - and suddenly only one faint hope for salvation remains. 

A standout adventure fantasy debut that's down, dirty and damn good fun - perfect for fans of Joe Abercombie, Mark Lawrence, Markus Heitz's Dwarves series and Stan Nicholl's Orcs series.

©2019 Jonathan French (P)2019 Hachette Audio UK

What listeners say about The True Bastards

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    117
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    103
  • 4 Stars
    29
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    103
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Brave Mr French!

So having wowed us with the first book in the series it would have been very easy for the author to have just trotted out more of the same. However, following what seems to be a growing trend he consigned a lot of the previous lead characters to near history and swapped things around considerably. It takes guts to play with a winning formula and having found characters and a narrator that got him rave reviews French has not only produced a compelling new lead but swapped sexes which of course does pretty much mean a new narrator too.

There's still lots of what made the first book so great, the 'hoof' is still as bad-ass as it was before and Fetch is certainly no shrinking violet! It's still crude and irreverent, it's still violent and not scared to have characters perform vile acts though I would actually say that this time possibly the crudity went up a notch and possible wore on me just a little as I went through it, not too much but it did get a bit repetitive.

So, very brave, even quite daring from Mr French and I think that he's pulled it off. I wasn't quite so enamored with this one as I was the first one but I'll still be looking in to see where he goes next!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent sequel

I loved the first book and this second book has not let me down. Really cant wait for the third book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Gritty, dark and blunt

It’s like looking across a stark, arid landscape. A world of half-orc versus nature, orcs, men, centaurs...a literal fight each step of the way phenomenon.

It was well-worth every listening second as the storyline went. The narration was well done, with the often dramatised characters.

The narrative never disappoints, with the gritty, dark and blunt dialogue. It lets you know that the setting is a world far away from the comfort of the chair you currently sit in, reading this review. A hard, cruel world, where life means little except to members of your own “hoof”....else you’re used and discarded by the blue bloods - dead or alive.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

French!..You must finish this story.

I totally enjoyed the Grey Bastards and True Bastards was just as entertaining with a brilliant story full of action and mystery. I truly cannot wait to hear how this ends... Does Ruin return to aid his sis? How will Hyspartha respond..cant wait!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing.

Swapping from male to female at the start was a bit weird but Lisa did an amazing job! I loved this book and I am excited to see the series grow more and really hoping for the 3rd to arrive soon!

Live in the saddle, die on the hog!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely fantastic...

A book about half-orcs narrated by a woman didn't sound like it could work. I listened to this book because the first was so good and I understood the change of author as a female character became the principal person in the second book.

Lisa Flanagan had a huge job on her hands, up until now I had only listened to male authors, not for any other reason that the fact that they over populate the fantasy science-fiction genre. Which, based on Lisa Flanagan's performance is a HUGE mistake!!

The biggest obstacle that Lisa Flanagan had to breach was my dislike for American narrators. I have only completed on fiction book read by an American author, of which he did an amazing job, all the others have been non-fiction, so I am not expecting fiction books to come alive and characters to be identifiable by their voice alone.

Lisa Flanagan is an absolutely awesome narrator and I have searched the books she has narrated and chosen four book series to try out. She is in a handful of five authors that I would not want to choose whose best because they all have different qualities and excel at narrating fiction books, they can even make non-fiction books sound exiting.

Lisa Flanagan is capable of an incredible range of voices and delivers a male orcish sounding voice better than many male narrators I have listened to.

The author is also superb, his ability to capture subtle nuances of body language in a sentence is remarkable. I highly recommend both the narrator and the author. What a pairing!!

If you've listened to the first book in the series, this book is a must, you will not be disappointed. If you haven't listened to the first book, start there and you'll know you have another great book to listen to after you've finished the first.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved this!

The 2nd novel of this series! a great edition and I'd say an improvement on the first. Whilst the grey bastards had action and comedy this brings a bigger picture plot line that although less full of thrills is incredibly rewarding.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

voice

hate it when the narrator changes between books, ruins it for me. I think a blokes voice is better for this story as it's mostly male characters and a rough land.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable read

I enjoyed this book, and the narration was excellent, possibly the best that I’ve heard.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great book hopefull there will be more

bit of a struggle at first but stuck with it and glad i did theres a few frustrating moments but thats what makes a story excellent books