Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • The Stolen Letter

  • By: Clara Benson
  • Narrated by: Daphne Kouma
  • Length: 13 hrs and 36 mins
  • 4.2 out of 5 stars (26 ratings)

$0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Stolen Letter cover art

The Stolen Letter

By: Clara Benson
Narrated by: Daphne Kouma
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £18.99

Buy Now for £18.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Girls in the Attic cover art
In Darkness, Look for Stars cover art
The Italian Girl's Secret cover art
Sisters of the Resistance cover art
The German Wife cover art
The Witch's Tree cover art
Resistance cover art
The Secret Letter cover art
The Lion's Den cover art
Last Port of Call cover art
The Lost Diary cover art
The Silence Before Dawn cover art
The Secret Agent cover art
The Viennese Dressmaker cover art
The Secrets of Summerhayes cover art
The Last Restaurant in Paris cover art

Summary

The longer her imprisonment went on, the more she cast her mind back to the stolen hours they had spent together. His love had blown in like an unexpected breath of warm summer air, giving her the promise of life and joy. But now they had been torn apart and she was tormented by the thought that they might never be reunited.

Italy, 1938: When Stella arrives in Florence, it’s love at first sight. She is wowed by the rolling hills dotted with olive trees, the buttermilk villas with shuttered windows and terracotta roofs that glow gloriously in the sunlight. Even the breeze holds the scent of freedom - freedom from England, where the shadow of her past haunted her.

Then there is Ted, an American journalist who is wild and mischievous, with an arrogance bordering on rude. Stella is infuriated by him - but she cannot deny the lure of the danger and excitement he promises.

But there is something dark under the bright surface of this beautiful country, with unspeakable tragedies just around the corner. When the Nazis take control of Italy, Stella and Ted - and whatever dreams the future held for them - are ripped apart. As bombs descend, destroying everything in their wake, there is nothing to do but sit in darkness, praying to see tomorrow.

And it seems that even in Italy, Stella’s past has found her. Somewhere in the winding streets of Florence there is a letter that could change the course of her fate. Unknown to her, it holds a secret with the power to rewrite her past, and everything she has been running away from. But will she live to find it? And with the odds stacked against her, will she ever see Ted again?

This beautifully spun and stirring tale is about the impossible tragedies of war and the miraculous possibilities of love. Fans of Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale, Rhys Bowen’s The Tuscan Child, and The Letter by Kathryn Hughes will be utterly captivated.

©7 Clara Benson (P)2020 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

Love Books? You'll Love Audible.

Transform your day

Transform your day

Replace endless scrolling with endless listening. Chores can be fun.

Listen everywhere

Listen everywhere

You can’t turn pages while you drive—but you can press play.

Carry your entire Library

Carry your entire Library

Your stories go where you go. Audiobooks don’t weigh a thing.

Listen and learn

Listen and learn

Discover stories that can change your mind, your well-being, and your life.

Reach your reading goals

Reach your reading goals

Download titles to listen offline, wherever you are in the world.

Find your niche

Find your niche

WIth thousands of titles to explore, there’s something for everyone.

Try for £0.00 £7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

What listeners say about The Stolen Letter

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Well written with great narration

I’ve read a number of books set in this era and really enjoyed this story. It had a very different backdrop to other WW2 novels which made it less predictable - it even caught me out with a couple of unforeseen twists. Well written with great narration. Was sad to see it end.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Enough of war

The narrator was very good.
I was fascinated by the struggle of Stella and Beatrice but it was too painful at times

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Utter Garbage!

This has got to be the most utterly unbelievable and ludicrous book I have come across for a long time! How on earth are we meant to believe that Stella, the main character is so totally stupid! If she weren't so pathetic there simply wouldn't be a story. And as for promoting this as a WW2 novel.....you have to read at least 3/4 of the book before the war really comes into it. Even a sheltered naive girl in those years would've displayed some common sense . The only worthy place for this book is within the fairytale world of Mills and Boon!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!