Regular price: £14.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

A chilling psychological thriller portraying the disintegration of a relationship down to the deadliest point when murdering your husband suddenly makes perfect sense. A novel perfect for readers of Sophe Hannah, Nicci French, and Barbara Vine.

Todd Gilbert and Jodie Brett are in a bad place in their relationship. They've been together for 28 years, and with no children to worry about there has been little to disrupt their affluent Chicago lifestyle. But there has also been little to hold it together, and beneath the surface lie ever-widening cracks.

He is a committed cheater. She lives and breathes denial. He exists in dual worlds. She likes to settle scores. He decides to play for keeps. She has nothing left to lose. When it becomes clear that their precarious world could disintegrate at any moment, Jodie knows she stands to lose everything. It's only now she will discover just how much she's truly capable of....

©2013 A. S. A. Harrison (P)2013 Headline Digital

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    54
  • 4 Stars
    67
  • 3 Stars
    47
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    8

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    70
  • 4 Stars
    54
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    18
  • 1 Stars
    5

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    49
  • 4 Stars
    53
  • 3 Stars
    44
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    11
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • M
  • Luton, United Kingdom
  • 28-08-13

A real find!

This is the first book I have listened to by this author. It was a real find. Very accomplished writing; believable characters and a very big surprise at the end. Who could ask for more? Having been, quite frankly, disappointed with the offerings from some of the more well known authors, this was a real treat. I am a fan!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not bad....but !

Any additional comments?

For me this was spoiled by the performance. Why an English person with a very posh voice who you can hear swallowing should be reading a book set in America and trying to put on an American accent...didn't do it for me I'm afraid. If you get over the voice the story is quite good but I won't be rushing to buy more from this author. Neither will I be listening to this performer again in a hurry. She would be more suited to a certain type of book requiring a clipped English accent.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Helen
  • WATERLOOVILLE, United Kingdom
  • 09-03-14

Really enjoyable

Where does The Silent Wife rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

I really enjoyed this audio book. It kept me wanting to jump back into my car & drive for longer to hear more of the story (I listen to books whilst driving). It isn't the best I've heard so far, but certainly up near the top.

What was one of the most memorable moments of The Silent Wife?

I really liked the way the chapters alternated between 'Her' & 'Him' - progressing the story from both the main characters viewpoints.

What about Emily Pennant-Rea’s performance did you like?

I really liked Emily's voice. Her speech was clear and easy to understand.

If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

Actions speak louder than words

Any additional comments?

A really enjoyable book.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Awful American accent

Why on earth use an English woman with such an awful American accent? Lovely normal voice but doing the accent just made me cringe. Ended up irritating me so much it took away from the story, which wasn't great to start with.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

disappointed

long winded, poor plot, terrible accents. I thought it would get better, it got worse.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Different .

Enjoyed the book. Different from what I normally listen too. Liked the twist at the end.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A thoughtful read.

There is a good momentum to this book that maintains interest throughout. There is both moral and narrative ambiguity in the plot and the resolution that is strangely satisfying. I would definitely recommend it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Complex characters and beautifully read

What was going on in the minds of the two main characters had me hooked from the start. Story shows how a seemingly ordinary life can get completely out of control. Great listen

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Mark
  • Richmond, United Kingdom
  • 09-10-13

Enjoyable but nothing to shout about.

This starts and continues to be interesting and pleasant enough to keep going but I'm not sure of the ultimate point of it. It's like a beautiful roast dinner with the meat removed.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Awful narration

The narrator speaks very quickly, she constantly swallows. Drove me crazy and I could listen beyond 15 minutes.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 03-01-16

Smart and Entertaining

Good novel. Well written and very cerebral, in terms of the psychological issues that are explored regarding infidelity, personality and the experiences in our pasts that invariably condition us to act out and make the sometimes dysfunctional decisions that we do as humans trying to find our way in life. You can't help but feel empathy for Jodi, and even Todd and the young immature homewrecker, Natasha. My attention was riveted the whole time. Well done A.S.A. Harrison. Kudos also to the narrator. Her voice and expressiveness helped the story to really come alive.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Jane F. Clifton
  • 20-09-14

Gone Girl it ain't

Would you try another book from A. S. A. Harrison and/or Emily Pennant-Rea?

No

Has The Silent Wife turned you off from other books in this genre?

Hard to tell what genre it is.... It's not Crime or Chick Lit. What genre is it?

Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Emily Pennant-Rea?

An American

Any additional comments?

It's a very boring book and I couldn't finish it. Kept waiting for something to HAPPEN! Maybe an American narrator would have brought it to life a bit more. It was so the wrong narrator for the job.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • barbara
  • 24-08-14

Best narration ever ... and a fascinating story

I really enjoyed this book. The narration was perfect - inflections, accents, pronunciation, etc. The concept is that the main characters do not relate to each other in the usual way of a long term couple. It was intriguing and puzzling, and switched between the couple and the husband and mistress smoothly. It flowed well and the language created atmospheres very well.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • MJ
  • 04-02-14

Smooth

Would you consider the audio edition of The Silent Wife to be better than the print version?

I usually stick to one format only - with so many titles waiting to be read/heard and the paucity of time - audio is a best bet.

Who was your favorite character and why?

The protagonist - she is cool and self-composed - with strength of feeling which she manages to conceal almost stoically