Listen free for 30 days

The Secrets You Hide

By: Kate Helm
Narrated by: Emma Powell
Length: 10 hrs and 43 mins
4 out of 5 stars (18 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

In her eyes, no-one is innocent.... 

Georgia Sage has a gift: she can see evil in people. As a courtroom artist she uses her skills to help condemn those who commit terrible crimes. After all, her own brutal past means she knows innocence is even rarer than justice. 

But when she is drawn back into the trial that defined her career, a case of twisted family betrayal, she realises her own reckless pursuit of justice may have helped the guilty go free.

As Georgia gets closer to the truth behind the Fielding family, something happens that threatens not only her career but even her own sanity. At first, she fears her guilt around the events of her terrible childhood is finally coming back to haunt her. 

The truth turns out to be even more terrifying.... 

The Secrets You Hide is an ambitious rocket of a novel. Every layer, every twist, every revelation makes you question the very characters you thought you could trust and rethink a plot you thought you were beginning to unravel. A knockout listen for fans of Clare Mackintosh and Anatomy of a Scandal.

©2018 Kate Helm (P)2018 Bonnier Publishing

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A rich, rewarding novel full of twists, painterly detail and compelling characters

So much more than psychological thriller, The Secrets You Hide is a wonderful example of storytelling, rich with character and a sense of place, with a fascinating and original premise. Perhaps it should come as no surprise therefore, to learn it’s not a novel by a first time author; we may not know the name ‘Kate Helm’ but this is in fact the first in its genre by Kate Harrison, author of the ‘Secret Shopper’ series, as well as the ‘’Soul Beach’ YA trilogy. Some readers (myself included) may also be familiar with her ‘5/2’ series of fasting / healthy eating books.

’The Secrets You Hide’ is like none of these however, it’s the pacy tale of Georgia, a court room artist with a tragic past, who starts to see mysterious figures - initially a small boy - which no one else can and then gets caught up in investigating a series of crimes many miles from her Brighton home in the eerie Forest of Dean. The reason for her ‘second sight’ proves fascinating, and from the outset I was on her side, sympathising with her frustrations and fury.

On audio the book is narrated beautifully with the voiceover adopting different voices for each character, and had me listening at every opportunity - finally finishing it at 2am this morning. I absolutely loved it, and recommend it not just to those who enjoy thrillers but also fans of contemporary fiction who are looking for something a bit different. In this respect the cover - which I like - perhaps doesn’t say as much as it could; this book is more colourful in terms of character and complex in themes than the monotones suggest. But that’s a moot point, I’d just say don’t hesitate to give it a go, and I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

Highly recommended.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • AllyG
  • West Sussex
  • 04-08-19

A great book!

Amazing! Fast paced with twists and turns. Well written and narrated. The story keeps you guessing and wanting more. I highly recommend it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

I got this a an extra in the sale and wow it’s great. Great story and really good narration

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • MO
  • 26-11-18

Something different

I loved this book. Lots of unexpected developments with some brilliantly developed characters. A definite recommended read. The context of the court room artist is not one I’ve Come across before and it was a good one. A well thought through plot that hooked me from the start.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Gave up after a wasted two hours

I thought that I would really enjoy this book. Sadly I gave up after a wasted two hours. The prologue hooked me but from that point the story just seemed obvious and I could already tell what the end was going to be so did not bother to waste any more time.
I did try to return this title but for some reason was unable.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful