Listen free for 30 days

  • The Ration Book Baby

  • A Village at War
  • By: Ellie Curzon
  • Narrated by: Polly Edsell
  • Length: 9 hrs and 21 mins
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (4 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Ration Book Baby cover art

The Ration Book Baby

By: Ellie Curzon
Narrated by: Polly Edsell
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

Nobody's Girl cover art
War Clouds over Blackberry Farm cover art
The Codebreaker Girls cover art
A Christmas Baby at Goodwill House cover art
A Wartime Welcome at Rookery House cover art
The Girls of Bomber Command cover art
The Wartime Bookshop cover art
Christmas with the Engine Girls cover art
The Midwives' War cover art
The Railway Girls cover art
The Lost Orphan cover art
Foxden Acres cover art
The Foyles Bookshop Girls cover art
The Harbour Master's Daughter cover art
The Beekeeper’s War cover art
Wartime with the Cornish Girls cover art

Summary

England, 1940. Opening the box with trembling hands, she couldn’t believe it–a tiny baby lay inside. She gently lifted the newborn as it started to cry. Cradling the little one to her chest, she searched the darkness for any sign of whoever left it here. And as she rocked the child, something fluttered to the ground...a ration book.

Nurse Annie Russell anxiously listens to the terrifying sounds of planes and gunfire overhead, worried about what the morning will bring for the patients in her care. The boys from the local airfield fly up in the skies each night, risking their lives to protect the people of Bramble Heath village, but they can’t stop every bombshell. Until a knock at the door makes her jump.

Awaiting Annie on the doorstep is a hatbox. Peeking under the lid, she gasps–inside is a whimpering newborn, round cheeks glistening with tears. The poor little thing may be all alone, but someone must truly love the baby.... Tucked into a hand-knitted blanket, there’s a precious ration book, vital for food supplies in these darkest of days.

Her heart breaking, Annie does everything she can to care for her tiny charge. But, without a ration book, she knows that the frightened young mother could also be in dire need of help too. Then social services bring devastating news. If Annie can’t find the helpless child’s family soon, the authorities will have to take the little one away.

As the Nazi threat grows, more and more of the brave pilots at the local airbase don’t come home. Is one of the fallen the child’s father? And with her only clue leading nowhere, can Annie find the answers she needs and reunite the innocent baby with its parents before it is too late?

A totally emotional historical novel that will have you listening late into the night. Perfect for fans of Diney Costeloe, Martha Hall Kelly, and Before We Were Yours.

©2023 Ellie Curzon (P)2023 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Ration Book Baby

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good content

Shame the reading is a bit stilted. Interesting content and matched to the 2w history

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

My first audio book

I have no previous experience to compare but this was a good story evocative of the era and I listened to the end. Found the narration strange in places

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Ration book baby

Was slow then sped up slow again nothing to keep entranced. Narration like robotic sorry

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!