Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

'PS: thanks for the murders.'

The death of a 90-year-old woman with a heart condition should absolutely not be suspicious. DS Harbinder Kaur certainly sees nothing to concern her in carer Natalka's account of Peggy Smith's death. 

But when Natalka reveals that Peggy lied about her heart condition and that she had been sure someone was following her...and that Peggy Smith had been a 'murder consultant' who plotted deaths for authors and knew more about murder than anyone has any right to...and when clearing out Peggy's flat ends in Natalka being held at gunpoint by a masked figure...well then DS Harbinder Kaur thinks that maybe there is no such thing as an unsuspicious death after all.

From the sleepy seaside town of Shoreham, to the granite streets of Edinburgh and the shores of Lake Baikal, The Postscript Murders is a literary mystery for fans of Antony Horowitz, Agatha Christie and anyone who's ever wondered just how authors think up such realistic crimes....

PS: trust no one.

©2020 Elly Griffiths (P)2020 Quercus Editions Limited

What listeners say about The Postscript Murders

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    493
  • 4 Stars
    281
  • 3 Stars
    115
  • 2 Stars
    28
  • 1 Stars
    17
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    556
  • 4 Stars
    219
  • 3 Stars
    54
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    7
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    425
  • 4 Stars
    239
  • 3 Stars
    119
  • 2 Stars
    43
  • 1 Stars
    16

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Quirky Cosy Mystery

This second book in the DS Harbinder Kaur series is completely different to the first in the series, The Stranger Diaries, which was one of my top listens of 2019. This is much more of a cosy crime than TSD, which was quite gothic in tone. In fact it is so different that you really don't need to read that to enjoy this one.

The book, set in Shoreham-by-Sea, begins with the death of 90 year old Peggy, who, we soon find out, is a murder consultant. I think that could be my dream job 😅 Peggy's Ukrainian carer, Natalka, believes the death is suspicious and reports her worries to the police. Soon Natalka has joined forces with Peggy's 80 year old neighbour Edwin (a retired, gay BBC producer) and Benedict (an ex monk who runs a seafront coffee shack) to investigate.

It is very well written and excellently plotted with plenty of red herrings and a couple of surprising twists near the end. There is plenty of humour too, often aimed at the crime writing community.

Ellie Griffiths writes excellent characters. I love Harbinder Kaur, a gay Sikh police sergeant in her 30s who still lives with her parents. I love her mum too and the family dynamics. Natalka, Benny and Edwin are all beautifully written and I loved the way these very different characters forged a friendship.

I enjoyed the narration by Nina Wadia.

55 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • CM
  • 06-12-20

I liked this book very much

I had been put off by some off the reviews but decided to take a chance and I am so pleased I did. I really enjoyed this book. It is very different from Elly Griffiths other books . It was quirky and charming but still with great characters. It’s a little homage to golden age detective stories with the amateur sleuth very much to the for front . I would like be to read another book about these characters. It did remind me a bit of Richard Osman’s book “The Thursday Murder Club” it’s also a bit of lockdown escapism and we all need that !

19 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Cosier than expected

I did enjoy the story but I was expecting something darker. The story has a more leisurely, sunday-afternoon feel to it. A good story, and nice characters. Went on a bit too long for me.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Dull

I struggled from the beginning. Dull as dish water, gave up after 24 chapters as nothing seemed to be happening. I love the Ruth Ellis mysteries by elly Griffiths but I just cannot get into this other series of books. I liked the narrator, she is good, just a protracted dull story.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

heading

Not my favourite Elly Griffiths book the characters didn't stand out and I lost interest in the plot.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not as I was expecting

I am a massive fan of Elly Griffiths books but this one just wasn’t, for me, as good as her previous ones.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Best narration of Ellie's work so far

Enjoyed the plot. A bit mundane in places but loved the narration. Credible accents with none of the fake attempts to sound masculine. Each character was identifiable.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

I enjoyed this book very much. The characters are perfect with all their different backgrounds and the storyline is addictive. It was read beautifully. I would like a second book with all the same people in it.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Disappointed by the ending

Very enjoyable and pleasant to listen to - nothing horribly gruesome in the murders but the ending felt as if the plot was, if not lost, became too muddled. It it would be excellent;with a shorter and decisive ending.

I am not recommending this to the five members of my family who,have Audible accounts ☹️

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Death by story.

A fascinating yet gentle tale of death, deduction ,coincidence detection and intrigue that holds the listener fascinated to the end.

2 people found this helpful