Regular price: £12.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

The new witty and warm novel from best-selling author and TV presenter Fern Britton. Perfect for fans of Katie Fforde, Jill Mansell and Trisha Ashley.

Penny Leighton, TV producer and wife of the local vicar Simon Canter, is struggling to cope with motherhood. The couple have had their only child, Jenna, while Penny is in her 40s, and it's been a big shock to her system.

When Simon engages the services of a nanny, Ella, as a way of helping Penny, it serves only to push her further away from him and from Jenna. After Penny's sister arrives in the village after the death of the woman Penny called her mother, it bring memories of her troubled childhood to the surface.

As a distraction she finds herself drawn to the village's new doctor, but he isn't quite the charmer that he seems, as new arrival, Ella, is about to find out. But will all this be too late for Penny, who is about to risk everything?

©2016 Fern Britton (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"This is a light-hearted, fun and easy read…" ( Daily Mail)
"Another ripping good read." ( Good Housekeeping)
"Charming and fun read." ( OK)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    44
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    40
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    38
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely wonderful

I loved it. A lovely escape from my busy life.
Looking forward now to reading the next novel.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The postcard

Beautifully done .perfect for me to listen to by the pool on holiday,
well done Fearn 😊☺

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • S
  • 20-06-16

Thoroughly enjoyed

Found it entertaining. A story that I could relate to sometimes. About complicated family lives.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Amanda
  • Ringwood, United Kingdom
  • 08-05-17

Disappointing

I can only describe this book as "twee". The characters are predictable, with stereotypical names such as Adam for the handsome love interest, and the narrator has a sugary voice . With a different narrator the book would have been slightly more palatable. This is almost in the range of Mills and Boon in my opinion - I had expected more and was disappointed with the book.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

The postcard

Well written and good bed time reading


Thoroughly enjoyed it and well narrated
Can't wait to read the ferns next book





1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Disappointing

All a bit too down in the dumps . Not the usual Fern lighthearted stories. Took a long time together going and abrupt end . If I had been reading the book I probably wouldn't have finished it

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Postcard

An excellent read. This is the first Fern Britten novel I have read, certainly shall be reading more.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Sudden Ending

The story was better than some of her previous books but the ending was as if she couldn't be bothered to write any more

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant!

A lovely easy storyline with nice characters and you become part of their lives, excellent narrative too would thoroughly recommend ideal fir reducing the ironing pile!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

More

It’s one of them stories when you get to the end you want the next episode