Listen free for 30 days

The Plus One

Narrated by: Sophia Money-Coutts
Length: 8 hrs and 21 mins
4.1 out of 5 stars (121 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The Plus One [n] informal a person who accompanies an invited person to a wedding or a reminder of being single, alone and absolutely plus none.

Polly’s not looking for ‘the one’, just the plus one.... 

Polly Spencer is fine. She’s single and turning 30 and managed to have sex only twice last year (both times with a Swedish banker called Fred), but seriously, she’s fine. Even if she’s still stuck at Posh! magazine writing about royal babies and the chances of finding a plus one to her best friend’s summer wedding are looking worryingly slim.

But it’s a New Year, a new leaf and all that. Polly’s determined that over the next 365 days she’ll remember to shave her legs, drink less wine and generally get her s--t together. Her latest piece is on the infamous Jasper, Marquess of Milton, undoubtedly neither a plus one nor ‘the one’. She’s heard the stories; there’s no way she’ll succumb to his charms.... 

A laugh-out-loud, toe-curlingly honest debut for fans of Helen Fielding, Bryony Gordon and Jilly Cooper. 

©2018 Sophia Money-Coutts (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic reviews

"So funny. And the sex is amazing - makes me feel like a nun!" (Jilly Cooper)   

"Perfectly jolly chick-lit...A light, fizzy rom-com to kick back with after a bottle of rosé this summer." (Evening Standard)

"Hilarious and compelling." (Daily Mail)

What listeners say about The Plus One

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    57
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    47
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    8
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    45
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    7

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good old chick lit

I’ve always been willing to read anything S M-C writes because she’s brilliant! Was initially a bit dubious about and author-read audiobook but she did well, you just have to imagine your own Aussie accents. This was so much fun and engaging I finished it in one sitting. Recommend it for a great satirical rom com. Be aware there are some more explicit moments.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Felt like there was a deadline.

Really enjoyed the first 5 hours, but when I realised there were only 3 more hours left to listen too I knew the story wasn't going to be very detailed. Felt like there was a rush to finish it and disappointed after promising story. Wouldn't buy again.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Predictable

I would’ve preferred an actual narrator instead of the author as all the voices were the same, which made it less interesting to listen to overall. The story was really quite predictable, a couple of funny sex scenes, and an easy listen.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

An OK read

I really struggled to make it through this. The premise of the book sounded great, which is the reason I wanted to read it, but I had to force myself to finish. All the characters in this book felt under developed and flat and I really didn't care about a single one of them. Both of Polly's relationships didn't feel believable at all. Especially 'The one' we are just supposed to believe he's her sole mate after one kiss!? They were barely together in the whole of the book, their entire dialogue could probably fit into 10 pages. I really wanted to love this book, but unfortunately it just wasn't for me.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

total chic lit but nicely done

finished this in under a day. easy listen from start to finish. knocked off a star as I think she was good when talking about the primary character but not great with the other. at some point I couldn't tell if it was Polly or the aristocrat talking. and the voice of the avocado last was terrible.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good audiobook / Story okay

I enjoyed the audio book and liked the overall story ark. I don't want to spoil the book for anyone, so I try to keep it vague enough. The reason why I would only give it 3 stars for the story: - the actual love story / realisation of being in love and the build up (were you as a reader start to suspect it) was cut way too short. - the ending itself was too rushed, elements didn't really make sense to happen the way they did and reminded me of movies that cut like half the plot - there were some character types were a bit off (e.g. a middle eastern sheikh who had studied in the US but then couldn't say the word "questions" correct or remember his dog's breed is "labrador") overall a nice book, I think it would make for a great romcom movie if there would be more "build up interactions" between the couple

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love love love

Totally amazing book I read it every other month! Amazing book can’t wait for the next

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Missing some depth

Story about a single millennial journalist, who faces the struggle of finding a plus one to her friends wedding. Felt like the story lacked some depth, it was more like reading a movie than a book. The storyline that centers around her relationship with her mom, is the best part of the book. The main storyline isn’t all that.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Read it twice

Brilliant story. I read this book after reading what's next by the same author and this story didn't disappoint. Fun, exciting and enjoyable. I have already pre order the Sophia Money-Coutts new book coming in August.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Should never be narrated by the writer

The book was a real easy listen. Good holiday chick lit. However, as many of the other reviews mentioned - the narration is in all the same voice. It makes it hard to keep interested or to realise who is speaking. She could have given a fair few accents a go. Northern, French, Italian, Russian ect but nothing. All in the same fairly stuck up voice. Good story. Probably don’t listen in the car or with your mom around.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Brooke Zamora
  • Brooke Zamora
  • 29-06-19

Story fell flat

🚨SPOILER ALERT🚨 I felt like the story never really developed relationships with anyone other than her mom. Not that that’s really an issue but she is supposedly in a relationship with this guy for 90% of the book and he is only in the book a few scenes and no relationship development. Then they don’t end up together and the guy she does end up with is in the book even less!!! They are only together for 5 minutes of the whole book!!! Not my favorite book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rochelle
  • Rochelle
  • 18-10-20

Terrible narrator

A book with a lot of promise but with such a terrible narrator i couldn’t get past a few chapters.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Todd Reifschneider
  • Todd Reifschneider
  • 11-06-20

Excellent

Hilarious and a fun read! I could not stop listening to this book. Cannot wait to read more of her books.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sarah Doody
  • Sarah Doody
  • 13-02-20

An Absolute, Addictive Joy

This is a great audiobook! I had heard about it through a podcast I love called millennial love. So, it had been on my list for a while. But, I finally tucked into it on a long drive to Memphis and back, and I couldn’t have asked for a more fun and addictive listen! Well done Sophia! So excited to read/listen to your other books!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ML Hill
  • ML Hill
  • 10-09-19

Great Performance!

Story was great, just the kind of rom-com stuff I love. And the author who read it was great. So enjoyable and funny.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for FibonacciTurtle
  • FibonacciTurtle
  • 02-07-19

great book about the modern dating sceen

this book captures all of the different scenarios women go through when trying to find our mr. right.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christina W.
  • Christina W.
  • 12-06-19

Fun but I felt it was lacking

The book was a fun, quick listen, don't get me wrong, it just seemed like the ending was rushed. so what happened to Jasper, why the quick ending with the best friend. I just wanted a little more of what really happened with the Jasper thing and more ease into the ending. otherwise, definitely a cute read.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mark
  • Mark
  • 23-11-18

this book was just ok

It story in the beginning was interesting but the ending of the story seemed like she was rushing and left a lot of questions.