Listen free for 30 days

The Plus One

Narrated by: Sophia Money-Coutts
Length: 8 hrs and 21 mins
4 out of 5 stars (82 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The Plus One [n] informal a person who accompanies an invited person to a wedding or a reminder of being single, alone and absolutely plus none.

Polly’s not looking for ‘the one’, just the plus one.... 

Polly Spencer is fine. She’s single and turning 30 and managed to have sex only twice last year (both times with a Swedish banker called Fred), but seriously, she’s fine. Even if she’s still stuck at Posh! magazine writing about royal babies and the chances of finding a plus one to her best friend’s summer wedding are looking worryingly slim.

But it’s a New Year, a new leaf and all that. Polly’s determined that over the next 365 days she’ll remember to shave her legs, drink less wine and generally get her s--t together. Her latest piece is on the infamous Jasper, Marquess of Milton, undoubtedly neither a plus one nor ‘the one’. She’s heard the stories; there’s no way she’ll succumb to his charms.... 

A laugh-out-loud, toe-curlingly honest debut for fans of Helen Fielding, Bryony Gordon and Jilly Cooper. Don’t miss the hottest book of 2018!

©2018 Sophia Money-Coutts (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic reviews

"So funny. And the sex is amazing - makes me feel like a nun!" (Jilly Cooper)   

More from the same

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    38
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    4

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    4
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good old chick lit

I’ve always been willing to read anything S M-C writes because she’s brilliant! Was initially a bit dubious about and author-read audiobook but she did well, you just have to imagine your own Aussie accents. This was so much fun and engaging I finished it in one sitting. Recommend it for a great satirical rom com. Be aware there are some more explicit moments.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Felt like there was a deadline.

Really enjoyed the first 5 hours, but when I realised there were only 3 more hours left to listen too I knew the story wasn't going to be very detailed. Felt like there was a rush to finish it and disappointed after promising story. Wouldn't buy again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Predictable

I would’ve preferred an actual narrator instead of the author as all the voices were the same, which made it less interesting to listen to overall. The story was really quite predictable, a couple of funny sex scenes, and an easy listen.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

total chic lit but nicely done

finished this in under a day. easy listen from start to finish. knocked off a star as I think she was good when talking about the primary character but not great with the other. at some point I couldn't tell if it was Polly or the aristocrat talking. and the voice of the avocado last was terrible.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!!

Really enjoyed this book. Really hope there is a follow on so I can find out more!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

An OK read

I really struggled to make it through this. The premise of the book sounded great, which is the reason I wanted to read it, but I had to force myself to finish.
All the characters in this book felt under developed and flat and I really didn't care about a single one of them.
Both of Polly's relationships didn't feel believable at all. Especially 'The one' we are just supposed to believe he's her sole mate after one kiss!? They were barely together in the whole of the book, their entire dialogue could probably fit into 10 pages.
I really wanted to love this book, but unfortunately it just wasn't for me.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disappointing and a bit icky

I dont see the point of this story at all, modeled on the Bridget Jones blueprint but without the actual laughs. In place of funny, real life observations there was cliche pastiche and offensive prejudice from the man with thick glasses which according to the author translates to 'ugly not datable'. Why? Because he wears glasses? The there is the sheik with gold everything in his house including toilet seats. He's educated in America and is a billionaire with connections in the business world but apparently cannot say simply English words. Then we have a sorry cast of crazy eccentric aristocrats, snide drunken toffs, stupid ricj women and an old couple straight out of 1930s.
But what was really disappointing is the icky clumsy sex. It wasn't funny and it didn't move the story forward just left a nasty taste in my mouth (and the heroine's mouth. literally)

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a story

fab book. so relatable. Will definitely recommend to all adults who live real life books

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very Very funny !

A romp through the dating scenes of social classes intermingling !
Broad comedy and lots of laughs beneath which lie the usual time honoured truths
of love and romance. A day brightener !

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ML Hill
  • ML Hill
  • 10-09-19

Great Performance!

Story was great, just the kind of rom-com stuff I love. And the author who read it was great. So enjoyable and funny.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for FibonacciTurtle
  • FibonacciTurtle
  • 02-07-19

great book about the modern dating sceen

this book captures all of the different scenarios women go through when trying to find our mr. right.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Brooke Zamora
  • Brooke Zamora
  • 29-06-19

Story fell flat

🚨SPOILER ALERT🚨
I felt like the story never really developed relationships with anyone other than her mom. Not that that’s really an issue but she is supposedly in a relationship with this guy for 90% of the book and he is only in the book a few scenes and no relationship development. Then they don’t end up together and the guy she does end up with is in the book even less!!!
They are only together for 5 minutes of the whole book!!! Not my favorite book.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christina Wilson
  • Christina Wilson
  • 12-06-19

Fun but I felt it was lacking

The book was a fun, quick listen, don't get me wrong, it just seemed like the ending was rushed. so what happened to Jasper, why the quick ending with the best friend. I just wanted a little more of what really happened with the Jasper thing and more ease into the ending. otherwise, definitely a cute read.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mark
  • Mark
  • 23-11-18

this book was just ok

It story in the beginning was interesting but the ending of the story seemed like she was rushing and left a lot of questions.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful