Listen free for 30 days

The Perfect Lie

Narrated by: Imogen Church
Length: 9 hrs and 53 mins
4 out of 5 stars (31 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The latest heart-racing psychological thriller from the author of the best-selling The Good Mother. Perfect for fans of Lucy Clarke, Paula Hawkins and Lisa Jewell.

Claire Carmichael leads a charmed life. She has two beautiful sons, Jamie and Joshua, and a handsome and successful husband who loves her. Even when she was in school, Claire had it all. She was clever, likeable, and after passing the initiation tests, she was welcomed into the society of popular girls - the Queen Bees. So when a scandal threatened to ruin Claire's reputation, the Queen Bees closed rank to protect her, no matter who else got hurt. Claire may have moved on from her school days, but for one person who she hurt irreparably, those memories are as fresh as blood. And all it takes to reap their revenge, is one perfect lie.

©2019 Karen Osman (P)2019 W. F. Howes Ltd

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • M
  • 05-10-19

NARRATION

Narration excellent for radio, for earphones too intense and harsh. Voices were irritating and the high pitched "Hi's" screeched by female characters blasted the eardrums. I would have returned this audiobook but for this gripping story of revenge.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

My favorite narrator!

Great story, however Imogen Church makes it fantastic to listen to. I would highly recommend it.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Elaborate plot

Present day and past tense intertwine to develop the story of Claire as a lawyer and mother, and Claire as a teenager, all coming together in the final pages.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Started great....

A great performance by Imogen Church can't save this story. It starts well, very intriguing...but by the end, I think it got convoluted and cliché. The idea of the 2 main characters and their teenage romance is great, but as the story continues.... it lacks sense and credibility. The characters drift too far off course and the background support aren't very well developed. When the bad thing happens, I can't believe that not one person stood up for the "victim". I finished this with weariness.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Predictable and irritating

The story was predictable and pretty boring and the narrator was unusually very irritating. I like Imogen Church usually but I stopped listening a few times because her narration was exaggerated and annoying. Tempted to skip to the end as most of the story was unnecessary

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

I loved listening to this book. Usually an audible will last me 2 weeks but this lasted only 4 days as I couldn't stop listening. Well written and great narrator.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Stretches credibility a little too far ... and questionable judgement in the choice of main theme?

At time annoying in its meandering teenage diary entries. Lots of stock characters acting out predictable parts. A bit dull overall. More worrying...... In the current contexts of debate around the effectiveness of the legal system, I’m left wondering at the authors decisions to present two examples of women lying about rape allegations with quite different motivations.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jenn
  • Jenn
  • 29-09-19

Ok but predictable


I was somewhat entertained by the story, there were a few parts where I lost interest as I found it very predictable. It is one of those books where you go on because you want to see how the author will make events unfold — to see if perhaps any unique twists will tossed in. The character development could’ve been stronger, especially the relationship between the main character and her husband so all of the details and certain parts of the book could’ve made more sense and be more impactful. Essentially, this book is about a woman called Claire who is a 43-year-old mother with a 5-year-old son, Jaime, and another son, Joshua, who is almost 17-years-old and she has been with her husband since high school. The plot goes back and forth from present day to her high school years when she joined a popular group of girls that called themselves the “Queen Bees” which involved being selected/nominated and inducted into the circle. Part of the induction required the nominee to perform a task/dare that is randomly selected i.e. walk into the teacher lounge and scream “FIRE” or go on a date with a specific person and kiss them etc. Present day, Claire is a solicitor/lawyer partner in a practice that she started with her best friend but took several years off to raise her youngest son. Once Jaime was old enough to start school, Claire goes back to work full-time and then things seemingly start to go downhill in her home life. Things that happened during her “Queen Bee” days slowly start to come into play. Traits and descriptions of main characters had a very weak link between their past and present so as I briefly mentioned, the development of their personalities didn’t propel the plot enough for me. Overall, I would not recommend this book but if it is already in your cart and you are right about to get it, I wouldn’t stop you per se, just so you can make your own assessment.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Debbie De
  • Debbie De
  • 24-01-20

What goes around comes around eventually

You find you want feel sorry for female main chacter Claire at 1st glance and then you think about Paul and how one incident of boyhood growing pains turn into a life of hell for him and one of privileged for Claire & Chris and you come to your sence and say "What the hell what is good for the Gander is also good for the goose.....

D.A Simms official review

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Susan
  • Susan
  • 19-12-19

Just a great plot!

I loved the intrigue of this plot! I could not put the book down. Fast paced and interesting all through. Kind of an abrupt end!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Wendy Michelle Dixon
  • Wendy Michelle Dixon
  • 28-01-20

Couldn't wait to listen but also didn't want it to

Couldn't wait to listen every day but also didn't want it to end. Loved the story and narrator.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bibliophile
  • Bibliophile
  • 22-01-20

Even better than “The Home.”

An intricately layered domestic drama, with complex characters, and narrated by Imogen Church; what more could you ask for? I would not call it a psychological thriller, though it is packed with tension and dark suspense.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lisa
  • lisa
  • 11-10-19

truly remarkable

Its Amazing how such a small period of time( high school) can have such a big impact on a person's life! Thoroughly enjoyed the characters, the narrator, and the story line.

1 person found this helpful