Listen free for 30 days

The Other Woman

Narrated by: Karen Cass
Length: 9 hrs and 31 mins
3.5 out of 5 stars (49 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

She has it all. How far would she go to keep it?

A breathtakingly tense thriller from the author of The Wrong Girl, about one woman's determination to defend what's hers - and how quickly a straightforward plan can spiral out of control.

Perfect for fans of Katerina Diamond's The Secret and Fiona Barton's The Widow.

Shortly after Christmas, a message arrives at Sophie's house, scrawled across her own round robin newsletter: 'He's going to leave you. Let's see how smug you are then, you stupid bitch.'

Perhaps she should ignore it, but she ignored the last one. And the one before that. Now it's time to take action. But when a simple plan to identify and confront the other woman goes drastically and violently wrong, Sophie must go to extreme lengths to keep her life and her family together - while never letting on about her devastating secret.

©2017 Laura Wilson (P)2017 WF Howes Ltd

Critic reviews

"Thoughtful, scary and true, this is reminiscent of Barbara Vine at her best." ( Mail on Sunday on The Wrong Girl)

What listeners say about The Other Woman

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    10
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    6
Story
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    11

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Wordy tale of superficial, rich folk!

This is the story a family from the shooting set who send their children to schools costing £40,000 a year. None of the characters are at all sympathetic. The only one I warmed to was lovely Dexter, a long suffering Labrador. It is described by the publisher as 'a breathtakingly tense thriller'. It isn't. Essentially (avoiding spoilers) a crime is committed because the wife is afraid of losing her creature comforts and money if her husband leaves her for his bit on the side. It's written in the style of an old fashioned thriller with lots of farce. Not for me at all. I will be returning it.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A good yarn!

The publisher's description of the book as a breathtakingly tense thriller I think, is inaccurate, as others reviewing it have already said. Also, it is not comparable to the superb The Widow, so if you expect something like that, you will be disappointed. However, it really is a ripping good yarn, with farcical overtones & it certainly made me smile!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

The Worst Story Ever

I had to listen until the end, but I fast forwarded the majority. It was ludicrous. All the characters were utterly hate able. Even the kids were loathsome. The actual actual worst. Save yourselves the bother.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Utter rubbish!

Boring! Nothing to it.. don't waste your time .
Utter rubbish.. I returned the book. Bridget

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Unimpressed

I was really hoping that this book would live up to the hype it had. Unfortunately as much as I found. The characterisation really good, and the pace was great, the story itself was ridiculous and unbelievable with a really unsatisfactory ending.

It’s very easy to read, and draws you in, but there are only so many ways someone can say it think my husband is cheating on me’ before it gets a bit tedious.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ok
  • 20-05-19

brilliant

loved it . continuing comedy of errors that would make an amazing film . read in a flash

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • kj
  • 01-05-19

A comedy not a thriller!

Very disappointed. A comedy about a murder more like a farce then a psychological thriller with stupid annoying coincidences which constantly stop the murderer getting found out - well she might have been at the end for all I know as I gave up half way through. If you want an EXCITING thriller - don't listen to this.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

I think all the class warrior reviewers (suspicious amount of coordinated one stars) should get over it, I thought it was an excellent yarn.....if you want gritty kitchen sink dramas I am sure there plenty of dirgy books catering for that genre. Yes it is a tale about 'rich folk' with first world problems but I can assure you they are out there but I thought it was entertaining and a good read. Laura Wilson normally tends toward detective type books but this worked well.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unputdownable!!!!!

Weekend spent with earplugs in. What a fabulous listen. Great story. Would make superb tv program 👍

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

fantastic listen

Absolutely loved this book. Karen cass was a brilliant narrator. The story had so much humour in it that had me laughing out loud. lots of twists I didn't see coming. fantastic listen.