Listen free for 30 days

The Occupation

Narrated by: Stevie Zimmerman
Length: 9 hrs and 13 mins
5 out of 5 stars (4 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A pause-resisting historical saga that will pull at your heartstrings! For fans of Freda Lightfoot, Pam Jenoff, Sebastian Faulks, and Kate Atkinson.

One woman’s secret war against the Nazis. One man’s war against himself.

1940, Jersey. When Nazi forces occupy Jersey in the English Channel Islands, Céline Huber, who is married to a German, must decide where her loyalty lies. Love for her island and fear for her Jewish friend Rachel soon propel her into a dangerous double life.

Meanwhile, Céline’s husband Fred is conscripted into the Wehrmacht in occupied France. Horrified by Nazi acts of atrocity and torture, he soon becomes a double agent for the French Resistance. But when things go wrong, and his Nazi masters discover his true allegiance, he finds he has the whole of the German Army on his tail.

How far will Céline go for her best friend? Will Fred make his way home to her? Or, will their lives be changed forever by the brutality of war?

The Occupation is a moving war and military saga following the separate stories of a young man and woman through the years of the Second World War as they fight to survive.

©2019 Sapere Books (P)2020 Deborah Swift

What listeners say about The Occupation

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent!

Deborah Swift paints pictures with words, revealing the brutality of war on ordinary people in brilliant Technicolor. Highly recommended!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for paula wright
  • paula wright
  • 24-08-20

What a great book

This audio book kept my interest from beginning to the end Ms Swift even made for interesting listening in a Nazi basic training camp. It moved along quickly not dwelling on boring details. I loved her main characters. She showed where blind allegiance led to death and destruction. Her book had a very interesting story to tell but some of the details of mans cruelty to man was hard to bear. One of the best books ive listened to all of 2020. Will read more from ms. Swift

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Barbi
  • Barbi
  • 22-07-20

Good read with many heros

Good read. Not a lot of intellectual depth. I love a good hero. This book had many. Thank you for the opportunity to read "I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.”

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Shoppermom
  • Shoppermom
  • 19-07-20

Harsh story of a brutal time

Do not start this book expecting a gentle WWII story. Horrible things happened during the war, and horrible things happen to the characters in this book. But Ms. Swift does an exemplary job of detailing the ins and outs of daily life during the German occupation of the Jersey Islands and explores the relatively little touched-upon perspective of a German citizen forced to return from abroad to serve the Reich. My attention was riveted throughout, though I cannot say I "enjoyed" the book. Now that I've finished and gone on to other stories, I find my thoughts returning to Céline, Fred, and Rachel. I requested and was gifted a complimentary copy of this audiobook from the author and am very grateful to have experienced The Occupation. I recommend it heartily, but be aware that it will not be a light, pleasant read or listen.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for KateB
  • KateB
  • 05-07-20

This book suck me in

I’ve just finished listening to this heartbreaking story and I can’t get it out of my mind. It pulled me in with Stevie Zimmerman poignant narration. I had read a lot of books about WW 2 but never did I consider the fate of Jersey. The plot and characters were masterfully developed, inner thoughts and struggles of Celine, Fred, Rachel gave their characters more depth, enhanced by the narrator‘a talent, I especially enjoyed her rendition of French and German accents. The book’s realistic description of life in occupied countries and complex characters facing very difficult decisions made me feel very strong emotional connection to them. Beautiful prose and flawless narration made me cry many times. Highly recommended.