Listen free for 30 days

The Mother I Could Have Been

Narrated by: Emma Spurgin Hussey
Length: 8 hrs and 3 mins
Categories: Fiction, Literary
5 out of 5 stars (41 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Why would you walk away from the one person you can’t live without?  

As a child, Vicky Hall never had the sort of family she wanted. The least important person in her new step-family, ignored by her mother in favour of her two younger half siblings, Vicky was always an afterthought. Sitting alone at her graduation ceremony at the age of 21, she vows to create her own family and her own life, one which is full of the love and attention she has always craved.  

When Vicky meets William and falls pregnant in Greece that summer, it isn’t planned. But the two of them believe they can make it work, showering their child with the love which they believe should be enough.  

But when her son Theo is two, Vicky leaves him in the care of her mother-in-law, walks out of her front door and drives to a hotel where she takes a room for the night. She doesn’t return.  

It’s unthinkable.  

What kind of mother does that?  

The kind who is hiding a story you can never imagine.  

The Mother I Could Have Been is a heartbreaking story of impossible decisions and second chances, from the best-selling author of The Silent Wife and The Woman I Was Before. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Liane Moriarty and Diane Chamberlain.

©2019 Kerry Fisher (P)2019 Audible, Ltd

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I absolutely loved this book

Kerry tackles the underlying jealous and envy between women. Amazingly well written. Read this book
You need bravery to read about how ruthless women can be to each other
I could not stop listening
Bravo Kerry

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

My Favourite Kerry Fisher yet!

I absolutely adored this story, literally couldn’t stop listening to find out what happened next. It explores the difficult relationship that can occur between mother and daughter and how difficult becoming a mother can be. 2 subjects that many will relate to.

To top it off - Emma Spurgin Hussey narrating again, who is fantastic. I wish there were more books with her narrating.

Hope we’re not waiting too long for the next book??

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A book I wish I’d read years ago

A very real,poignant glimpse into the world of love, hurt and relationships. I loved the storyline, the narrator was perfect for this book. I was quite gripped with emotion and eventually understanding of myself through the many aspects of Vicky life. Absolutely brilliant writing, a lesson to us all; life is too short. Also loved the characters but I’m not sure I could be so forgiving of my husbands behaviour.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

Another great listen. Brilliant narrator. Highly recommend. Instantly hooked and unable to put this down.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

Wow what an amazing book, listened within just one day as could just not ‘put it down’
I was sceptical about the whole mother child story thing as thought it might be a bit sugary and sweet which I’m not generally a fan of: but I’m so glad I listened as it was so so good. I feel like I’ve had a days worth of counselling that I didn’t even know I needed. Such an interesting story and such clever insight into relationships and people’s thought processes.
Highly recommend- even to jaded folk like I can be.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rachel
  • Rachel
  • 16-01-20

I don't normally writte reviews but this book was to good not to

Fabulously written, kept me entertained and drawn into each character. A few unexpected twists threw me, just like in real life. I held back tears during a massage but sure they would have flowed had I been on my own. I felt sad when the book had ended so next stop is to look up other books by Kerry Fisher. I loved the narrator also. It is so hard to find a Narrator that you actually like but I could listen very happily to Emma Spurgin Hussey.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for nancy
  • nancy
  • 14-01-20

A lesson learned

Its a good book with a solid messages! Some times things are not what they seem. It's very easy to judge our parents until we find ourselves in the same shoes. I generally liked the story but found it difficult how the level of introjection both Clara and Vicky experienced and how far they would go to self destruct to please outside forces. I don't know if its just my personality but as a mother of four Three adult daughters I would find it very hard to make the same conclusions these two characters did. It seems that this is a less current time because women are raised a little more self empowered in current times.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 09-01-20

Words fail to express my joy at having found this

This is such a well written and compelling story. Every mother should read this. Every daughter should read it as well. Walking in the shoes of someone else. And worse yet, the shoes of someone whose blood you share. This book does a great job at showing the many sides of love and family.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tracie Reese
  • Tracie Reese
  • 29-12-19

I Love this book

I have listened to most of Kerry Fisher's books. But this one has got to be my favorite, I really enjoyed the narrator as well. It's a must! You will not be disappointed.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 27-12-19

Heart touching.

Touched my heart as a mother and as a daughter. Although my own family did not have these particular problems, I can identify with the feelings of inadequacy, both as a mother and as a daughter.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Joanne Tailele
  • Joanne Tailele
  • 17-12-19

Mothers are strange creatures

Stories about motherhood always fascinates me. First because I am one, and a flawed one at that. This is an amazing story about several different mothers and how differently they chose to handle this daunting task. I especially related to Vickie. Kerry has scored another 10 on this book. I laughed out loud, I cried unashamedly . Bravo. Can’t wait for her next book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amanda Suchy
  • Amanda Suchy
  • 09-12-19

Touching

Great book for mothers. very moving. I love how it touches so much on a mothers love.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for morgan
  • morgan
  • 24-11-19

Yet another solid book from Fisher

I have read all of Kerry Fishers books and not once have I completed any and did not feel like I had been reached. The characters are so very human, so relatable. I have gotten mad at them, been sad with them, and felt joy at their accomplishments. This is one of my favorites by Fisher , but each book is so raw and unique in its own story that it’s hard to compare them. If you’re skeptical about purchasing, just trust me. I read and listen to 5 -10 books a month and rarely feel compelled to review. As for the narration. Spurgen-Hussey was made for these novels. I love the British accent and the way she wears the emotions in this book perfectly. Her voice paints the picture with an infallible accuracy.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Schrodingersdeadcat
  • Schrodingersdeadcat
  • 24-11-19

This author...

She never writes a! Bad book. Wonderful narration wonderful book. As someone who has estranged family, I was touched. I'll have no idea how to reach out so I understood Vicki's dilemma. Recommended!