Listen free for 30 days

The Missing Letters of Mrs Bright

Narrated by: Marian Hussey
Length: 9 hrs and 54 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (24 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Sometimes it takes losing something to see where you truly belong.

For the past 29 years, Kay Bright’s days have had a familiar rhythm: she works in her husband’s stationery shop hoping to finally sell the legendary gold pen, cooks for her family, tries to remember to practice yoga, and every other month she writes to her best friend, Ursula. Kay could set her calendar by their letters: her heart lifts when the blue airmail envelope, addressed in Ursula’s slanting handwriting, falls gently onto the mat. 

But now Ursula has stopped writing and everything is a little bit worse. 

Ursula is the only one who knows Kay’s deepest secret, something that happened decades ago that could tear Kay’s life apart today. She has always been the person Kay relies on. 

Worried, Kay gets out her shoebox of Ursula’s letters and as she reads, her unease starts to grow. And then at 10 o’clock in the morning, Kay walks out of her yellow front door with just a rucksack, leaving her wedding ring on the table....

This emotional and heart-warming novel is for anyone who knows it’s never too late to look for happiness. Fans of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine, A Man Called Ove, and The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry will fall in love with this feel-good and moving story that shows you that the best friendships truly last forever.

©2020 Beth Miller (P)2019 Bookouture

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it, loved it, loved it!!!

I typically listen to and read psychological thrillers, so this is very different for me. I absolutely loved every single minute of this book, I didnt want it to end. I even turned it off with ten minutes to go, just to savour the end.
A story of life, love, separation and seizing thr day!!
I loved the storyline and absolutely loved the narrator. An easy 5 stars for me.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A heartwarming and inspiring story

A heartwarming & inspiring story of love, friendship and dreams. I particularly liked how realistic & believable were. An easy & enjoyable read.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love, love, love this! ❤️

This is easily one of the best audio books I have listened to in a while - and I have listened to many! Such a feel good story with the right balance of happiness and sadness. Follows the life of a lady called Kay. Loved the main character and her daughter. The narrator brilliantly brought each character to life. The characters were well developed and very relatable. Listened to this within a few days! I will definitely look out for more from this author! 10/10! 👍🏻

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Captivating!

What a lovely heartbreaking, heartwarming story! Books like this are the reason I sometimes stray from my preferred crime thriller genre.

The story is beautifully told with so much warmth and humour, and had me laughing one minute and crying the next. It is a story of love and loss, marriage and divorce, friendship ,forgiveness and taking chances. The book is told from the POVs of Kay and her daughter, Stella. I could totally relate to Kay, having found myself in a similar position in my 40s when I walked away from what most people thought was a happy marriage. I didn’t end up in Australia or Venice though!

The audiobook is perfectly narrated by Marian Hussey.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • TG
  • 20-01-20

Keeps it real

I really enjoyed this book. The characters were all likeable, well mostly, and it followed a realistic story arc with honesty and some humour. Very enjoyable listen and I will miss some of the main characters.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A very well written journey through Kay’s life. Makes you laugh and cry!

A journey into the past, a time of confusion and change in the present and a glimpse into the future life of Kay, her friends and family. A reminder to us all that time is limited and to make the most of each day as it goes by. I found this to be a very well written book by Beth Miller. The story alway moving forward, although revealing events from the past . Tightly plotted and well delivered by Marian Hussey. It is nowhere my usual genre but I can appreciate that it will be a wonderful listen for those who enjoy this style of writing.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A look at relationships and new beginnings

A gentle, touching and moving look at relationships with family and friends. I found this particularly interesting as it was exploring these relationships at different stages of life: Kay making a momentous decision in leaving her husband in later life to explore what she might have been missing and also to discover a mystery about her friend Bear; and this is contrasted with her daughter Stella's reactions to this departure as she assesses her own situation and life choices. It poses lots of questions that would be interesting to discuss [a good book club read] and I found it an engaging listen.
The audio version had great narration and this drew you into the story - well worth a read or listen!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Heartwarming

A story of friendships and family and how our decisions can affect everyone around us. Kay makes the momentous decision to walk out of her marriage, to see her friend Ursula and complete some of the dreams she had years ago. Her family don't understand what has changed and why, but this heart warming story brings together all the pieces of Kay's life both past and present. With a good narrator, you find yourself involved in both Kay's and her daughter Stella's story and their new beginnings.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A joy to read

What a lovely, simple and beautifully told story! Made me laugh and cry and left me with a warm glow.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Undervalued and fed up - great listen!

We've all felt like Kay, undervalued and fed up with life. One day, she decides to leave her husband and go off to find her friend, Bear, who lives in Australia and who they have written to in alternate months since Bear left nearly 30 years ago.

What follows is a wonderful tale of marriage, friendship and love. The story it told by multiple narrators - Kay, Bear and her daughter Stella and each story was interesting and wove together really well.

I'm not a fan of predictable 'chick lit' and was concerned this book might fall into this category. However, I was pleased to find this book quirky, full of interesting characters with twists and turns.

I listened to the audio which was outstanding.

4.5 *

I'll be looking out for more books by Miller.