Listen free for 30 days

The Maid's Room

Narrated by: Julie Teal
Length: 9 hrs and 32 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (11 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

For fans of The Help and The Invention of Wings, a searing and sweeping debut novel that gives a new and unforgettable perspective on modern-day domestic workers.

Set in the blistering heat of Singapore, The Maid's Room follows the lives of two Filipina maids - sisters Dolly and Tala - who are working hard to send money back home and British expat Jules, who has left her job as a midwife to move to Singapore with husband David.

Told with humour, filled with heartbreaking detail about daily life as a maid and with an exhilarating spirit that is ultimately uplifting, this book will resonate with anyone who has struggled to have their voice heard.

©2017 Fiona Mitchell (P)2017 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Insight into Maids’ lives in Singapore

Very enjoyable story but the narrator’s accents were terrible and marred the overall performance and enjoyment of the book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping and moving; I didn't want it to end.

Would you consider the audio edition of The Maid's Room to be better than the print version?

Julie Teal reads the book with good expression, and she helps us to experience the different characters (with their variable accents and intonations) very well.

What other book might you compare The Maid's Room to, and why?

Many might compare this book to 'The Help', as an exposé of the plight of the domestic worker, though 'The Maid's Room' is in a league of its own.

Which scene did you most enjoy?

That's a tough choice to make, as I felt engaged with the characters by the end of the first chapter. Though if I had to make a choice, the final scenes were very gratifying.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes, I couldn't put it down and wanted it to keep on going. Fingers crossed for a sequel!

Any additional comments?

What's most moving about this book is that it's based on the author's experience of life in Singapore and the real life plight of the maids she met there, whose stories are bravely reflected in these pages.