Listen free for 30 days

The Lowdown

Dale Conley Action Thrillers Series, Book 3
Narrated by: Adam Verner
Length: 6 hrs and 22 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (3 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The next audiobook in the action-packed series of stand-alone thrillers.

A secret society steps out of the shadows - with murder on its mind....

Dale Conley is under pressure. His boss, his partner, the media - they all want answers. The bodies are piling up.

As he investigates a wave of race-related poisonings sweeping through New Orleans, Dale discovers the murders are the work of a mysterious organization that aims to create a new slaveholding nation.

It’s a group so powerful that it was a major factor in the Civil War. It’s a group so secretive that it’s erased itself from history books for 100 years.

But as Dale continues to pressure them, their secret is out. Now, Dale has one chance to stop the villains before they disappear back into the shadows forever.

The Lowdown is the third audiobook in the Dale Conley Action Thrillers series.

If you like fast-paced action, sinister conspiracies, and loads of humor, then you’ll love this pause-resisting series, perfect for fans of Lee Child and Dan Brown and for fans of Indiana Jones and James Bond movies.

Unlock The Lowdown to begin the Dale Conley adventure today!

©2018 Erik Carter (P)2018 Erik Carter

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

The Spectre of Death is in handcuffs.

New Orleans, and drug users are being poisoned, some become ill slowly, some almost immediately convulse and die. All of them are black. A dealer calling himself Jesse James seems implicated and Special Agent Dale Conley, together with his friend and sometimes partner, the gum chewing Percy Gordon, are looking for him. What they find is the racially motivated secret society, The Knights of the Golden Circle.

The Lowdown, is book three in Erik Carter's quirky series about Dale Conley, an agent working for the Bureau of Esoteric Investigations. Which means he gets the really odd cases. And this one has it's roots back in 1861 and the beginnings of the Civil War. Completely stand-alone, like it's two predecessors, there is both plenty of action as well as curious ideas.
Characterisation is excellent, especially of Dale himself, who is superficially flippant, sarcastic and sometimes immature, but these are mostly part of the armour he needs to protect himself in his difficult work. In this volume, Dale begins, just a little, to grow to greater maturity. Narrator, Adam Verner again captures his personality well and also breathes additional life into the other protagonists with individual voicings. His is a pleasant, well paced presentation although there is just a tad too much whimsy in the timbre of his reading at times. But this is occasional and in no way diminishes his very accomplished performance.

I was fortunate in being freely gifted a complimentary copy of The Lowdown, at my request, from the rights holder, via Audiobook Boom. Thank you. Whilst I did not find the story as satisfying as that in the earlier books, it was nevertheless a very enjoyable thriller with quirky protagonists and an exciting, if scary, scenario. Recommended to readers who enjoy thrillers laced with dry humour, set within a Wild West background.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Think Magnum PI

Took me a while to get into, but once I’d got used to the flow, I really enjoyed it. Not quiet the typical action hero, but thoroughly fun read.
Very well read by Adam and really enjoyed all his characters. Again, takes a bit of getting used to if you’re expecting a gruff action hero tale as his voice is very soothing, almost melodic and poetic at times.
I don’t think having read the first 2 books is necessary as I hadn’t, but I’m definitely going to give them a go too!
This is my honest opinion of a free review copy.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great to have the main character who is believable

A well read believable story, no groans that the hero never dies or invulnerable to anything. no Dale he is normal, He hurts but he gets on with it. Quite a lot happens in this gripping story. Well delivered to the ear by Narrator Adam Verner, I love it when you can simply fall into a story and Adam does this well, (became my bath voice this week)
The story seen through to completion, had much in the way of content, and left me wanting more of the same, so I recon a visit to the world of Dale Conley,, and mind of Erik Carter is on the cards Well done.. Jim

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Roger Fauble
  • Roger Fauble
  • 12-02-19

ENJOYABLE

My third read from author Erik Carter, an ARC. With each book he writes Carter gets better & better. I really liked it. Compared to authors like Dan Brown or Steve Berry, maybe not as good, but they've years of writing behind them. I'll definitely be reading another Erik Carter book. I was given an Audible copy of this book & am voluntarily reviewing it. (RIP Marley January 20, 2014 - July 24, 2018).

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Brian
  • Brian
  • 23-01-19

Exciting Thrillride

In the confines of a relatively short stand alone thriller the author has taken his main character Dale Conley, who works in a heavily secure and unknown wing of the FBI during the 1970s and placed him in a white knuckle thrillride as he tries to ferret out the details on a crimewave. The author ratchets up the suspense on the way to a frenetic action packed conclusion. I was very entertained.

The narrator is one I've listened to several times before and in this continues to keep his place among my favorite narrators of audiobooks.

I received the review code for this audiobook at my request and am voluntarily leaving this honest review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Katie
  • Katie
  • 22-01-19

Mix of the mystical, action and suspense..........

The Lowdown is the third book in the series featuring FBI agent Dale Conley, but the author does a terrific job of making this book a standalone. Dale Conley works for a specialized and unknown unit of the FBI called the BEI - Bureau of Esoteric Investigations. The series takes place in the 1970's, so it is interesting to watch a federal agent solve crimes without the assistance of modern day technology. In addition to the lack of computers, cellphones, and social media, Conley must deal with the values and social customs of the times, including racism and pacifism, while trying to solve bizarre and puzzling crimes.

Conley is an intriguing character full of contradictions in personality. He has a brilliant mind full of knowledge about history and puzzles, but the most important thing in his life is his precious orange sports car, which he has named Arancia (the Italian word for orange) and of which he speaks with complete reverence. Conley is both a man's man and a learned scholar at the same time. Although the reader knows from the beginning of the story most of the bad guys, the motivation for the crimes is revealed bit by bit through interactions between main and secondary characters, drawing out the suspense to an action-packed conclusion.

Adam Verner's narration is flawless. He uses the perfect emotion level and tones for every type of scene from high action chases to the humdrum work of researching clues. I especially love how he says Arancia with an Italian accent and just the right emphasis to prove Conley's devotion. Between the unique story and the phenomenal narration, The Lowdown is a must for fans of the mystery genre.

I received a copy of this audiobook at my request in exchange for this honest review.