Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

She’s single. But it can still be complicated....

Penny Bridge has always been unlucky in love.

So she can’t believe it when she meets a remarkable new man.

Followed by another.

And then another....

And all of them want to date her.

Penny has to choose between three. But are any of them 'The One'?

The best-selling author of Our Stop will have you laughing, crying and cheering Penny on in this funny and feel-good exploration of hope, romance and the trust it takes to finally fall in love. Perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane’s If I Never Met You and Beth O’Leary’s The Flatshare.

©2020 Laura Jane Williams (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"Joyful and romantic...tailor-made for summer!" (Cosmopolitan)

 "Fresh, funny and smart." (Beth O’Leary, best-selling author of The Flatshare)

"Charming and full of warmth. I loved Penny (and her hair), and laughed a lot at her misadventures. This is the book equivalent of a big hug." (Sophia Money-Coutts, best-selling author of The Plus One)

What listeners say about The Love Square

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book!

Another great book from LJW (yeah, that’s what I call her now) Think I might be in love a little bit with Carrie Hope Fletcher’s voice. Really enjoyed this book.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another hit for Laura Jane Williams

Absolutely loved it!! Just as I did Our Stop! Beautifully written and just what I needed in a feel good storyline! Really liked how ‘in with the times’ the story was too with some of its characters and Penny’s decision at the end. Write more please!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars

Awful, clichéd and dull

Don't buy it... It's just one of those book where the publishers have said write a book like Beth O Leary's The Flat Share or X generic contemporary chick lit... so that we can sell lots.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A joy!

Penny is pure joy - I adored her and her story. Exactly the feel good story for a difficult year.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Easy predictable read

Easy read check, likeable characters mostly - sometimes frustrating (which I find is actually refreshing), predictable storyline check. A nice break from monotony of another lockdown. Easy to read whilst doing chores or drifting off to sleep without having to worry if you miss 5/10 minutes of listening.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

A flimsy story

I found this book a bit disappointing.. it was trying much to hard to please it's audience & lost tts way ... I think it will date quickly The characters where not convincing and never believed or truly empathised...

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Quinn
  • Quinn
  • 14-08-20

Disappointing

This book is not nearly as good as The Flat Share. It’s a long, drawn out template story that’s difficult to care about. I finished listened (a struggle) so I could be sure of my opinion before writing this review and returning the book. I would never want to listen to it again. Carrie’s performance is great, as usual!