Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £11.99

Buy Now for £11.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

She’s single. But it can still be complicated....

Penny Bridge has always been unlucky in love.

So she can’t believe it when she meets a remarkable new man.

Followed by another.

And then another....

And all of them want to date her.

Penny has to choose between three. But are any of them 'The One'?

The best-selling author of Our Stop will have you laughing, crying and cheering Penny on in this funny and feel-good exploration of hope, romance and the trust it takes to finally fall in love. Perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane’s If I Never Met You and Beth O’Leary’s The Flatshare.

©2020 Laura Jane Williams (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"Joyful and romantic...tailor-made for summer!" (Cosmopolitan)

 "Fresh, funny and smart." (Beth O’Leary, best-selling author of The Flatshare)

"Charming and full of warmth. I loved Penny (and her hair), and laughed a lot at her misadventures. This is the book equivalent of a big hug." (Sophia Money-Coutts, best-selling author of The Plus One)

What listeners say about The Love Square

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    75
  • 4 Stars
    46
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    84
  • 4 Stars
    40
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    61
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another hit for Laura Jane Williams

Absolutely loved it!! Just as I did Our Stop! Beautifully written and just what I needed in a feel good storyline! Really liked how ‘in with the times’ the story was too with some of its characters and Penny’s decision at the end. Write more please!!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book!

Another great book from LJW (yeah, that’s what I call her now) Think I might be in love a little bit with Carrie Hope Fletcher’s voice. Really enjoyed this book.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disappointed

Sooo cheesy. Irritating and weak main character and superficial story. The writer tried to give it some depth with cancer story but it didn't really help in my opinion. I expected a relaxing book but this irritaded me more than relaxed me.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars

Awful, clichéd and dull

Don't buy it... It's just one of those book where the publishers have said write a book like Beth O Leary's The Flat Share or X generic contemporary chick lit... so that we can sell lots.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A joy!

Penny is pure joy - I adored her and her story. Exactly the feel good story for a difficult year.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Meh

It was okay but bit hit and miss really. Not much of a story to it bit smutty in places but if you like that kind of thing it's OK.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

manageable, but such a clichè

I listened to the end, but it was incredibly predictable and such a clichè. it's not like the flat share at all, just got one of the narrators. I loved the flat share, not this.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

interesting premise with good characters

the story was entertaining an decently written, however I was frustrated with the characters decisions and motivations at times, meaning it took me a long time to finish it. The ending was the best outcome for all characters, but I found it a bit too wishy-washy and fairytale esc, making it disappointing.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disappointed

I loved the sound of this and just from the first half alone it had so much potential. The second half was disappointing to say the least and left me disliking all the characters. I hated the whole “I’m a bad feminist for missing him” because it completely strips away what feminism really is and goes along the stereotype that feminists don’t have feelings. Yes Penny had dealt with a lot in her past with cancer and her mum’s death, but the whole “woe is me” at the beginning about her love life and that her focus was solely on finding “the one” and that helping her uncle after his heart attack was such an inconvenience to her made me dislike Penny even more. I really appreciated the LGBTQ+ involvement but it felt like Charlie being non-binary was used for the sake of having it in. I wanted more from Charlie but all they were used for was so Penny can complain about her love life and for the sake of having someone who is non-binary.

The flow of it was light and although the editing of the audiobook was off several times, it was easy to follow through.

It’s just a shame that I found it more infuriating than enjoyable.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Easy predictable read

Easy read check, likeable characters mostly - sometimes frustrating (which I find is actually refreshing), predictable storyline check. A nice break from monotony of another lockdown. Easy to read whilst doing chores or drifting off to sleep without having to worry if you miss 5/10 minutes of listening.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Deborah
  • Deborah
  • 25-11-21

Too many things happening at once

Tue performance is great. I loved Carrie Hope Fletcher in The Flat Share.

In this book, too many things are happening that contradict each other. The main character, Penny, has no redeeming qualities and has a lot going on. The description is that there are three men after her and she has to decide which one to BE with. (But my question is, why does she have to be with any of them?) Frankly, there isn’t enough room in this story to develop a relationship with any of the men, except maybe the first one. The other two? There’s nothing there, so why would she choose either of them?

Then there is the business of her uncle who doesn’t ask her to do something for him but she feels obligated anyway. There’s never a conversation with him about this big favor, yet she does it anyway and resents doing it!

Lastly, there is a health issue that Penny deals with that needs to be considered by anyone with whom she has a relationship. I think that if the author dealt with that in a bigger way (instead of the uncle’s favor) you’d have enough of a storyline.

I really disliked this book and will return it for sure.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Quinn
  • Quinn
  • 14-08-20

Disappointing

This book is not nearly as good as The Flat Share. It’s a long, drawn out template story that’s difficult to care about. I finished listened (a struggle) so I could be sure of my opinion before writing this review and returning the book. I would never want to listen to it again.
Carrie’s performance is great, as usual!