Listen free for 30 days

The Lost Letters

Narrated by: Tara Ward
Length: 10 hrs and 36 mins
Categories: Fiction, Sagas
4 out of 5 stars (32 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A gripping book club novel about forbidden love, friendship, and family secrets in a time of war. Perfect for fans of The Letter by Kathryn Hughes, The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks, and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.

What if keeping your loved ones safe meant never seeing them again? 

Canada, present day

When Martha’s beloved father dies, he leaves her two things: a mysterious stash of letters to an English woman named "Catkins" and directions to a beach hut in the English seaside town of Wells-Next-the-Sea. Martha is at a painful crossroads in her own life and seizes this chance for a trip to England - to discover more about her family’s past and the identity of her father’s secret correspondent.

Norfolk, 1940

Sylvia’s husband, Howard, has gone off to war, and she is struggling to raise her two children alone. Her only solace is her beach hut in Wells and her friendship with Connie, a woman she meets on the beach. The two women form a bond that will last a lifetime, and Sylvia tells Connie something that no one else knows: about a secret lover...and a child.

But the tragedy of war brings heartbreaking choices. And a promise made between the two women will echo down the years and could change everything for Martha....

©2018 Sarah Mitchell (P)2018 Bookouture

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

I loved this book. It was full of twists and turns. I know Wells, I imagined myself there with them. This is surely what a good book is all about

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

good story but too much detail

Found this really difficult to get into .Would have liked more character interaction and less description .This made what was a good storyline drag and i found myself skipping pages just to get some dialogue .Overall a good story with a twist that was easily spotted


  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book and wonderful narration

Really enjoyed this book. Great characters and enough suspense to keep me hooked. The narrator was fantastic. Perfect accents, great clarity and will definitely look for other books narrated by her. Altogether a great read, and one which I would recommend.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic !!!!

Loved this book I couldn't put it down but had to so I didn't finish it too quickly

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Very disappointing

I was looking forward to this book,which I found was really disappointing . The first quarter was boring, then I found quite interesting so I though it was going to pick up. Then it got stupidly complicated, very unbelievable , and ended with I think a a bit of the story tell. I wish I hadn't bothered reading it through,just a waste of time. It could have a good story but was really so silly

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great read

A new author to me but a great book. I loved the two adjoining stories. I wanted to keep listening to the audio till the very end. I will for sure be looking up more of this authors books.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for LJStevie
  • LJStevie
  • 19-03-19

Intriguing story.

This book held my attention and offered an intriguing twist. It was at times hard to follow as the author’s style was to shift a character or event suddenly as if the reader had been part of the trail and then later fill in the details of how or when it happened. I found myself having to re-listen to parts to know if I’d just not been paying attention or if it was the author’s writing style. The narration was superb and added a great deal to the enjoyment of the story.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for uffdasuzanne
  • uffdasuzanne
  • 12-02-19

So enjoyable

Having not lived at this time in history, it was interesting to get a feel for the things people had to deal with then. I am glad, however, that I did not have to deal with those same things.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 31-07-19

Disappointing

What a mess of thoughts put into a published book. Wonderful narration. A wasted credit