Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

As they walked toward the railway station, their mother took an envelope from her handbag. "I want you to keep this somewhere safe."

"What’s in the letter?"

"Listen carefully. You’re never to open it unless you or your sister are in real trouble. Promise me."

England, 1943: Home is no longer safe for eight-year-old twins Molly and Jacob. Night after night, wailing bombs and screeching planes skim the rooftops overhead. They cradle each other, shivering in terror, not knowing if they will live to see dawn. Their mother, Martha, has no choice but to evacuate them to the safety of the countryside. 

At the train station, Martha bites back tears as she says good-bye to her precious children. Knowing she might never see them again, she gives Jacob a letter, pressing the envelope into his hands and telling him to only read it if they are in danger. 

In the country, Molly and Jacob must adjust to life with strangers. Every night they dream of returning home to the arms of their beloved mother. But then the unimaginable happens. Martha is killed in an explosion, leaving the twins all alone in the world. 

The war has robbed Molly and Jacob of everything - all they have left is one another. Motherless and destitute, they face the grim reality of life in an orphanage. The time has finally come for Jacob to open the letter. What secret does it hold, and could it change the course of their tragic fate? Because if they are together, they can survive anything - but what if they are torn apart? 

From the best-selling author of The Orphan Sisters comes an utterly heartbreaking and unforgettable tale of two children who must lean on each other in a time of tragedy and learn the shocking truth of their past. Fans of Wives of War, Lisa Wingate, and Diney Costeloe will be swept away by this sublime World War Two novel. 

©2020 Shirley Dickson (P)2020 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Lost Children

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    59
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    54
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    53
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Narrated

I loved Rosie Jones telling the story, makes a change from boring voices that ramble on and on well done Rosie x

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lovely Read

Heartwarming story, brought me to tears on more than one occasion. Will definitely be looking for more from this author.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So wonderfully written and narrated

Once again Shirley The lost Children was a stunning book, it was edge of the seat for me which I will let the readers find for themselves , the narration again was so wonderfully done , thats 4 of your books that have been a pleasure to listen to, thank you 🍷

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just heartwarming!

A beautifully written book which is full of love and hope despite the trials that the characters face. Truly heartwarming and I can’t wait to start another of her books!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

the Lost Children

loved this couldnt put it down. was glad the train was delayed so had more time.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

wonderful story

I truly loved this book It had me in tears quite a few times and I loved the characters especially the twins Mam and Gran. The part of the story that had the twins evacuated really warmed my heart and I'm so.pleased at the ending

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The lost Children

The lost Children is the best book I've listen to in a long time!
I loved all the characters but I specially loved Molly and Jacob. I really hope there's more about them to come. I enjoyed listen to The Story through Rosie Jones. Great story!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful storytelling

This book grabbed you from the start and I looked forward to the next installment every eviening before bed. Realistic characters, heartbreaking at times. Very well read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Didn’t want it too end

I loved every person in this story. It was lovely. Intricate enough to to keep you guessing and read so very well.
I now need to know what happened to Jacob and Molly....come on Shirley write another book The Found Children and they next adventures.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A good listen

At first I wasn't sure about this book and as I continued to listen I am glad I stuck with it. Happy with moments of sadness and a great ending. I will listen to books from this author again

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Vickie
  • Vickie
  • 01-02-21

Excellent!

This one makes my top 10 list. Rich character development, and a story that makes you laugh, makes you cry, and warms your heart.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Michelle Giansiracusa
  • Michelle Giansiracusa
  • 29-01-21

Such a touching story

What heart breaks the children endured in life .. it kept my interest to the end

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sheila McCormick
  • Sheila McCormick
  • 30-10-20

Outstanding story and narration

One of the best novels of this era I have ever listened to. I’m glad I listened to The Outcast Girls first. I like meetings he same characters again.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Baa Baa Bitty
  • Baa Baa Bitty
  • 21-10-20

A really good book

One of the best books I’ve listened to in a while. The narrator was perfect too.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for William Shelor
  • William Shelor
  • 19-06-21

Slow start but thoroughly enjoyable book

It took me a little while to get into story but I really enjoyed the book. The characters and situations were believable but with enough happy parts to keep me listening. I enjoyed the reader. In my opinion the reader can make or break a story and I really never gave the reader a thought and she didn’t mispronounce one word! I can be thrown off the story when readers don’t bother to look up pronuciations that they don’t know. Therefore I give this book 5 stars and I’ll be looking for other Rosie Jones readings!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Carolyn
  • Carolyn
  • 12-06-21

lovely book

this is a very well write gripping story. keep me on my toes waiting to see the next twist.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ND Roughrider
  • ND Roughrider
  • 29-03-21

The author has written a great novel!

The author has written a brilliant novel, full of intrigue and suspense! The narration is superb, bringing the characters to life!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 01-03-21

Enjoyable and heartwarming story

This is an excellent story of twins enduring WWII in England during the war. It is a story of love, heartache and the generosity of others. It is well worth a listen.