Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £22.89

Buy Now for £22.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

As they walked toward the railway station, their mother took an envelope from her handbag. "I want you to keep this somewhere safe."

"What’s in the letter?"

"Listen carefully. You’re never to open it unless you or your sister are in real trouble. Promise me."

England, 1943: Home is no longer safe for eight-year-old twins Molly and Jacob. Night after night, wailing bombs and screeching planes skim the rooftops overhead. They cradle each other, shivering in terror, not knowing if they will live to see dawn. Their mother, Martha, has no choice but to evacuate them to the safety of the countryside. 

At the train station, Martha bites back tears as she says good-bye to her precious children. Knowing she might never see them again, she gives Jacob a letter, pressing the envelope into his hands and telling him to only read it if they are in danger. 

In the country, Molly and Jacob must adjust to life with strangers. Every night they dream of returning home to the arms of their beloved mother. But then the unimaginable happens. Martha is killed in an explosion, leaving the twins all alone in the world. 

The war has robbed Molly and Jacob of everything - all they have left is one another. Motherless and destitute, they face the grim reality of life in an orphanage. The time has finally come for Jacob to open the letter. What secret does it hold, and could it change the course of their tragic fate? Because if they are together, they can survive anything - but what if they are torn apart? 

From the best-selling author of The Orphan Sisters comes an utterly heartbreaking and unforgettable tale of two children who must lean on each other in a time of tragedy and learn the shocking truth of their past. Fans of Wives of War, Lisa Wingate, and Diney Costeloe will be swept away by this sublime World War Two novel. 

©2020 Shirley Dickson (P)2020 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Lost Children

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    84
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    79
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    76
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Narrated

I loved Rosie Jones telling the story, makes a change from boring voices that ramble on and on well done Rosie x

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lovely Read

Heartwarming story, brought me to tears on more than one occasion. Will definitely be looking for more from this author.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So wonderfully written and narrated

Once again Shirley The lost Children was a stunning book, it was edge of the seat for me which I will let the readers find for themselves , the narration again was so wonderfully done , thats 4 of your books that have been a pleasure to listen to, thank you 🍷

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great listen

lovely heart warming story by Shirley Dickson 👌
narrator Rosie Jones brought the book alive perfectly 😊👌

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful story

Audiobooks don't usually make me cry, but this one very nearly did! A captivating story, with lots of sadness, but a happy ending,

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

very enjoyable

I really enjoyed this audible. it was one I didn't want to put down. If you enjoy war stories with children you will like this. a few sad bits and some twists but also heart warming too!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great emotional story

really enjoyed this special story which has many heart wrenching moments well worth a read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

the lost children

what a lovely story great .The narrator was very good to listen to warm .

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

just brilliant

this book was brilliant I loved every minute of it I did not want it to end .

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just heartwarming!

A beautifully written book which is full of love and hope despite the trials that the characters face. Truly heartwarming and I can’t wait to start another of her books!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for William Shelor
  • William Shelor
  • 19-06-21

Slow start but thoroughly enjoyable book

It took me a little while to get into story but I really enjoyed the book. The characters and situations were believable but with enough happy parts to keep me listening. I enjoyed the reader. In my opinion the reader can make or break a story and I really never gave the reader a thought and she didn’t mispronounce one word! I can be thrown off the story when readers don’t bother to look up pronuciations that they don’t know. Therefore I give this book 5 stars and I’ll be looking for other Rosie Jones readings!

33 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sheila McCormick
  • Sheila McCormick
  • 30-10-20

Outstanding story and narration

One of the best novels of this era I have ever listened to. I’m glad I listened to The Outcast Girls first. I like meetings he same characters again.

30 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Baa Baa Bitty
  • Baa Baa Bitty
  • 21-10-20

A really good book

One of the best books I’ve listened to in a while. The narrator was perfect too.

20 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 01-03-21

Enjoyable and heartwarming story

This is an excellent story of twins enduring WWII in England during the war. It is a story of love, heartache and the generosity of others. It is well worth a listen.

18 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Book and Movie Lover
  • Book and Movie Lover
  • 17-07-21

Another great WWII story

A great piece of historical fiction, this book follows the story of Molly and Jacob, twins who are sent to the country as many children were during WWII. While they escaped the devastating bombs which are pounding London, they face another set of challenges surviving in the countryside. Very good listen.

15 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Olivia
  • Olivia
  • 01-02-21

Excellent!

This one makes my top 10 list. Rich character development, and a story that makes you laugh, makes you cry, and warms your heart.

15 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ND Roughrider
  • ND Roughrider
  • 29-03-21

The author has written a great novel!

The author has written a brilliant novel, full of intrigue and suspense! The narration is superb, bringing the characters to life!

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Michelle Giansiracusa
  • Michelle Giansiracusa
  • 29-01-21

Such a touching story

What heart breaks the children endured in life .. it kept my interest to the end

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Carolyn
  • Carolyn
  • 12-06-21

lovely book

this is a very well write gripping story. keep me on my toes waiting to see the next twist.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Patti
  • Patti
  • 19-09-21

Meh

I found the story interesting, but the characters shallow. I almost gave up a couple of times, but the story did keep me wondering what happens to the children in the end, so I listened. Just ..okay.

2 people found this helpful