Listen free for 30 days

The Lost Child

Narrated by: Emilia Fox
Length: 10 hrs and 47 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (11 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Kathryn Hughes, this twisting novel of murder, tragedy and betrayal will haunt you.

A shocking murder. A child witness. A diary of secrets.

1952. Rebecca Waterhouse is just 13 when her father, suffering from PTSD following the war, kills her mother then himself. As Rebecca runs from the house, she is sure she sees someone standing at the window watching her. But no one believes her. 

2018. Iris Waterhouse, a journalist, hears that police are trying to find a woman on the run with her newborn baby. The mother is depressed and the baby, who has strep B, urgently needs medication. Iris begins to investigate. 

Meanwhile a woman in her 90s is found wandering on Whittering Beach. She is very distressed about a baby she says she abandoned in 1940.   

As Iris gets closer to the missing mother, she starts to read the diary of her grandmother Harriet Waterhouse, who was murdered by her husband decades before. She realises there is a connection between the two families. And in doing so unveils a shocking secret buried years ago.

©2019 Emily Gunnis (P)2019 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good but confusing

Had to restart, got confused between characters. Very good once I knew the characters.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant book!

such a good book! loved it. Emilia Fox was brilliant. I will look forward to Emily Gunnis' next book.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Inconsistencies and strange emotional reactions

I wanted to like this book - I’ve worked at the real St Dunstan’s in Chichester (St Richard’s) and know the area. However, despite a professional performance from Emilia Fox, a big part of the reason I decided to buy the audiobook, there were lots of editorial gaffs that were just plain disappointing: Harvey drives in the the hospital car park, then looks up at the hotel. Jessie is on Sertraline then she’s on Citaloptam. Cecilia’s husband starts as a baronet, then he’s just a plain Mr Barton later on. All quite weak. Then nearer the end, everyone is blaming everyone else for what is plainly nothing any individual could assume blame for - just tortuous emotion for emotion’ sake, it felt, rather than natural human reaction in the face of alleged manipulation and mental breakdowns. Harvey seems unbelievable - he wants to stay on the farm, so drives Rebecca away, yet rolls over a short time later because of inheritance tax? If a farm is passed to the next generation and continuously farmed for seven further years, no tax is - or was liable. Poor research and weak presentation (also lots of repeated adjectives close together, which became a bit wearing - ‘rushed’, as in rushed outside after rushing downstairs was a regular feature) sadly let this book down for me.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliantly done

Highly recommend this book hard to put down once you start it . Brilliant voice to listen to . You will definitely not be disappointed with this audible book

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 20-10-19

Just ok<br />

It was okay, kept my interest but nothing I would reread. several twists near the end.