Listen free for 30 days

The Lies You Told

Narrated by: Sarah Durham
Length: 9 hrs and 46 mins
4.1 out of 5 stars (114 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Shocking, dark, addictive - Lies You Told is the compulsive new psychological thriller from Harriet Tyce, author of Blood Orange. Perfect for fans of Apple Tree Yard, Big Little Lies, and Anatomy of a Scandal.

Has she left her child in the care of a killer?

Sadie has moved back to London so her daughter can attend the exclusive school her domineering father has secured her a place at. It's highly sought-after and highly competitive - just like the other mothers, Sadie soon discovers.

While she's trying to get her daughter settled and navigate the fraught politics of the school gate, Sadie is also trying to reclaim a position in her old legal chambers - she used to practice as a criminal barrister. She's given the junior brief on a scandalous case involving a male teacher and his student. It's an opportunity to prove herself, but will she let a dangerous flirtation cloud her professional judgement? And will her sudden close friendship with another mother prevent her from seeing the truth - and the threat that she's inviting into her home?

©2020 Harriet Tyce (P)2020 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

What listeners say about The Lies You Told

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    53
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    59
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    50
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Had to return

I had to return this. I did not like Blood Orange but hoped for improvement. There was none. Dreadful characters at prestigious school (am sure they can’t all be that bad). Daughter had to attend said school according to (awful) dead mother’s will. Personal email put in junk folder? Please....The tale looked set to be as convoluted as Blood Orange and I couldn’t bear to listen any more. It was quite difficult to distinguish between two of the female characters and I didn’t know who was speaking. There was also a mysterious (awful) husband lurking in America. Could not carry on reading anymore. I won’t be tempted by any more by this author.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

far fetched

started off well - but went down hill quickly. excellent narration made me listen till the end

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So glad I ignored the bad reviews

Incredible book! Just as good as Blood Orange. Kept me so gripped. I'm so glad I wasn't put off by the negative comments. Saw a one star for being unrealistic because 'nobody eats that much Pizza'. They only had it 3 times throughout the whole book and that was split between 2 characters. Madness

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disappointing

I was delighted to discover this new title from Harriet Tyce after reading her excellent page-turner Blood Orange. Sadly this was where my delight ended. The story was not plausible and the narration bordered on irritating. I only managed to get half way through it and that was at a push

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The book

this writer I think will become one of my favourites. Loving the story the twist. Also continuing the themes from the last book with the law and being a lawyer. it's dark bitter and twisted just how I like books like this. cant wait for her next book

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Undeniably Good Listen

I preferred Blood Orange but it was still a good listen I couldn't believe in couple of the characters a little far fetched and please just because you have a child you don't eat pizza every opportunity but I still enjoyed it even if the story content was weak

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Ultimately Disappointing

Well written but lost a bit of pace towards the end.Conclusion was pretty obvious and as a result ending lacked drama. Not a patch on her previous book.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Absolutely awful. Not sure I can bear to finish this book

Don’t like the characters the storyline or anything about this book. Generic babble. Don’t waste your money or your credits.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Great denouement, infuriating narrator.

Great denouement, infuriating narrator. Almost gave up at least twice. You need to empathise not scream in frustration.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Such a disappointment after Blood Orange :(

I absolutely loved Blood Orange by the same author so kept an eye out for the next novel and pre-ordered when it appeared, in keen anticipation. However this book was quite a chore to get through. Completely unbelievable story line and characters, dull narration and I felt quite relieved when it was over. Maybe I had just built it up too much!