Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

This was no accident.... 

Haunting, compelling, this psychological thriller will have you hooked. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl and Daughter

Best friends are there for each other through thick and thin. You trust them with your life. At least that's what Emma, Daisy, Leanne, and Al think. But all that changes when they embark on a trip of a lifetime together. When they return home, only two of them are left alive, and the group has been torn apart by lies and deception. 

Many years later, when the dust has settled and life has moved on, one girl receives a threatening letter. Someone knows the truth about what happened on that holiday and will stop at nothing to expose it....

©2015 C.L. Taylor (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers Ltd

What listeners say about The Lie

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    142
  • 4 Stars
    130
  • 3 Stars
    63
  • 2 Stars
    27
  • 1 Stars
    13
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    160
  • 4 Stars
    102
  • 3 Stars
    44
  • 2 Stars
    28
  • 1 Stars
    11
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    127
  • 4 Stars
    106
  • 3 Stars
    58
  • 2 Stars
    38
  • 1 Stars
    16

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great read couldn't put it down

Really enjoyed, wanted to keep listening enjoyed every second, so much suspense! Defo be looking at other titles from this author

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Excellent thriller let down by poor ending

What made the experience of listening to The Lie the most enjoyable?

This is a really intense thriller and the narrator does an amazing job too.

What did you like best about this story?

It flips seamlessly between the present and the past, always gripping and just has that 'one more chapter' going for it - I listened to this in a little over 2 days.

What does Penny Rawlins bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

Brilliant narrator, great voices and is spot on every time with the right emotion.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

The lead character's love for animals.

Any additional comments?

Great book, the last hour though is a real let down - it could really have done with an extra twist

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant! Couldn't stop listening!

Really enjoyed this book. I also read 'The Accident' which I liked, but this was better!
Rely good narration too.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Slow start ....

.... But compulsive listening as the story went on. It's worth sticking with.

I starred this at least 3 times but in the end just continued listening hoping I would make some sense of story. Thankfully it proved worth while!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Couldn’t get into it at all

I tried to give it a chance to get better. It never did. Hated the plot and the characters. I feel like I wasted a credit. I really like this author but this one is terrible.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Couldn't relate to it.

This is about a bunch of 4 young women who go off to stay at a retreat/cult in Nepal and the trouble they had there. We'll I'm sorry but anybody doing that really doesn't have my sympathy! I stuck with it, but I really didn't care how the story was going to end.

Not as good as other C L Taylor novels: The Accident and The Fear. I didn't like the narrator. Some of the voices were really irritating, the Swedish voice sounded Russian.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Decent story made irritating by narrator

OK, we get it, the narrator does accents. I got so sick of the cod voices I wanted to scream. The story is fine, nothing astounding but a decent listen, but I couldn't wait to get rid of the women's voice!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A Slow burner to start but got there in the end

The Lie starts with a bit of a girlie theme with the first quarter of the book establishing relationships between a group of girls which I found a little slow to begin with. Gradually though the book reals you in and before long you are eager to keep going and find answers. This wouldn't have been my usual choice but I still thoroughly enjoyed it.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great story, terrible narrator

I did enjoy the book but the narration was jarring! when she switched between characters it was cringeworthy. I felt it detracted from the story

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing story awful audio performance

The story was truly amazing with edge of your seat moments and unpredictable twists and turns. The only downfall was the god awful narrative is was so painful and her accents where embarrassing