Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Every year on the same day, on the anniversary, I receive a single black rose. Thirteen years of dark petals, jagged thorns, dredging up memories I’ve tried to forget… 

I’ve packed up my life. All my belongings are carefully sealed in labelled boxes, my suitcases ready for my big move. I’m just days away from a new life abroad with my boyfriend, Ben. 

No one knows the real reason I’m desperate to leave. 

My best friend, Lena, is throwing me a leaving party. A celebration, to say goodbye. Champagne to toast my farewell. Speeches, full of fond memories. 

No one knows what I’m running from. 

Then another black rose appears, dragging up 13 years of buried memories. My passport goes missing. The very people I am trying to escape from turn up at our house. 

Someone knows what I did. 

This party was meant to be the first night of the rest of my life - but now I don’t know if I’ll see tomorrow. 

Someone knows my secret. They’re in my home, they're at my party, and they’re making me pay for it. 

Psychological thrillers don’t get more addictive than this! Fans of K. L. Slater, The Girl on the Train and The Wife Between Us will love it. 

©2020 Lesley Sanderson (P)2020 Audible, Ltd

What listeners say about The Leaving Party

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Interesting story, but not unique

The character Lena was not read well. I found it wooden and amateurish. on the whole I enjoyed it especially when it all unravelled towards the end.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Boring, contrived and totally implausible.

Don’t bother waiting for a twist, there isn’t one. I stuck with this, thinking it might be about to live up to a vague promise of a fairytale-like turn towards something interesting and weird, but what you start with is what you finish with. And maybe an unintentional and distasteful hint of The Great Gatsby.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sonya Cutler
  • Sonya Cutler
  • 30-04-20

Slow, Disappointing Burn

This was not a psych thriller. It was a book about emotionally immature characters that needed therapy. The narration was unbearably boring at times.

1 person found this helpful