Regular price: £16.49

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

For readers of Lauren Oliver and Alice Sebold, a sophisticated, literary ghost story that reminds us the past is never, ever forgotten.

In a small logging town in northern California, young Emma Rose Finnis was born and died. Now, no one remembers her hardworking life and her grand dreams - but she remembers. She remembers everything. Emma Rose is still here, one hundred years after her death...and she doesn't plan on leaving.

But when a determined hunter arrives with instructions to "clean" Emma Rose out of her haunt, the stately Lambry mansion, death suddenly isn't the worst fate imaginable. Emma Rose refuses to be hounded from the only place she's ever found peace, even if it means waging a war on the living...and the dead.

Lyrical and haunting, this spellbinding American ghost story alternates between Emma Rose's life and afterlife as the past and present become entwined in a compelling tale of loss, love and tenacity over a century in the making.

©2017 M Dressler (P)2017 Brilliance Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved.

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Audio Gal
  • 21-02-18

Outstanding Performance, Unique Tale

I was hooked from the start. Lauren Ezzo performs this beautifully written, unique tale with captivating nuance. Ezzo is a masterful story teller, blending the art of pause, silence and characterisation that is superb. Masterfully written, M. Dressler honors the intellect of the reader and listener. This may be the best audiobook I've had the pleasure to listen to in the past several years. A real pleasure, a work of art, this is a must for every library.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Bernadette
  • 05-12-17

In Love with this story

This story swallowed me up. I could not stop listening. I heard the author talk about this book on NPR and just had to listen.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Michele Tocco
  • 12-11-17

Beautifully Written and Beautifully Performed!

For me, the performance of the reader will make or break the book. This book captivated me immediately. I loved the unique perspective of the story and the depth of the characters brought to life by Lauren Ezzo's amazing performance.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • diane daniels manning
  • 12-11-17

Literary ghost story

M. Dressler’s modern literary ghost story will give you chills for its beautiful writing as well as pleasure in the plot. The author is expert at titrating the suspense, as one twist after the other keeps the story moving towards its satisfying, and unexpected, ending. Ghostly and human characters pull the reader in. Who knew how sympathetic some ghosts can be.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Sandra
  • 12-06-18

Great, but confusing

I absolutely loved this book. The characters were interesting and there were these mysteries you couldn't wait to find out more about. The ending, however, disappointed me a bit and left me wanting a lot more. I didn't feel like I got all the answers I needed and the last chapter seemed to raise more questions than it answered. Still, the book had me hooked and I can definitely recommend it, I just wish the ending had been a bit less confusing.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • l
  • 07-04-18

Gorgeous.

A stunning, lyrically written work, with surprisingly timely themes and ideas.

A must listen/read. Trust the reviews on this one!