Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The Expanse meets Game of Thrones in J. S. Dewes' fast-paced, sci-fi adventure The Last Watch, where a handful of soldiers stand between humanity and annihilation.

The Divide.

It’s the edge of the universe.

Now, it’s collapsing - and taking everyone and everything with it.

The only ones who can stop it are the Sentinels - the recruits, exiles, and court-martialed dregs of the military.

At the Divide, Adequin Rake commands the Argus. She has no resources, no comms - nothing, except for the soldiers that no one wanted. Her ace in the hole could be Cavalon Mercer - genius, asshole, and exiled prince who nuked his grandfather's genetic facility for “reasons".

She knows they’re humanity's last chance.

A Macmillan Audio production from Tor Books

©2021 J. S. Dewes (P)2021 Macmillan Audio

Critic reviews

"An epic tale of survival at the end of the universe." (Megan O'Keefe, author of Velocity Weapon)

"Crisp writing, vivid characters, and a plot that beguiles the imagination. The Last Watch is a stunning military sci-fi debut. I was hooked from the opening lines. If you like science fiction, then this book is definitely for you." (Jasper T. Scott, USA Today best-selling author)

"The Last Watch is an amazing debut. The smart world-building and explode-off-the page action scenes make it perfect for fans of The Expanse and other fast-paced Sci Fi. I predict that Dewes is going to be a 'must read' author for years to come." (Michael Mammay, author of Planetside)

What listeners say about The Last Watch

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable and original deep-space adventure

3.5 out of 5 - I liked it! It was an original idea, and the whole 'Nights Watch in Space' thing is definitely apt. The story takes some interesting turns, the setting is interesting and the stakes are well established and, frankly, couldn't be higher! Everything unfolded at the right pace to keep me interested and while there wasn't really any one 'stand out' feature, it was just an enjoyable story.

I felt the performances were great, although it did amuse me how the two different narrators both performed the character of Griffith. Zanzarella voiced him as a silky smooth Irishman, where Eiden voiced Griffith as a gruff soldier who at certain moments ALMOST sounded a little Irish, but at other times sounded Native American.

One thing that prevented the story from really excelling was the prose, which was heavily bloated by the POV characters' ruminations on what is currently happening, sometimes inexplicably detouring into their past in ways that felt very 'tell' rather than 'show'. And someone really should have picked up on some of Dewes' writing tics, such as the 'quirked eyebrow' (I think I noticed close to two dozen of them) and frequent usage of an action, expression or noise which "was equal parts X and Y". Diaglogue was also clunky in parts.

The characters had plausibility issues as well. Adequin continually flagellates herself for things which she patently had not control or foresight about. Towards the end, another character calls this out as one of her faults, so I guess it was intentional on the author's part, but it had still irritated me for most of the book. Much is made of Cavalon's multiple university degrees, yet whenever these are called into use it ends up being for a task which seems disappointingly basic. Like in the final sequence when his expertise is required to, apparently, fill up a tank of hydrogren and press a clearly marked button.

Even though these niggled persisted throughout, I did finish the book, was glad I had done so, and might even consider reading the next one.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Geonn W. Cannon
  • Geonn W. Cannon
  • 23-04-21

Fantastic scifi action

Every few months I try one of these big scifi epics hoping they'll be good. I want to like the genre even though they so often disappoint. But I keep trying in the hopes I'll eventually find a book like The Last Watch. Absolutely fantastic in every respect, and something that should please any fan of the genre. I'm already preordering the next book in the series and grateful the wait won't be terribly long.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Utilisateur anonyme
  • Utilisateur anonyme
  • 08-05-21

Worth the read

overall the book was very enjoyable but the pacing was a bit off-putting. There were some excellent moments and one in particular in the latter half of the story that was enough for me to go ahead and pre-order the next book!. looking forward to the next half of the story!!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Eric Jones
  • Eric Jones
  • 01-05-21

Interesting, but uneven

Decent but uneven story. Good ideas, but narrative gets bogged down in the details of minor events and the repetition of interpersonal conversations and inner monologues. Narrators are OK. Not a bad listen, but could have been more.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sum Guy
  • Sum Guy
  • 05-05-21

Enjoyed this one

Although the "Science" seems really far fetched, this was a fun story with interesting characters. looking forward to next book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Emma Aumack
  • Emma Aumack
  • 24-04-21

Great Story. Great narration!

This is an awesome story and I have 2 new narrators to follow! Very different concept, good character development & the ending is not exactly what you might think. It’s a good start to a great series.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 18-06-21

Loved it!

This was the best Sci Fi story II have read in years! I Loved it!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for RJDIII
  • RJDIII
  • 03-06-21

I can’t wait for the next one!

One of the best books I have ever read! If you like sci-if you have to read this!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Chrissy
  • Chrissy
  • 01-06-21

Can't wait for the next one

Fast pacing space opera. The narrator's performances were spot on. I can't wait for the next book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for BroccoliofDoom
  • BroccoliofDoom
  • 25-05-21

Only complaint was that it ended…

Great, another fantastic story that I got hooked on too soon! But really pretty decent character development and some twists on old themes.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Suzy GM
  • Suzy GM
  • 24-05-21

Fabulous

What a book! Loved it so very different than your usual sf books just fabulous. More please!!

Excellent narration.