Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Last Daughter cover art

The Last Daughter

By: Nicola Cornick
Narrated by: Sofia Engstrand
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Lady of the Loch cover art
Hidden in the Mists cover art
Hiding from the Light cover art
The Witch's Tree cover art
Echoes of the Runes cover art
The Emerald Comb cover art
The Wind Chime cover art
Beyond the Moon cover art
The Catherine Howard Conspiracy cover art
The Midnight House cover art
The Witch's Knight cover art
The Hanging Tree cover art
The Passage cover art
The Manor House cover art
The Lovers cover art
A Time for Silence cover art

Summary

A secret hidden in the past.

A family bound by a dark legacy…

Ever since her sister disappeared eleven years ago, Serena Warren has been running from a ghost, haunted by what she can’t remember about that night.

When Caitlin’s body is discovered, Serena returns to her grandfather’s house, nestled beside the ruins of Minster Lovell Hall in Oxfordshire, determined to uncover the truth. But in returning to the place of her childhood summers, Serena stands poised at the brink of a startling discovery – one that will tie her family to a centuries-old secret…

Taking listeners from the present day to the Wars of the Roses in the 1400s, and with an enthralling mystery at its heart, The Last Daughter is a spellbinding novel about family secrets, perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley, Victoria Hislop and Kate Morton.

©2021 Nicola Cornick (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"Well researched and stylish, full of emotion from past and present, this is an engrossing mystery to keep the reader turning the pages." (Anne O'Brien, author of The Queen’s Rival)

"An engaging, beautifully crafted romance that weaves together several intriguing mysteries, both ancient and modern, and questions the very essence of time itself." (Alison Weir, author of Six Tudor Queens)

"Well researched, with compelling characters and a brilliant storyline, I was hooked from the first word and couldn't put it down until I reached the satisfying conclusion." (Linda Finlay, author of The Girl with the Silver Bangle)

What listeners say about The Last Daughter

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful, I loved it.

It took me a little while to get into the story but it is so worth it. I absolutely loved it. !!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A thoroughly enjoyable read

Having driven past Minster Lovell many times and knowing the connection to Francis Lovell I was intrigued by this story and it didn’t disappoint.

Beautifully written with interesting characters and a plot that captivated the reader. The ending was teased throughout the book and for those with an interest in Richard III the clues provided a suitably subtle bread crumb trail. The link was tantalising obvious but how exactly the author wove the story from the 15th century to modern day Oxfordshire was a delight.

My only slight criticism would be the voice of Aunt Polly - a little over the top but not enough to spoil the flow.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!