Listen free for 30 days

The Kishi

Tales from Esowon, Volume 1
Narrated by: J. Keith Jackson
Length: 11 hrs and 11 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (6 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A bloodthirsty demon. A pacifist monk with a deadly past. How much will he sacrifice to overcome unspeakable evil?

Amana hopes his dark secrets will never catch up with him. But when nearby villagers discover a mauled body near him, the residents assume the traveling monk is to blame. Amana suspects the grisly handiwork of a bloodthirsty, mythological creature. 

Determined to clear his name and catch the culprit, Amana follows the trail of bloody clues. When shadows from his own past tie in with the demonic attack, he's torn between his vow of pacifism and his duty to protect the defenseless. As the demon prepares to strike again, Amana must summon the courage to confront his own dark deeds before the creature can corrupt the hearts and minds of the entire village. 

The Kishi is an enthralling fantasy novel steeped in African folklore. If you like mythological creatures, tormented heroes, and intense battles, then you’ll love Antoine Bandele’s captivating tale of redemption.

Buy The Kishi to embark on an action-packed, magical journey today!

Perfect for fans of Nnedi Okorafor, Tomi Adeyemi, and Evan Winter. 

©2018 Antoine Bandele (P)2018 Antoine Bandele

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome African cultural Fantasy

A great introduction to African folklore, cultural and spiritual elements within the fantasy genre. The Kishi had a compelling protagonist with an interesting investigative plot and awesome plot twists. What it needed however, was more depth to the antagonists and their aim, but overall a very awesome introduction to the Tales from Esowon world. I hope to see more novels from Antoine Bandele in the near future.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great first novel

I have been a fan of Antoine Bandele since I found him through his Star Wars versus series and I was intrigued that he was writing about African mythology.

He has won me over with a gripping story, a hero I found myself sympathising and rooting for and the world building was a good start for his other Tales from Esowon, along with J Keith Jackson's good narration.

Not for the faint of heart given the mature story but it was worth it for the first of hopefully more entertaining interpretations of African mythology.

Well done Antoine, I'm looking forward to the next book!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Gripping

I really enjoyed listening to this book, different to the sort of thing I normally listen to but after the first chapter I was hooked.
It was full of vivid descriptions and African folklore, which before listening I had little experience of, I enjoyed learning more throughout the book.

The narrator used worked really well, and did a great job portraying the different characters.

Please note, I did receive a free copy of this book in return for an unbiased review.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

An interesting change for a fantasy

I was given a copy of this audiobook in exchange for an honest review.

The Kishi has an interesting world of magic and shapeshifters but definitely is not your normal fantasy being heavily based on African folklore which I am definitely not knowledgable of. The story was good but you had to pay attention to what was going on sometimes otherwise you got a bit lost but this was only occasionally. Amana was an good character and his journey was interesting, learning about the cultures in the story and the world the story was set in was interesting too.

It will be interesting to see how any further tales from Esowon evolve the characters and story of the Kishi.

The voices are done well with individual characters and emotions but sometimes seem jarring to the more monotone narration which seems odd considering its the same guy doing it. The echo effect for thoughts was a bit odd too, I certainly dont think with an echo and this could have just been described from the reading that it was a thought (and it generally was said).

All in all a very different tale to my normal reads but a worthwhile venture in my opinion and I enjoyed it.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for S A
  • S A
  • 27-03-19

Just Couldn't Get Into It

None of this worked for me. The story line didn't hold my interest and the narration was stilted and didn't ring true for the subject matter. It seemed like a kids book in the writing style and delivery.
When faced with 10 more hours, I just couldn't do it.
I was given this free audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for DaCaldwell
  • DaCaldwell
  • 19-12-18

Great Setting!

Great first book. keep honing your craft, I want to see me stories like this! I really enjoy the african inspired setting.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for TU
  • TU
  • 24-10-18

I liked this one

I was given this free review copy audio book at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

I thought this was a pretty good story. The world and character building are well done. There is a fair amount of detail to pay attention to, but I don't consider that a bad thing. The narration is fairly well done. My only criticism was the echo effect for internal dialog. I think it could have been dialed down a couple notches. All in all, though, I enjoyed this book and would like to explore more in the series, assuming it becomes one.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for James
  • James
  • 09-10-18

Different

Slightly different story with a different kind of hero. I gave the narrator 5 stars, I though he did a good job, but the pace was a little slow. A little slow kind of describes the story. When the pace picks up the story is good.

“I was voluntarily provided this free review copy audiobook by the author, narrator, or publisher.”

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rebecca Azizov
  • Rebecca Azizov
  • 06-10-18

intense

intense wonderful spectacular fantastic amazing those and others are my descriptions for this wonderful book the story was so well-written and so interesting it was captivating I loved the inner War that was in this book I liked the action and I loved it it was a saddle everything about this book was very interesting and very good I just adored it the narrator did a good job with this book I like the voices very much everything was quite perfect
I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marianne H Dean
  • Marianne H Dean
  • 05-10-18

Great characters and story!

Great book! I enjoyed every moment. I really enjoyed think of this book as a D&D campaign. I liked to imagery and world building. I want to know more. The Twin Moon Goddess intrigued me. When I talked with a friend that was also reading it, I at first thought I was going to give it a C+ but when I got home and spoke with my husband who had already read it. I got really passionate talking about some of the character. Which will upped my grade to a solid B or a 4 star rating on here.

The only negatives: Fight scenes seemed a little lacking. And at the end the main character seemed to dismiss things that I (as a reader) feel he should want to know.

I listened to this book on Audible. The voice actor was amazing. Tons of different voices from creepy to soothing. Even the female voices were convincing enough. Great stuff. Very impressive.

I loved all the characters. I wonder who the next book will center around.

Bechdel test: Passed!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lonnie-The GreatNorthernTroll-Moore
  • Lonnie-The GreatNorthernTroll-Moore
  • 21-10-18

I couldn't get into this book...

Unfortunately, I've gotta mark this as a DNF... I initially thought Keith Jackson had a good speaking voice, but I soon discovered that I couldn't stand listening to his monotone... And speeding up the audio only compounded my issues with him by adding a clownish aspect to his reading of the book... also I can't comment on the writing because I wasn't able to get far enough into the story to get any feel for Antoine Bandele's work... What a shame. :-(

0 of 2 people found this review helpful