Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A completely nail-biting crime thriller

"Mama, wake up." The little girl reached for her mother’s face with one pudgy hand. But the eyes stayed closed, and the blood continued to trickle across the floor. 

When the body of a young woman is found, tied to her bed and the victim of a brutal attack in her own home, Detective Morgan Brookes is sickened by what she finds as she searches the house. And unprepared for the nightmares it inspires about her childhood.

When the DNA collected gives a positive ID, Morgan can’t wait to put the attacker behind bars. But the person it matches to is already in prison. How could the DNA of someone who has been locked up for over 20 years have shown up in Morgan’s crime scene? And then they make another close match. To Morgan herself. 

Faced with the impossible proof that she is somehow connected to this case, Morgan delves deep into the crimes of a killer who stalked the Lake District two decades ago. But distracted by the old case, she misses the signs that he has found a new victim. And when he strikes close to home, Morgan finally realizes that she has been living on borrowed time. To find this killer, it’s clear she must confront the nightmares in her past....

A heart-racing, nerve-racking crime thriller. Fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott, and Patricia Gibney will be completely gripped. 

©2020 Helen Phifer (P)2020 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Killer's Girl

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow wow wow

Like with the first book In this series twists and turns . Very much Hoping there will be many more with detective Morgan Brookes

Amazing story line and with Alison Campbell doing the narration 10/10

2 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tammi Damm
  • Tammi Damm
  • 18-03-21

Morgan Brooks is great!

Loved the story and couldn't believe who the killer was. Can't wait for the next book. This is one of my favorite authors and narrators. Enjoy!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for haley overby
  • haley overby
  • 12-03-21

Predictable

It took me a very long time to get 'into' this book.
To begin the narration is difficult to listen to, although it's not the worst I've heard, and I follow and enjoy many British, UK, and general European books and series (probably why they recommended it to me in the first place).. The narrator's breathy whisper in your ear and her awful British accent only works for the bad guys and Ettie... But I guess it gets better and you eventually get used to it.
Furthermore, I knew who the killer was almost immediately, and there's so many ignorant assumptions made by the "detectives" that its very difficult to believe... Additionally, it's very hard to believe that the scene medical examiner could 1) down right without any hint of doubt claim the manner of death without first performing an autopsy ((i.e. Stan) it's one thing to make an educated guess and say that you think that is the manner of death, but will need to confirm, and another to look at a body for 0.1 milli seconds and know...), and 2) not see that the DNA from the scene samples were obviously from a male, not from the female detective...
Also, I hate that the author brings in the blatant stereotype of the"fiery red head"...
This story was too obvious with no mystery for my liking... maybe if I haven't read so many good books before it, it wouldn't be so bad...
Better luck next time I guess.