Listen free for 30 days

The Housemate

Length: 8 hrs and 20 mins
4 out of 5 stars (101 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The housemate. She's here to stay....

You've let a stranger into your home. You don't know her secrets. You don't know what she wants.

Megan and Chloe have found the perfect house. And when they meet Sammi, she seems like the perfect housemate to share it with. It could be the beginning of a brilliant friendship.  

But Megan isn't so sure about this new girl. She knows they need to be careful about whom they invite in. Because once she's in, she's here to stay....

A brilliant and gripping psychological thriller - perfect for fans of Louise Jensen, Jane Corry and Friend Request.

©2019 C. L. Pattison (P)2019 Headline Publishing Group Limited

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    49
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    56
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    48
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Nice

I really enjoyed this book because this genre is very popular at the moment sometimes they don’t seem to be that good but this one didn’t disappoint.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

What a brilliant story. Very well written and performed. Highly recommend. Cannot wait for more offerings by this author.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

enjoyable

different from the standard thrillers. left me thinking lots after. couldn't deal with performance at first but stuck with and glad I did

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Long explanation at the end REALLY annoyed me.

I don’t know about anyone else here but l cant stand books that go through a long winded explanation at the end to explain in detail how they 'did it' .....pure 'scooby doo' style.??
Example. '....And as for the murder with the candle in the library let me tell you how l did that.....well it wasnt a candle! I was clever and used a banana!!'
Oh stop! If you need to explain everything at the end then it only shows your plot was so badly executed.
''Could have gotton away with it too....if it weren’t for those'''.....OH SHUT UP!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Disappointing - hackneyed and irritating

I found this a tough listen from the beginning. I was irritated by the 'obviousness' of the descriptions and characterisations. I felt that the story held some promise at the start, but in fact was weak throughout. The supposed 'twist' was easily foreseeable, and I didnt need to have the protagonist 'explain' everything to me at the end.
I didn't believe that the characters would have behaved as they did, and that their back stories (event the more well developed) were flimsy.
As someone who has worked in mental health services, and had some mental health issues, I found the management of mental health insulting. It was the kind of characterisation Id expect from a tabloid newspaper, not an author who, I assume, did some research. The excessive focus on vulnerability and threat was lazy, and the discussions surrounding more serious diagnoses were, frankly, unacceptable for a modern author.
Such as shame, more critical handling of the storyline could have made it something worth listening to.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

great listen and the soothing voice was nice

good book, enjoyed it even though the ending was a bit predictable I loved it all the same.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Dragged a little

This book had an unexpected ending but could have done so much more with the story. Worth a listen but nothing to rave about if I’m being honest. It seemed to really drag after a while as well.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Quite good, but I guessed the twist

I enjoyed this but I guessed the twist well before the end. I still recommend this book though, it was enjoyable.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lisa
  • lisa
  • 04-04-19

GReat easy story!

This was an easy to listen to book without a ton of characters to keep up or unnecessary drama. Kept me interested all the way through. I do have a hard time with some British narrators but not this one!

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christalpistol
  • Christalpistol
  • 19-04-19

Just ok

This book was only ok. I listened to it relatively quickly because it wasn’t very long really. The child narration was grating and distracting. I doubt the author is going to surprise many readers with this book. Also I know most people are highly offended by animal maltreatment even in fiction so I need to warn that there is an incident in the book that gave me pause. Really can’t recommend this one might be worth the sale price I guess. But yeah the narration was ughhhhh nails+chalkboard=one irritated mama!!!!

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mystical Lady
  • Mystical Lady
  • 12-04-19

Excellent Story

This was one of the best books I've listened to in a while. Gripping my attention from the very beginning. Don't hesitate to buy this one. The ending was awesome. 😀😀😀😀

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for darlynmarcia
  • darlynmarcia
  • 17-05-19

sometimes suspect of reviews I read.BELIEVE THEM!

This book was EVERYTHING the reviews said...The BEST book I've heard in a while!!! EXCITING!!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Renee Wilson
  • Renee Wilson
  • 19-11-19

Jumpy at first

It jumped around for a bit and I had a hard time keeping up with the characters. Later, it wasn't that hard to figure out, because you know it's never the one you are lead to believe it should be. However, for me it was a fun listen, nothing brilliant. I might try another from this author.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J.
  • J.
  • 26-04-19

The Type of Story I've Been Looking For

Original, Kept Me Guessing Until The End!! Superb, Great Narration, You Definitely Won't Be Disappointed

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Wendi
  • Wendi
  • 18-04-19

Just 'Meh'- Easy Read, sort of Boring

The Housemate was a very quick listen for me. I figured out the 'surprise ending' about half way through the book. It was a quick read, and I would recommend it as a beach read if anything.

Two roommates need a roommate to help pay their rent in a nice area of London. They take in Sammy, who seems great at first, but then turns sort of weird and creepy. What will the girls do to get her to leave? She has no intention of leaving, but she's no longer welcomed..

I would recommend this to anyone who wants to enjoy a fast, simple psychological thriller. Not great, not terrible.

-Wendi

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 06-10-19

Slow

The bang for the buck in this book is the last hour. I get it’s trying to tell a story and build things up but the plot was boring. The narrators kept it alive for me to finish.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ryan H.
  • Ryan H.
  • 06-08-19

rather predictable and elementary storytelling.

rather predictable and elementary storytelling. more suitable to young adult, rather than to adult readers.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 06-08-19

Ending

good read overall. Never saw that kind of ending coming. a twist to say the least.