Try an audiobook on us

The Housemate

Length: 8 hrs and 20 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (46 ratings)
Regular price: £19.99
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The housemate. She's here to stay....

You've let a stranger into your home. You don't know her secrets. You don't know what she wants.

Megan and Chloe have found the perfect house. And when they meet Sammi, she seems like the perfect housemate to share it with. It could be the beginning of a brilliant friendship.  

But Megan isn't so sure about this new girl. She knows they need to be careful about whom they invite in. Because once she's in, she's here to stay....

A brilliant and gripping psychological thriller - perfect for fans of Louise Jensen, Jane Corry and Friend Request.

©2019 C. L. Pattison (P)2019 Headline Publishing Group Limited

More from the same

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Nice

I really enjoyed this book because this genre is very popular at the moment sometimes they don’t seem to be that good but this one didn’t disappoint.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Long explanation at the end REALLY annoyed me.

I don’t know about anyone else here but l cant stand books that go through a long winded explanation at the end to explain in detail how they 'did it' .....pure 'scooby doo' style.??
Example. '....And as for the murder with the candle in the library let me tell you how l did that.....well it wasnt a candle! I was clever and used a banana!!'
Oh stop! If you need to explain everything at the end then it only shows your plot was so badly executed.
''Could have gotton away with it too....if it weren’t for those'''.....OH SHUT UP!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Dragged a little

This book had an unexpected ending but could have done so much more with the story. Worth a listen but nothing to rave about if I’m being honest. It seemed to really drag after a while as well.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Quite good, but I guessed the twist

I enjoyed this but I guessed the twist well before the end. I still recommend this book though, it was enjoyable.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • lisa
  • 04-04-19

GReat easy story!

This was an easy to listen to book without a ton of characters to keep up or unnecessary drama. Kept me interested all the way through. I do have a hard time with some British narrators but not this one!

13 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mystical Lady
  • 12-04-19

Excellent Story

This was one of the best books I've listened to in a while. Gripping my attention from the very beginning. Don't hesitate to buy this one. The ending was awesome. 😀😀😀😀

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Christalpistol
  • 19-04-19

Just ok

This book was only ok. I listened to it relatively quickly because it wasn’t very long really. The child narration was grating and distracting. I doubt the author is going to surprise many readers with this book. Also I know most people are highly offended by animal maltreatment even in fiction so I need to warn that there is an incident in the book that gave me pause. Really can’t recommend this one might be worth the sale price I guess. But yeah the narration was ughhhhh nails+chalkboard=one irritated mama!!!!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Wendi
  • 18-04-19

Just 'Meh'- Easy Read, sort of Boring

The Housemate was a very quick listen for me. I figured out the 'surprise ending' about half way through the book. It was a quick read, and I would recommend it as a beach read if anything.

Two roommates need a roommate to help pay their rent in a nice area of London. They take in Sammy, who seems great at first, but then turns sort of weird and creepy. What will the girls do to get her to leave? She has no intention of leaving, but she's no longer welcomed..

I would recommend this to anyone who wants to enjoy a fast, simple psychological thriller. Not great, not terrible.

-Wendi

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Debra
  • 18-05-19

The Housemate

Although this was easily figured out, I still enjoyed it. The narration was excellent. There are several places where there was a bit too much unnecessary talk and detail about a particular something or other a character may have been doing one afternoon at work or the like. The excellent narration helped make those times slip by without making me want to keep the audiobook playing while leaving the room. An interesting story, good writing and excellent narration. Definitely worth a credit.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • darlynmarcia
  • 17-05-19

sometimes suspect of reviews I read.BELIEVE THEM!

This book was EVERYTHING the reviews said...The BEST book I've heard in a while!!! EXCITING!!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Kas
  • 10-05-19

Good book - disgusting portrayal of mental illness

I’m still listening to this book and it’s overall a good book but the portrayal of mental illness is disgusting and as if it’s written by an immature teenager with a mediocre understanding of mental illness. I’m all for suspense and horror but the characters handing or learning of another character’s attempted suicide and assuming it means she’s dangerous and “crazy” is gross. I understand the character is supposed to be disturbed but it’s handled in such a way that adds to the negative stigma that’s attached to mental illness rather than just being a good story. Finding that a main character takes medicine for a mental illness makes the other characters act like school girls seeing a snake. There are plenty of books that write suspense/horror and incorporate mental illnesses without giving into disgusting stereotypes. Do better.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Kristin Henry
  • 03-05-19

Predictable

To me, the twist at the end was very predictable. I called it early on.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03-05-19

Pedestrian

Not at all surprising and resembles the writing of a 16 year old. How do these people get published?

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Marcie A. Brink-chaney
  • 03-05-19

Not What It Seems

I liked this book because the author kept me guessing to the end. Who was that little girl? The book was worth reading. Unfortunately, the “good guy/girl) doesn’t always win.