Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The perfect family. The perfect chance. The perfect lie.  

A stunning novel about motherhood and betrayal, for listeners who love Sarah Vaughan and Louise Candlish. 

Kate trusts Della, and Della trusts Kate. Their downfall is each other. 

When Kate moves to London after the disappearance of her sister, she’s in need of a friend. A chance meeting leads Kate to Della, a life coach who runs support groups for young women, dubbed by Kate as ‘the Janes’.

Della takes a special interest in Kate, and Kate soon finds herself entangled in Della’s life - her house, her family and her husband. It’s only when she realises that she’s in too deep that Della’s veneer begins to crumble and the warnings from ‘the Janes’ begin to come true.

Why is Della so keen to keep Kate by her side? What does Kate have that Della might want? And what really lies beneath the surface of their friendship?

A twisty psychological thriller for fans of Louise Candlish and Harriet Tyce.

©2021 Charlotte Northedge (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"This is ace. Very, very acute on class, aspiration, women and status and all those agonising negotiations and anxieties." (Sarah Perry, author of The Essex Serpent)

"Delicious, compelling, a debut to watch!" (Fiona Cummins)

"A deliciously dark debut which had me reading into the early hours." (Victoria Selman)

"This twisty thriller is jam-packed with tense moments and a growing sense of unease." (Good Housekeeping)

"Dark, smart and classy." (Gillian McAllister) 

"Northedge is good at portraying the distinction between the real insecurities of some young women and the minor problems of the privileged type." (Daily Mail

"Charlotte Northedge turns the psychological thumbscrews with relish." (The Times)

"Full of twists, The House Guest spirals towards its dark conclusion, wrong footing the increasingly uneasy reader at every turn." (The Observer

What listeners say about The House Guest

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

WOWWW😱👏🏽 what an AMAZING narrator and loved this book!👏🏽

This narrator was absolutely AMAZING! WOW WOW WOW! She was OUTSTANDING!!!😱👏🏽💯💯she has an amazing talent! I will be getting more books read by her for SURE! She actually made me feel EVERYTHING, i was transported right into this story thanks to kristin😁👏🏽 I Loved this book and im devastated its finished now! I haven’t been able to get into a story for so long now but I LOVED this! So a huge well done to Charlotte too!! Brilliant brilliant brilliant!!!💯💯💯👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽 thank you audible for another FABULOUS book!👏🏽👏🏽

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not great

Didn’t like the narration. Could do decent different voices, but so over dramatic! One character who is meant to be a hippyish laid back nomad type sounded like a girl guide leader or public school head girl - just cringy. One of those I had to keep winding back because of major zone-out.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Tedious

This starts well.
It then becomes unbelievable and is about 3 hrs too long.
Could have been good had it been differently executed.
Narration was less than average.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Narration at its best!

Kristen Atherton is superb as narrator of this story. She keeps you wanting to listen further even though there may be a few parts that are a bit unrealistic and ridiculous, ie the stupidity of the main character! But persevere, as the book in its entirety is definitely worth it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • G
  • 31-05-21

Gripping right to the end

I usually listen to non fiction books. The House Guest is my first audible fiction listen that I found captivating from the outset. The plot leaves the listener wandering right up the end. The change of voices for each character gives depth and context. I will be on the lookout for other titles by the author.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Frustrating

Annoyingly compliant main character!
Such a potentially good ending possible, frustrating not to get there.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyed the book up until the end.

I really enjoyed this book. Lots of intricate details. I had an idea leading up to the conclusion on the final link but still enjoyed up until the last sentence. Audio good, only problem is the children's voices... v v high pitched! I guess difficult to do v young voices. I would recommend.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

really bsd

Just really bad, terrible writing, overblown narrative. I don't think any of the characters were sympathetic, just don't believe anyone would believe in any of them