Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.49

Buy Now for £14.49

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The perfect family. The perfect chance. The perfect lie.  

A stunning novel about motherhood and betrayal, for listeners who love Sarah Vaughan and Louise Candlish. 

Kate trusts Della, and Della trusts Kate. Their downfall is each other. 

When Kate moves to London after the disappearance of her sister, she’s in need of a friend. A chance meeting leads Kate to Della, a life coach who runs support groups for young women, dubbed by Kate as ‘the Janes’.

Della takes a special interest in Kate, and Kate soon finds herself entangled in Della’s life - her house, her family and her husband. It’s only when she realises that she’s in too deep that Della’s veneer begins to crumble and the warnings from ‘the Janes’ begin to come true.

Why is Della so keen to keep Kate by her side? What does Kate have that Della might want? And what really lies beneath the surface of their friendship?

A twisty psychological thriller for fans of Louise Candlish and Harriet Tyce.

©2021 Charlotte Northedge (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"This is ace. Very, very acute on class, aspiration, women and status and all those agonising negotiations and anxieties." (Sarah Perry, author of The Essex Serpent)

"Delicious, compelling, a debut to watch!" (Fiona Cummins)

More from the same

What listeners say about The House Guest

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    32
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    30
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

WOWWW😱👏🏽 what an AMAZING narrator and loved this book!👏🏽

This narrator was absolutely AMAZING! WOW WOW WOW! She was OUTSTANDING!!!😱👏🏽💯💯she has an amazing talent! I will be getting more books read by her for SURE! She actually made me feel EVERYTHING, i was transported right into this story thanks to kristin😁👏🏽 I Loved this book and im devastated its finished now! I haven’t been able to get into a story for so long now but I LOVED this! So a huge well done to Charlotte too!! Brilliant brilliant brilliant!!!💯💯💯👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽 thank you audible for another FABULOUS book!👏🏽👏🏽

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good read

This book took me by surprise. The characters story were easy to follow. A good beach reach, well read by narrator

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Dull and annoying

This novel started off promising but by the end I felt the main character deserved everything she got! It felt as thought the author did not really know how it was going to end so kept writing without direction.

Annoying characters made even more annoying by narrators terrible accents, I wonder if she went to the same ‘narration’ school as Imogen Church! Why they feel they have to speak in this really deep, weird voice to convey a male character is beyond me and a little bit patronising.

Didn’t get to the end.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Poor

Really slow and didn't go anywhere. very disappointing. Would have given up if I was reading this.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

don't bother bi line.makesnit sound good it's not

awful book who is that stupid who knows what going on but still goes along with it. so disappointing. the narrator was good the story awful bad ending I skipped through the last 13 chapters all that describing her feelings all the time all that we will talk about that later deal with that later say that later except Kate never did EVER. RUBBISH DONT BOTHER. AS FOR THE STARS I WOULD ONLY GIVE THE STORY 1 STAR BUT IT PUT 2 AND U CANNOT UNDO THAT , IN FACT NO STARS FOR THE STORY WAS A COMPLETE WASTE OF TIME. now its put 3 stars don't be fooled. now 5 please can some.one.fix it so u can remove the stars if it puts more that u don't agree with.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Starts really well but becomes tedious

Typical of its type, but I really enjoyed the first part of this book, then I started to get an inkling of what the twist might be. Annoyingly I was right, and it becomes quite tedious. Mostly enjoyed the narration apart from the narrator's voice for Mark which made me cringe.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved it

Really good listen, fantastic story and the narration was excellent. Enjoyed this story from beginning to end

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Compelling from the first paragraph

My only complaint is I didn't get a lot done apart from dog walking and ironing as I kept finding excuses to listen to this novel. It was gripping from the start and at every turn wasn't what I was expecting. A really compelling story from beginning to end. Absolutely loved it and can't wait for Charlotte Northedge's next novel.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not great

Didn’t like the narration. Could do decent different voices, but so over dramatic! One character who is meant to be a hippyish laid back nomad type sounded like a girl guide leader or public school head girl - just cringy. One of those I had to keep winding back because of major zone-out.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Tedious

This starts well.
It then becomes unbelievable and is about 3 hrs too long.
Could have been good had it been differently executed.
Narration was less than average.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JJ
  • JJ
  • 20-07-21

Dreary

This was a hard book to get through and a lot of suspended disbelief was required to do so. The chief protagonist’s actions were largely implausible and it was difficult to sympathise with her since she whined almost constantly without making any effort to change her circumstances. Stuck in France for several months with only a non English speaking person visiting, does she decide to learn French? No! She just complains that she is unable to speak to anyone. The narrator spoke exceptionally slowly and made a few errors, calling people by the wrong name etc, but really that was the least of this books problems.

I increased the playback speed just to get through it.