Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The Half Sister is the compelling, twisty novel from Sandie Jones, the author of The Other Woman, perfect for fans of Sally Hepworth’s The Mother-in-Law and Michelle Frances’ The Daughter.

Her arrival will ruin everything.

Kate and Lauren. Sisters who are always there for each other. But as they gather for their weekly Sunday lunch, a knock on the door changes everything.

The new arrival, Jess, claims to be their half-sister, but that would mean the unthinkable. That she’s the secret daughter of their beloved, recently deceased father, Harry. Their mother, Rose, is devastated, and Kate and Lauren refuse to believe Jess’ lies. 

But as the fall-out starts, it’s clear that each is hiding secrets and that perhaps this family isn’t as perfect as they appear.

Where there was truth, now there are lies, and only one thing is certain, their half-sister’s arrival has ruined everything.

©2020 Sandie Jones (P)2020 Macmillan Publishers International Ltd 2020

What listeners say about The Half Sister

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    41
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    30
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Not just about 'Half Sister' ...multiple layers

Two sisters, Kate (34) and Lauren (38) are having Sunday lunch with their mother when Jess (22) turns up unexpectedly claiming to be an illegitimate daughter of their now deceased Father. The family is divided on whether to believe her. Much digging follows, causing other long-hidden family secrets to be exposed.

Both the author and the narrator do a great job of generating reader excitement out of what seems a fairly ordinary premise. This could have been 5 stars, but for me, a few discrepancies in the writing of the story-line rather broke the spell.

This isn't simply about the stranger claiming to be a half-sister, there turn out to be 2-3 layers to the plot. Mainly this story (as you might expect) is about relationships, who has been faithful and who hasn't. A crime is involved, but we don't hear about it until nearly the end of the book. Throughout, the author gives generous clues about what is coming next - even I could see them, and I'm pretty slow normally

Mostly the book held my interest all the way through. There was perhaps a slightly slow bit 2-3 hours in. I confess I dozed off, but I don't think I missed much. Good ending.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Overly complicated plot

It was pretty obvious who dun it so why the author had to make it quite as complicated I don't know.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Disappointing!

I enjoyed the early chapters, but gradually lost interest. I could not give it a two star review as it’s not a bad story. I just found Lauren rather wet, Kate, not interesting and Rose rather one dimensional. The narrator has a good voice, but delivered this story in an unnecessary ‘shouty’ way. Some shouting was appropriate, but sometimes a gruff tone could have replaced that.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So much more than the summary!

Ignore the summary, this is a 5***** mystery that just keeps unraveling all the way to the end. Just when you think you know 'whodunnit'... something else comes up. Cant believe the rights have not been sold for a film production!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

twisty turny

the story was narrated well. Good plot and sub plots. a compelling read. Good twists.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

Loved this book. Good plot with plenty of twists and turns. Relatable characters. Much better than I expected. Highly recommend.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great listen!

I really enjoyed this book. The ending was left a bit up in the air about what really happened but apart from that, fab story which had me gripped right from the beginning. Highly recommended.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

a bit drawn out and boring

but well read! seemed like this was making an attempt at a mountain out of a molehill but ended up kind of dull and predicted the "twist"

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Story ok, bit predictable towards the end

The story was good, I enjoyed the beginning but towards the end I found it could have been cut shorter as it did drag on a little bit. The narrator was great at all the different accents but I did find her very dramatic at times when it wasn't needed.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best book I’ve read in a long while

A page turner, the story had so many twists and turns. The characters were believable and likeable. I never guessed the resolution for the story. From the start I didn’t want to put it down.