Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Can she break free from her destiny to follow her heart?

Ellen is growing up in the Oxfordshire countryside. The granddaughter of a Methodist Preacher and intending to marry Charlie, a boy from the local village, Ellen's life is mapped out for her. 

When Charlie is killed on the battlefields of the First World War, Ellen is left heartbroken and lost. But then she meets Sam Loveridge. Mysterious and unruly, Sam, is from a local Gypsy community and unlike anyone Ellen has ever met. Before she knows what's hit her, Ellen is swept off her feet and shown a world of passion, excitement and love. 

But the conservative world that Ellen is from can't possibly understand or approve of their relationship, and Ellen and Sam are torn apart. Is their love strong enough to overcome their cultural distances, or will the hostility and prejudice of those around them destroy their future happiness?

A moving, and at times tragic, cross-cultural love story for fans of Dilly Court and Katie Flynn. 

©2020 Katie Hutton (P)2020 Bonnier Books UK

What listeners say about The Gypsy Bride

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 0 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 0 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.