Regular price: £19.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

Wife. Mistress. Murderer.

If you were being framed for murder, how far would you go to clear your name?

The debut psychological thriller for fans of Apple Tree Yard, Behind Closed Doors and Double Jeopardy.

I'm not guilty of murder.

Bethany Reston is happily married. But she's also having an affair with a famous client. And no one can ever know.

But that doesn't make me innocent.

When Bethany's lover is brutally murdered, she has to hide her grief from everyone. But someone knows her secret. And then one day the threats begin. With an ever-growing pile of evidence pointing to her as the murderer, the only way she can protect her secrets is to prove her innocence. And that means tracking down a killer.

An incredibly taut, tense game of cat and mouse - with a twist you'll never see coming.

©2017 Elle Croft (P)2017 Orion Publishing Group Limited

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    76
  • 4 Stars
    40
  • 3 Stars
    36
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    10

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    78
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    7

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    69
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    11
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved it

took me 3 days! I just wanted to find out more! full of twists to keep you listening!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A Sparkling Little Jewel of a Thriller

The Guilty Wife is a short but very well-formed psychological thriller that crackles along at a quite electric space. An illicit affair turns into a nightmare scenario for a young professional photographer and her situation unravels at a bewildering pace. It’s full of twists and turns without ever really getting too complicated. It never worries too much about detail or any great levels of character development. It’s a book that I wanted to keep reading and enjoyed very much with a very good narrator to boot.

It’s just about perfect if you want a quick-fire piece of escapism and are happy to overlook a few plot holes that do appear, especially in the last part of the book. Possibly not so good if you’re looking for something a little more deeper and well-developed. Just have fun with it.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Hooked I couldnt put this book down

wow what a surprise I didn't expect that ending, the suspense of finding out who the murderer was, I couldnt put this down, finished this in less than 4 days!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great

it was an amazing book it Drew me in every chapter and near the end I was very surprised of the outcome.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Very obvious.

The beginning of this book was quite good however it quickly became mediocre and the ending was pretty clear half way through. The characters are irritating and make the stupidest decisions. Such a good idea very poorly executed. Also, as an aside the American words and phrases used throughout the book i.e. Cops, garbage etc was very jarring and not in keeping with the very English narration.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved It!

Perfectly narrated.
Gripping from start to finish, finished listening in one sitting. Slightly predictable ending but took nothing away from the story. Only negative was that it had to end.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

I really enjoyed this book. Was easy to listen to and kept you guessing till the end. I had it on in the gym, my car and even at work when I was on my own

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

Brilliant book, was enthralled from the beginning.
Definitely recommend it. Sad I finished reading it.



  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

didn't like the ending

the story was predictable but entertaining, I didn't like the ending, the story felt unfinished

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Unlikely story

Sadly the plot wasn’t believable and I couldn’t understand decisions made by the main characters which made this book difficult to enjoy.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 28-05-18

Great Listen!

finished this in 2 days. was hooked from start to finish. the narrator reads a little too quickly but i got used to it after about an hour in. i enjoyed the plot and didn’t expect the ending whatsoever!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • karen carmichael
  • 24-12-17

Great suspense, hooked from the start

Loved the plot and the characters. Narrator was a little fast for my liking but I got used to it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Feviegirl
  • 17-08-18

The Guilty Wife

Finally gave up about a third of the way through. It appears that the writer had a thesaurus handy and decided to make the sentences as long and flowery as possible. I could have choked on the stupid metaphors. However, there is no substance. I didn't like the main character. Narrator was okay, but the words made me dislike her, too.