Listen free for 30 days

The Grifter's Club

Trump, Mar-a-Lago, and the Selling of the Presidency
Narrated by: P.J Ochlan
Length: 7 hrs and 32 mins
4 out of 5 stars (3 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

'Many of the world's great leaders request to come to Mar-a-Lago in Palm Beach. They like it. I like it. We're comfortable.' - Donald Trump

A bit too comfortable, perhaps.

Donald Trump's opulent Palm Beach club Mar-a-Lago has thrummed with scandal since the earliest days of his presidency. Long known for its famous and wealthy clientele, the resort's guest list soon started filling with political operatives and power-seekers. Meanwhile, as Trump re-branded Mar-a-Lago 'the Winter White House' and began spending weekends there, state business spilled out into full view of the club's members and vast sums of taxpayer money and political donations began flowing into its coffers and into the pockets of the president.

The Grifter's Club is a breakthrough account of the corruption, intrigue and absurdity that has been on display in the place where the president is at his most relaxed. In this audiobook, a team of prizewinning Miami Herald journalists reveal the activities and motivations of the strange array of charlatans and tycoons who populate its halls. Some peddle influence, some look to steal government secrets and some just want to soak up the feeling of unfettered access to the world's most powerful leaders.

With the drama of an exposé and the edgy humor of a Carl Hiaasen novel, The Grifter's Club takes you behind the velvet ropes of this exclusive club and into its bizarre world of extravagance and scandal.

This ground-breaking and shocking audiobook shocks like a thriller. Perfect for fans of Fire and Fury, Team of Vipers and Fear.

©2020 Sarah Blaskey, Nicholas Nehamas, Caitlin Ostroff and Jay Weaver (P)2020 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

What listeners say about The Grifter's Club

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.