Regular price: £19.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

Bring on the orcs....

Jackal is proud to be a Grey Bastard, member of a sworn brotherhood of half-orcs. Unloved and unwanted in civilized society, the Bastards eke out a hard life in the desolate no-man's-land called the Lots, protecting frail and noble human civilisation from invading bands of vicious full-blooded orcs.

But as Jackal is soon to learn, his pride may be misplaced. Because a dark secret lies at the heart of the Bastards' existence - one that reveals a horrifying truth behind humanity's tenuous peace with the orcs, and exposes a grave danger on the horizon. 

On the heels of the ultimate betrayal, Jackal must scramble to stop a devastating invasion - even as he wonders where his true loyalties lie.

A standout adventure fantasy debut that's down, dirty and damn good fun - perfect for fans of Joe Abercombie, Mark Lawrence, Markus Heitz's Dwarves series and Stan Nicholl's Orcs series.

©2018 Jonathan French (P)2018 Hachette Audio UK

Critic reviews

"Filthy, charismatic, and frankly excellent." (Mark Lawrence)

"A bloody tale of battle, betrayal and war pigs." (Brian McClellan)

"Jonathan French has to be lauded for his plot ingenuity, bawdry charm and vicious characters. The Grey Bastards has instantaneously catapulted him into my must-read list." (Fantasy Book Critic)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    80
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    76
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    73
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Hells Angels on Pigs - With Added Style!

This is quite a book, it's full of big brawling characters! These half orcs are like a gang of Hells Angels but they sit astride huge hogs rather than Harleys! As you'd expect with half orcs they are coarse, vicious in battle and not exactly the kind of person you would want your son or daughter bringing home to meet! The early part of the book majors on that but they are half human too and French gives them some of humanity's nobler traits as well in a very compelling mix. Of course being out in what is effectively a Wild West they have their own harsh culture too and the "Hoof" Jackal and his fellow warriors ride in have real purpose and strong traditions.

The early part of the book felt to me like it was going to be a good, solid read, amusing in parts with its crudeness and entertaining with its action. But around halfway it really takes off and develops layers and complexity. It becomes clear that French has planted plot points and the seeds for later twists throughout. Characters that might have appeared to be mere bit parts come back to play fuller roles, little is quite as it seems and the lead protagonist Jackal repeatedly has his eyes opened to new possibilities and realities. It really is an interesting ride with lots of clever twists and turns.

The book's own story is an interesting one, originally self-published it won awards from bloggers and plaudits from readers. So much so that it was p-p-picked up by a Penguin and as a result is here for us to enjoy. It's somehow apt that the author's persistence and belief in himself is mirrored in some of his characters.

The narration by Will Damron gave me a similar experience. It felt solid to start with but I couldn't help but think maybe a more demonstrative reader could have put more life into these raucous half-orcs. However, as the characters gathered depth and developed from caricature to more complex individuals I realised he had struck pretty much the perfect tone.

In many ways this is a gloriously foul riot of a book but the story is that good as it develops through the second half that it would be foolish to write it off as just being about crudity and swearing. There is plenty of that and if you don't like swearing and vulgarity you should probably avoid this one. However, there is also great depth, imagination and subtlety to both the plot and the characters making it a hugely satisfying listen.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

good fun, but predictable outcomes

this is funny throughout. The only letdown is that it's easy to guess what will happen.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Taken from start to finish.

Okay, it’s quite expressive but thoroughly engrossing and even funny. Enjoyed it immensely from the very first sentence to the last. Really looking forward to the next one.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

listened on audible, fantastic narration.

Great plot and execution. first ever orc based story I've read. Very well paced book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

At last a breath of half orc air!!

When I was younger I devoured fantasy novels. Though over time I became bored and jaded with the genre plus my obsession with WW1 and 2 took over my reading habits.

So what a lovely refreshing surprise I've had after taking a chance on Audible The Grey Bastards. One reason I chanced it was I like the narrator next how could I ignore the title!

Anyway I can't recommend this enough and fully agree with the Hell s Angels on giant hogs!!

Get it!

Can't wait for next in series!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story, great characters!

really interesting and fun read with great narration. hopefully these is a second and third book out there.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A fantastic read/listen

I absolutely loved this book and if anyone is a fan of Joe Abercrombie then I highly recommend checking out this new author's first ever title. I can't wait to read more of the Lot Lands series. I think book two is already out or coming soon.
Kudos must also go out to the narrator whom I've never listened to before but he was fantastic with a broad range of voices for the large cast list that this book has. I'm always hesitant listening to a narrator for the first time but I'll not hesitate in future.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

meh

not terrible. It was ok but it didn't hook me. Maybe could have added more backstory on the world it's set in.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

3 X 5 Star rating from me guess it has something!

Not much to say on this one, but it's frickin awesome. Don't swither don't ponder,don't dilly and dally, just download and enjoy.
Looking forward to visiting ~The Lot Lands again.

"Live in saddle Die on the hog!"

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

outcasts with attitudes

I loved this book.
Great plot that you think is taking you from a to b only to discover the actual journey was y to z.
social pariahs who embrace what they are and act in the furtherance of there own good.
really believable characters voiced very well. go for it, immerse yourself and enjoy the story.